We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Getaway!”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place is just lovely! the grounds are nicely manicured and it is so peaceful! So nice to see beautiful flowers and vegetation everywhere when you come from Ohio in winter. Location was easy to get around if you have a car and can go visit beaches and go to dinner. The breakfasts at Frenchmen's restaurant were heavenly looking out on the blue water and mountains in the background eating mango pancakes! WE ate dinner there twice and the food was excellent, along with the amazing fish tacos at happy hour with the chef's homemade hot sauce! This place pays such attention to detail to make sure your stay is relaxing. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We liked Sugar Apple, and both bedrooms were very nice. there is a tree that obstructs your view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I visited Frenchmans for 7 nights and our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. We stayed in a one bedroom villa that was outfitted with everything we could need and there is a market close by to provision. We really loved being able to have our wine and cheese on our patio and watch the pelicans dive for their dinner!
The staff are truly what set this resort apart. Everyone was pleasant, helpful and eager to help us out (with our 300 questions!).
We will be coming back next year, we've found "our spot".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just came back from our second stay at Frenchmans, and it was perfect. What sets Frenchmans apart from other resorts, is not just the beauty of the place, the elegance of the rooms, and the spectacular views, but the people. Chris, Julisa, Karen and Lucilla are amazingly friendly, helpful and fun. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank osnarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the Avocado Villa at Frenchman's the week of Feb 18th. It was the best accommodation I've ever stayed in. Between the view, two balconies, and the rest, it made it hard to leave behind to get out and see the island. The grounds and beach (yes it was small, but you essentially had it to yourself) were equally stunning. However, it was really the staff the set it apart. Without exception they were all gracious and friendly. Assistant manager, Chris, went out of his way to help out with arrangements for dinner, excursions, and car rental. When I left the rental's headlights on and killed the battery, Chris used his car and jumper cables to get me going again. Karen, the bartender, made happy hour even happier with good conversation and friendliness. Nearby Soper's Hole was fun. We had great breakfasts and dinner at Frenchman's and fine meals at the Fish and Lime Inn and The Sugar Mill. I would recommend at least having a drink at Sugar Mill to see the beautiful building and setting.

Room Tip: The climb to Avocado, which was the farthest away, was steep, but we just drove the rental car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a very nice nine nights at Frenchmans.

We stayed in Starfruit, a very comfortable one bedroom cottage with great views over the Sir Francis Drake Channel. It was very tastefully furnished and was kept spotlessly clean by the maids.

The restaurant at Frenchmans (and Tortola in general) is very much geared to the US market. This means early dining and giant portions. We found the service very fast, we dined twice and in were in and out of the restaurant in less than an hour and the place was empty by 8.30. The breakfasts were vast, either the dish of the day or granola. OK if you like burritos but not to everyone's taste.

The grounds at Frenchmans are beautiful, lots of private spots to relax by the water, the small beach was fine for us and the pool was kept very clean. For beach lovers, a short drive to Smugglers Cove brings you to one of the best beaches on the Island.

All in all a great trip made all the better by the friendly staff and locals.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Starfruit for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved Frenchmans! We spent a week there....just got home. Staff was incredible....friendly and accommodating. Food, especially breakfast, was wonderful. We bought their Adventure Package and it was also great. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: You need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Third year in a row at Frenchman's and still happy with it. Great staff, great place and Tortola is amazing. Only watch-out is the cleanliness and timing of housekeeping. Nothing very wrong, just not as stellar as in the past.

Room Tip: Just watch out for the room near the housekeeping hut. Can be noisy if you like to take an afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IveBeenAroundNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
10.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
133 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range: £198 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing