We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming spot in the BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“charming spot in the BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

great service, excellent location, best restaurant in the insland and very private.
a true Gem in the carabeans.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    35
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
229
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Frenchman's was the perfect place to unplug and unwind. The cottages were well thought out and comfortable. It was nice to have a kitchen. The balcony had a wonderful view and the cocoon chairs were the best spot for reading. The restaurant/bar had a wonderful happy hour, delicious breakfasts (included) and a wonderful conch pasta (and other things) at dinner. It was a short walk to Soper's Hole Marina where there were several stores and restaurants. The hotel also rented a car for us as well as arranged for a wonderful day sail/snorkel trip with Aristocat Charters, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itajjkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Frenchmans was everything we could have hoped for in an intimate resort experience! We have travelled throughout the Caribbean, and enjoy staying in resorts that have high and unique standards for their guests, but are off the touristy path. Frenchmans did not disappoint! It's location on the quiet western side of Tortola was ideal, and added to the sense of being on our own private island. The conveniences at Soper's Hole are just a leisurely stroll down the road. The resort was just as it is pictured (although not as green and lush due to a recent drought) and the beauty of the ocean was the vista from every room of our cottage.The layout and decor of the cottages is well designed and open, yet the sleeping and bathroom areas remain private. Our children enjoyed having their own "suite" downstairs , and the well equipped kitchen (which we consider a must when traveling with children) met our needs. The resort never felt crowded, and would have the same allure for families as it would for couples seeking a romantic retreat. The beach and pool are small, but well maintained. (Take a 10 minute drive to Smuggler's Cove for an amazing day at the beach!).
What really sets this resort apart is the service. The restaurant and bar staff, and the cleaning staff were a pleasure to see each day, and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Michelle and Chris attended to every detail to ensure that we had a flawless stay. From arranging our car rental, to restaurant recommendations ( Palm's Delight is a must!), and making our son feel special on his birthday, they succeeded in ensuring that we will highly recommend Frenchmans to others, and that we will certainly return one day!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5willtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in Guava at Frenchmans, it was absolutely lovely, almost Devine. Before we arrived Chris and Michelle had assisted us in making car rental reservations, a must in Tortola, and dinner reservations for our first night on the island. When we drove up to the hotel, which is signposted by the logo only, keeping it's location semi-private, as if only for those 'in the know', Chris met us and showed us to our villa/cottage. I was breathtaken. Guava has two levels, upstairs was a charming bedroom with air conditioning and recently updated bathroom with stone tiles and all the accoutrements you would expect. The main level though was where we spent most of our time in Guava, it had a fully stocked kitchen, Chris and Michelle had even purchased some chocolates and wine for us, a little dining area, a living room with tv, radio and iPod docking station, and a wonderful large balcony. The balcony overlooked a bay and the ocean and was surrounded by vibrantly colored bougenvilla flowers. We spent our evenings watching the boats and the ocean from our balcony before going to dinner.

We really enjoyed our meal at Bananakeet cafe, the food was excellent and they had live music which was perfect. We didn't thnk much of the Botanical Gardens, save your money and just drive around looking at the lovely plants on the island.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

My fiancee and I stumbled across Frenchmans when we were looking for a last minute vacation in the Caribbean. We didn't want to stay one of those large, all-inclusive resorts (like Sandals) or spend up to $1000 night for a resort like Little Dix or Biras Creek.

Frenchmans turned out to be the perfect relaxing vacation! The resort is intimate and romantic. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean with wonderful balconies and views. I would describe them as "tasteful luxury."

As for the resort, it is really splendid in how quiet and peaceful it is. The breakfast (included) is intimate and there is a wonderful little beach and pool. Right past the beach is some wonderful snorkeling (some of the best we found on all of Tortola). My finance would often sun on the beach while I went snorkeling. It was also convenient that there was free wi-fi right on the beach and clubhouse, though it didn't work in our villa. In addition to the beach, the resort is also right near a beautiful piece of rock that juts into the water. This is truly one of the most beautiful places to sit and read I have ever seen.

Here are a few tips if you decide on Frenchmans:

1. Bring lots of sunscreen. You can't really find name-brand, reasonably priced sunscreen in the BVI.

2. Rent a car. Though the roads are a little scary, it opens up all of the things there are to do on the island. Fenchmans set this up for us and the car was waiting for us when we arrived.

3. With the car, you should go to Smuggler's Cove on Tortola. Also, take the ferry to White Bay on Jost Van Dyke. I think this is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen.

4. If you've never scuba'ed before, try a half-day resort course for beginners. I loved it!

5. Eat at Palm's Delight and order the baby back ribs. The hotel can give you directions.

That's it. I hope you check out this gem of a place!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StargazerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Doardo Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Beautiful, quiet, great views, lovely grounds, helpful but unobtrusive staff. My husband and I were there with two other couples, and we had a fun and relaxing time. Beautiful, thoughtful, modern/island decor everywhere. Plush towels, L'Occitane toiletries. The kitchen was not open when we were there, so we had most meals off-site, but we were within easy walking distance of some good places, and staff was helpful about taxis and reservations. Staff also provided a lovely continental breakfast with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, etc., each morning. We also had dinner there one night -- a special Mexican meal -- and it was great. No bartender for bar, but invited to mix own drinks and write down, which was fun and different. Lovely pool and great swimming area/beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicsgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our stay at Frenchman's couldn't have been better! We stayed there for our Honeymoon and Michelle and staff made it a fantastic experience. You really do feel like you are on your own private island. The location is perfect, close to the shops and grocery at the marina. The honeymoon package was packed full of extras that made it a fantastic value. We were there in the off season, but they were very accommodating with helping us find restaurants and activities that were still available.

This place is great if you want a hidden gem thats tucked away from the hustle and bustle of some of the bigger resorts. This is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway or those who can make their own fun easily. A short drive to excellent dining and great beaches on the north side of the island.

We definitely plan on coming back for anniversaries for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
10.0 mi away
Guana Island
Guana Island
#1 of 1 in Guana Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing