We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(Very overdue) props to Frenchmans”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“(Very overdue) props to Frenchmans”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have been needing to write this review since my honeymoon last October, because we chose Frenchmans based on the glowing Trip Advisor reviews! We loved our quiet and peaceful stay in Star Fruit.

THE VILLA: Our one bedroom villa was very well-appointed and comfy. We loved the porch and the wall of windows in the bedroom upstairs that gave us a panoramic view of the sunrise (at 6:00am - then back to sleep!). We didn't cook, but the kitchen was really nice, and having a full-size fridge was useful. We loved having a king bed. The decor was very pretty and "island-y." Star Fruit has an amazing view of the blue water, framed by pink bougainvillea blooms! It is still my phone wallpaper and probably will be for some time.

THE PROPERTY: Beautiful landscaping and flowers everywhere! Frenchmans certainly didn't scrimp on their making the property beautiful and useful, with lots of fairly private areas for relaxing. The website shows the cushioned loveseat up on the point, but there are also two lounge chairs out on a small dock on the far side of the property, multiple secluded pockets of the beach with lounge chairs, and more cushioned outdoor furniture on the far side of the pool. It might be different later in the season, but we always felt like we had the place to ourselves because each lounge area was tucked away by itself. The beach is small, but we didn't mind that (again, no crowds yet in late October). The pool is really pretty with a couple of small fountains/waterfalls flowing into it.

We meant to take the kayaks out into the water but never got around to it ... we had also considered playing tennis but didn't do that either. Great options, though!

We loved the daily breakfast at the Clubhouse restaurant. The breakfasts were hearty enough that we usually just snacked at lunch and were fine until dinner! (There might have been a few drinks thrown in in the afternoons, as well.) :) The French press coffee was so good. There was a special breakfast creation each day and then a standard option or two (I think quiche lorraine was available every day, and maybe granola too). I didn't think I liked mango, but Paul's mango pancakes were incredible! I also loved the guava pineapple juice.

SERVICE: From my first contact with Michele, everyone at Frenchmans was nothing but friendly and eager to help out. Chris was waiting for us when our ferry came in at West End and had us follow him to the hotel in our rental car. Lucilla took care of us at breakfast every day and was so sweet!

OVERALL: If you read the website and the reviews of Frenchmans, I think you get the idea that you are not getting a huge luxury resort but a secluded, beautiful place to relax. You could spend a whole week there and not leave the property, but you might get a little bored. We enjoyed a mix of staying on property and venturing out. Having Soper's Hole Marina right around the corner made that easier, since Frenchmans is at one end of Tortola and it's a little bit of a drive to other activities and restaurants. Pusser's Restaurant at the marina was fun, and the Harbor Market was very handy for stocking up on drinks and snacks. I don't think you could depend on cabs from Frenchmans, though - take your life in your hands and rent a car. :) Be very careful on Tortola's narrow, sometimes steep roads where you are always driving too slowly!

The only critiques I could offer are that the DVD library left something to be desired (what we thought was The Break-Up, as the case and DVD exterior indicated, was actually a copy of The Break-Up Artist) and the menu at the restaurant was somewhat limited (though generally very good). The living room furniture was also not the most comfortable for lounging.

Room Tip: I think all the villas have pretty comparable views. Star Fruit was in the middle of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcrossTheUniverse822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    37
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
241
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just got back from our honeymoon at Frenchmans and had a great stay-we loved our villa (Guava), and thought there was the perfect amount of things to do there, without overdoing it. It was also absolutely gorgeous- no cheesy decor in the villas, and the landscaping was beautiful. Definitely up our alley.

My husband and I booked the honeymoon package, and we were so glad we did- the included car rental was a lifesaver, and we were able to see more of the island than we would have without it. The package also included in-room massages, champagne, dinner at the Dove in Road Town, a Catamaran cruise, and a picnic lunch. We loved grabbing kayaks around the resort and exploring the area, relaxing on our porch and at the pool, and going to happy hour for great fish tacos and drinks. The breakfast they serve is unbelievable. The dinner at the clubhouse is also spectacular.

Smugglers Cove and Cane Garden Bay were our favorite beaches, and were a quick drive. Sopers hole is a very short drive, and also walkable, and has cute shops and places to eat. The Catamaran cruise we went on also left from there. We didn't spend much time in Road Town- driving there is SCARY and there was too much going on for our taste- we just wanted to be on the water and be beach bums for the week! We will definitely be back- hoping the word doesn't get out too much about this place- we selfishly don't want droves of people going there- but definitely wanted to write something positive about our great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I spent last Christmas there for a week and the resort was gorgeous. Colorful, clean and modern villas that had an amazing ocean view. The beach area was quiet. Some days we were the only ones there! Good snorkeling and the lagoon was nice to swim in. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My family of four spent our spring break at Frenchmens and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel sits on a beautiful location with great views of the surrounding islands. The staff at the hotel were always cheerful and helped us with planning each of our days. We booked the adventure package and our daughters (age 5 & 8) both had tons of fun on the Aristocrat and the ATV tour. Our villa was the perfect size and the kids loved having their own beds and porch. We spent a lot of time swimming in the pool and at the beach, which were perfectly sized for the number of guests at the hotel. We look forward to returning to this great hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went to Tortola on our honeymoon and chose the seemingly fit honeymoon package. We had an excellent stay at Frenchmans. From the start, Chris picked us up from the ferry so we didn't even have to get a cab. We stayed in the Guava villa, which was so cute. We had amazing views and loved hanging out on the porch which overlooked a cliff right in to the water. We had a kitchen, which we honestly didn't use much, but you really could cook a lot if you wanted to. We frequented happy hour nightly. We had a great time getting to know Karen, the bartender, and loved getting the tacos as an appetizer (which you could have as dinner if you wanted to). Chef Paul does a great job with all of the food. The beach at Frenchmans is gorgeous and so private. We went kayaking and snorkeling and were the only ones around. We were able to walk to Sopers Hole Marina to grab food at the restaurants and pick up anything that we needed; it's about a 5 minute walk. Frenchmans set up our day sail, had the rental car there and ready for us, and answered any questions we had. The only thing we did not do as part of our honeymoon package was the massage. We decided to nix that, as we couldn't justify being inside anymore than we needed to in such a gorgeous place. The West End is definitely the place to stay after exploring all different parts of the island.

Only two things I wish were different: 1) that the restaurant would have been open every night (closed Sunday and Monday nights), and 2) although we got daily cleaning service in our villa, the last 2 days we were really running low on soap and shampoo, so it would have been nice if they replenished that (and I know we could have asked).

Absolutely no regrets about staying at Frenchmans. Our honeymoon couldn't have been more perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As BVI's motto "Nature's Little Secret", so too, is Frenchmans "BVI's Little Secret". This Easter we were fortunate to find ourselves in an idyllic Caribbean oasis of beauty and calm, staying at Frenchman's Quay for several nights on our recent family holiday in Tortola.
From the moment we arrived to our reluctant departure we were welcomed into this intimate, friendly home of a hotel. Our children, 15,13 and 11 years old, were in paradise - playing in the pool, snorkeling, kayaking, playing tennis and exploring the beautiful gardens and beach. Meanwhile my husband and I were in our own more peaceful paradise. Chilling by the pool on the beautiful loungers or in our luxurious private balconies. It was a tough job being mesmerized by the outstanding views,turquoise seas,white unspoiled sandy beaches and rainbows of flowers in full bloom but hey someone had to do it!! Topped off with fabulous food, fantastic staff and five-star accommodation - it is a Caribbean MUST!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have visited Tortola every year for the last 15 and found my stay at Frenchman’s to be one of the most pleasant villa/hotel experiences of my life! My son and I were welcomed with authentic grace and felt like the staff was very happy to be there and look after us. We stayed in a gorgeous 2 bedroom villa on the far side of the property with unbelievable views of the ocean and bay. My bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Ever! We would wake to the sound of the ocean lapping up against the shore and the rays of Caribbean light pouring into our villa. My 12 year old son and I would head to the tennis court for an early morning game of tennis and then to the El Fresco dining area for the most humble "Continental Breakfast" on the island... Coconut French toast, omelettes, fresh juice, French pressed coffee... We were served by friendly local staff and dined with a cool breeze overlooking the pool and crystal blue ocean. The staff helped us figure out ferries, got us a great deal on a rental car and never let us without having gotten.
My favorite memory of Frenchman’s? Besides the bed from heaven ; I would have to say it was family time down by the sea. They built gazebos for shade along the shoreline and a small lagoon with a sandy beach. This protected area was a perfect place for my son to learn to snorkel. He loved it so much and we had a great time snorkelling together. Thanks Frenchman’s! That was truly a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on the far side of the villas with a stunning view of the ocean and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
10.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
726 reviews
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing