We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Serenity”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful Serenity”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Frenchmans BVI is a little slice of heaven. Located on a tiny cay in Tortola, it is still connected to the city but is in a completely private and serene spot. First of all, the staff is amazing. The breakfasts which are included in your stay are completely divine. Not your traditional restaurant food – this is fresh, gourmet, and incredible. If you have a chance to dine at the restaurant in the evening, make your reservation in advance. It is absolutely worth every penny.

The snorkeling around Frenchmans is so great. The area where they have created a man-made beach has turned into an unbelievable snorkeling spot that is perfect for children or beginners. We are advanced but still loved every minute snorkeling in that area. We saw barracudas, crabs, millions of tiny fish, halibut, and more.

There are beautiful, private and serene relaxation spots on the beach with umbrellas and lounge chairs. The beach area is nice but is not anything like Longbay Beach or Smugglers Cove but those are only a 10 minute cab ride or drive from Frenchmans.

The villas are gorgeous. They were clean, and very well decorated. The only thing I craved was more counterspace in the bathroom. The view of the sunrise from the deck is amazing. We set our alarm every morning and it was worth it each time. The patio furniture is comfortable and very nice.

Don't even get me started on the afternoon tacos. Talk about heaven! In the afternoons from I believe 3 to 5 their fish tacos and beef tacos are only two dollars each. And they are big! I don't like fish but I have to say I fell in love with their fish tacos. They were incredible and their beers are on discount during that time. Definitely spend some time sitting by the pool and having beers and fish tacos and just enjoying the scenery. It is amazing. Save room for dinner though.

A tip from me would be to buy coffee at the store before arriving if you are a coffee lover. After getting up early to watch the sunrises, we would have to wait an hour and a half before breakfast started.

A benefit to Frenchmans is that there are only eight villas and thus never more than 16 people in the restaurant for either breakfast or dinner. There was usually only two other couples at a time there. Because of that, the service is great and it is very exclusive. It was also really fun to meet the different couples and learn about why they love the BVI's so much.

If I had to come up with a downside – I would say the beach isn't your typical Virgin Island Beach, and if you are looking for bar nightlife or a busy beach resort that you can walk back to your room after a night of partying, this is not it. This is serene, quiet, exclusive, and peaceful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    37
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
242
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Frenchmans for our honeymoon, April 7th - 15th. We had an incredible time. We stayed in the passion fruit suite and it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived Chris and the staff made our stay 1st rate. We felt as if we were the only people on the property, if it was not for the fantastic breakfeasts you wouldn't have known anyone else was there. We spent 3 or 4 days laying around without seeing one other person on the beach. We really had a fantastic time and look foward to returning as soon as possible. I would highly recommend the Frenchmans if you want to get away and relax, it really work for us. The food at the Dove resturant in town was one of the highlights of our trip. If you have an opportunity to dine there its worth the trip to town. We also enjoyed the "fish and lime" right around the coroner from the hotel, great painkillers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

frenchmans cay is absolutely a wonderful place to stay. we stayed in a two bedroom cottage (avecado) with friends. the way the cottages are set up is perfect when traveling with others. we each had our own suite so to speak with an ensuite bathroom. it also had a beautiful balcony, living room and full sized kitchen. the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. the hotel is full of beautiful and unusual art. we never felt like other people were there it was so quiet. the restaurant is fantastic. breakfast in included daily and is delicious. we also had dinner there, delicious. beautiful atmosphere also. they have a very talented chef and the staff is incredible. you will feel like they are your new friends when you leave. (word to lucilla our favorite who went above and beyond for us). we will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llk1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our group of 18 celebrated my husband's 40th birthday at Frenchmans March 27-31. Frenchmans earned every dot of an "excellent" rating. Chris and Julisa were so helpful and incredibly accommodating from the moment I called to inquire about bringing a large group to the moment we left the resort to come back home. I highly recommend this resort to anyone, for the following reasons:

Hospitality: The staff is friendly, polite, and genuinely likeable. They were waiting for us in the driveway when our taxi arrived, guided us to our villas, and gave us individual orientations to the property. They accommodated every request – taxi service, dinner recommendations, provision orders, and even fulfilled my quest for a bandaid. The housekeeping staff is very friendly, too. They greeted us every morning on our way to breakfast and they took excellent care of our villa.

Accommodations: The villas are beautifully appointed and offer dream-like views. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious. The villas are roomy and the kitchens are well stocked for those who prefer to eat in or who are staying for several days. You can lose hours on the porch, overlooking the water while swinging in a basket chair or lounging on a chaise. A previous review mentioned the discomfort of the couch in the living room; upon reading that, I realized we did not sit on ours at all, nor did we turn on the television! Though the villa is equipped with air conditioning, we didn’t turn that on either. With all the windows open, you get a great cross-breeze through the house.

Grounds: The resort is beautiful! There are flowering bushes and palm trees everywhere and many beautiful places to sit and admire your surroundings. The beach is small, but big enough, with plenty of lounging options. There is a nice tide pool for wading and swimming, and plenty of shade for those who need a break from the sun. The pool deck is lovely as well.

Restaurant: The Clubhouse Restaurant serves by far the best food I have eaten in the Caribbean. There were two options for breakfast each morning, but I never felt like I didn’t have enough choices. We ate dinner at the resort twice, and I tried several menu items, all of which were delicious. The Sunday brunch was fabulous, and the happy hour fish tacos were probably the best I’ve had anywhere. Karen, the bartender, will take good care of you, and the wait staff are all very kind.

Location: This resort is very close (easy walking distance) to Soper’s Hole Marina (and a short cab ride from the West End ferry dock). This was great for catching our boat charters and grabbing drinks at Pussers. There’s a market there and a small convenience store even closer to the resort.

It’s hard to go wrong in the BVI’s – everywhere you go you’re surrounded by beauty, but Frenchmans is definitely right. I would return here again and again. Everyone in our large party was pleased with Frenchmans, and that’s no small feat!

There is no fitness center at Frenchmans and they don't offer room service, but I think you'll find that you don't miss either of these things. We got plenty of exercise swimming and hiking, and I wouldn't have traded lingering dinners in the open air at the Clubhouse for anything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sierra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A group of 18 of us stayed at Frenchmans at the end of March. From the moment we got there Chris made our entire group feel comfortable and was extremely helpful with reservations and pre planning! We had a great breakfast each morning and thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Tortola/BVIs. Great villas with great views and the most comfortable beds! We loved our day trips on the island with our driver (set up by Chris) and our catamaran trips with (Mystique and Aristocat). Great location for all the BVIs have to offer! The beach is small but gorgeous....you can't really swim in the water there because of rough waters, but its a great location for taking day trips around the islands since Soppers Hole is within walking distance. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Did a short 4-day stay at Frenchman's and wished it had been longer! The excellent service started long before we ever stepped foot on Tortola. Julisa and Chris were very helpful in pre-trip planning, especially making dinner recommendations/reservations for our stay. Their exceptional service continued throughout our stay, answering questions about inter-island ferry travel and arranging taxi transportation.

We stayed in the Star Fruit cottage which had a nice view of the surrounding islands and sunrise. The cottage is closest to the walkway that leads to the main building (dining) and pool area. Only once did we hear any noise at night, from a group returning from dinner, during our entire stay. Star Fruit is also directly across from the housekeeping building. So, when you leave the room, the staff is in and out before you even know they were there.

Breakfast at the Clubhouse each day was outstanding. Similar to a B&B, you get to choose between the daily special or a yogurt/granola plate. We were never disappointed. Day 1, mushroom & Swiss omelet. Day 2, coconut french toast. Day 3, scrambled eggs and sausage. Day 4, mango pancakes. I opted for yogurt/granola on day 3. Wow! Everything was incredible!! My wife was partial to the omelet and I loved the mango pancakes. Don't miss breakfast! Also make sure you have at least one dinner at The Clubhouse during your stay. Chef Paul does an outstanding job. We both had the wahoo special one evening. Excellent with a nice variety of vegetables. A good portion as well.

The grounds at Frenchman's are quiet and a great place to read or just "check-out." One day we sat under one of the tiki huts for hours just watching the blue Caribbean waters. As others have said, the beach isn't anything special. A good refresher after being in sun however! There are plenty of better stops like Cane Garden Bay (taxi) or White Bay on Jost Van Dyke (ferry). I highly recommend both, particular when no cruise ships are in port. We wanted to kayak during our stay but the trade winds were up and the water a bit rough for us. The cove just around the point looks like a great place to kayak if the weather cooperates.

Frenchman's is convenient to the West End ferry terminal; a 15-20 minute walk without luggage or a 5 minute taxi ($12 for 2 people). Walk about 5 minutes further past the ferry to find Fish-N-Lime. We ate dinner there our first night which was very good ( see separate review). Also close by is Soper's Hole Marina - maybe a 10 minute walk from Frenchmans. There you will find a handful of shops and Pusser's, where you can grab lunch or dinner.

Overall our stay was fantastic! We will definitely be returning to Tortola and The Frenchman's.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bollwage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I'm going to TRY to keep this short, because I could gush forever about my recent stay (3/10-3/13) at Frenchman's Cay with my wife. Long story short... just book it!

We stayed two nights in Guava (1br) and one night in Avacodo (2br), because there were no one-bedrooms available for the length of our stay. Chris was gracious enough to offer a discount on the 2br which made it practically the same price as the 1br. The view from Guava was over the harbor between Frenchman's Cay and Tortola - simply beautiful, overlooking the harbor's turquoise waters and Tortola's lush green mountainside. The guests staying in the villa next to us were on the same plane back to San Juan and showed us a video they took of a shark swimming through the shallows below (don't worry, the resort's swimming area is on the opposite side of the island and sheltered by rocks). The view from Avacado, which is on the opposite side of the property, overlooks the Sir Francis Drake Channel which must be one of the most picturesque stretches of water in the world. We watched the sunrise over the channel and perimeter islands from bed!

The people and service were top notch! The day we had to change rooms, the receptionist arranged for our bags to be moved for us because we planned to be out on the (free) kayaks for a few hours. They (the two receptionists we dealt with - Chris and a girl whose name I cannot recall) made reservations for us at BananaKeet for a sunset dinner (recommended), offered to have a breakfast packed for us on the days we had diving trips planned (because we had to leave before service started) and were overall pleasant to deal with in every way. We've stayed in some exclusive resorts around the world where the service staff seemed to be trying too hard to the point of appearing disingenuous or even annoying. Not here. The staff are there when you need them, out of sight when you don't, and all the while genuinely caring and friendly.

The rooms were nice - full kitchens, small TVs (fine for the tiny bit of watching you might or might not want to do), good sound systems to blast radio broadcasts (iPod dock also available) onto the balcony to immerse yourself in the local vibe, and spacious balconies with comfortable furniture. The ONLY complaint I have is that the sofas in the living rooms are not so great - wicker structure with decent bottom cushion but small back pillows (no full back cushion) which shift and leave your back resting directly on the wicker which is not very comfortable. Granted, you shouldn't be spending much time on the sofa, but it would be nice to have a more comfortable one to sit back on after a long day of fun.

Dinner was excellent! Make sure you have dinner there at least once, because there are not many good eating options close by. Pusser's is sh!te, avoid it if you can. Go to Fish 'N Lime just across the bridge instead for a change of scene. We actually kayaked over there for lunch and drinks (we kayak a lot so it might be too far for most people to paddle). Breakfast was delicious (and included!), but there's no menu, just the chef's choice. So you might want to ask ahead of time what will be served each morning. We were not fortunate enough to enjoy their brunch, which is notorious island-wide. The dive staff on both boats we dove from swore it's the best food on the island, so try to work that into your plans if you can (it might only be offered on weekends, not sure).

The beach was perfect, rocked off from the Channel to keep the water calm and rocks to a minimum so there is plenty of room to wade. This is key because there are few if any sandy beaches on the south side of Tortola.

OK, I think I'm going to stop here. I could go on, but hopefully you get the point - Frenchman's Cay rocks! As soon as my wife learns her vacation weeks for 2015, we'll be booking here again, for longer (we stayed at two other, more expensive resorts around BVI to sample the area, and Frenchman's wins on total quality and value). ENJOY!

Room Tip: If you want to watch sunrise from bed, ask for a room on the property's south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DawoodMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
758 reviews
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing