We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay for sailing charters”
Review of Hummingbird House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Road Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hummingbird House
Ranked #1 of 3 Road Town B&B and Inns
Monrovia, California
1 review
“Must stay for sailing charters”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Yvonne the owner and hostess was most gracious and accommodating from start to finish. We only needed one nights stay and this was the perfect experience. Very casual and relaxing. An easy walk to the harbor, restauranta, store...

Thank you, Yvonne!!! We will be back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Hummingbird Bed & Breakfast in January 2013 before taking a bare boat sailboat round the BVI. Yvonne the owner, was delightful and helpful and cooked a great breakfast. We were arriving later on in the day and Yvonne arranged for a cab to pick us up from the airport at a very reasonable cost. She also recommended a local deli that we could order food from and, because we were arriving late, she picked it up for us so we could relax and eat with a bottle of wine in her very pretty and cozy courtyard. The bedrooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable. I honestly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else as this was perfection for us. Thank you Yvonne for sharing your beautiful place and wonderful hospitality with us.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleUK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Yvonne, the owner and hostess, was most accommodating. The room accommodations suited us fine for our one week holiday stay. You are even able to play with her cats and dogs. Poppy and Jack meet you everyday the cats say hi in their own way. The animals made our stay more enjoyable at the house.

After a full breakfast in the morning, our day trips consisted of walking around Tortola and taking ferry rides to Virgin Gorda and Peter Island. Both islands has breathtaking views. Our trip was made enjoyable by Mr. Lonely, our taxi driver and Lilli, our new friend on Virgin Gorda, who sells souveniers he makes himself.

A return trip to the island in the future and we would definitedly stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room # 1 which faced East. Wonderful view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Yvonne couldn't have been more hospitable. Arranging food from the excellent deli in our room fridge for our late arrival. Looking after our luggage while we went sailing for a week and letting us relax and use all her facilities (pool, shower room, honesty bar etc.) when we arrived back at 9am. Even had our room ready by 11am. Breakfast was excellent. Location very convenient. The view was lovely and the wild life (cats, dogs, humming birds and other types of small birds, lizards, even a tiny snake) kept us amused for hours. (The snake was a rare visitor and probably brought in by one of the cats so do not be put off by this!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Another success thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers.

Everything as shown on their web site - the rooms a bit "fussier" & " frilly" than I expected - think " doilies " but very spacious, very clean & secure.

Can see why it reviews so well although it's not really my sort of place - too many cats & ornaments. But, but really pleased we stayed . Only has 4 guest rooms but plenty of space around the pool & honesty bar. Great views from the terrace, lots of hummingbirds and a great breakfast.

Walking distance of the Sunsail base if yr luggage has wheels. Great sports club opposite offering good food, low prices & great service. Yvonne happy to store your luggage if not able to pick yr boat up until 6pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Over the holidays we visited the BVI primarily to spend some time on beautiful Anegada. While in transfer we stayed on Tortola and decided for the 1st time to stay at Hummingbird. The location is excellent if you want to be based in Road Town as a lot of the area's attractions are within walking distance. The accommodations were very good and Yvonne was very hospitable and her breakfast was outstanding. There is a little restaurant right down the street that has excellent service and food and the pricing is very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marksmithTortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We’ve stayed in Road Town many times in 20 years, and this was the best. The Hummingbird is wonderfully located about 7 stories up a hill, yet only a half-mile (an easy walk without luggage) from Moorings/Sunsail/Footloose. There are only 4 rooms, and ours (5 nights) was clean and comfortable. The pool and patio were also clean, and surrounded by beautiful flowering trees and many birds, and good Wifi. The honor bar was well stocked, and the warm breakfast was very good. Because of the hill and the breeze, we never even considered the A/C. Yvonne, the owner/hostess, treated us very nicely.

Previous notes described problems we found unimportant. There are several cats and a few dogs there, and they sleep all the time, only in the public areas, and really ignore the guests. Unless you are severely allergic or really HATE animals, this isn’t an issue. The notes about how to flush the toilets is important . . . they function differently in the Caribbean than in the states.

Having lived on a sailboat throughout the Caribbean for six years makes us more objective. Staying at the Hummingbird is like staying with an aunt or a sister at her upper middle-class home in the Caribbean, and you are treated exactly like that. The five well-deserved circles on TripAdvisor are not the same as “5 stars”. And we’ll go back to Yvonne’s anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Road Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Village Cay BVI Hotel
#11 of 13 in Road Town
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird House

Property: Hummingbird House
Address: Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Road Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hummingbird House Hotel Road Town
Hummingbird House Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing