We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good things come in small packages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Briarcliff Manor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good things come in small packages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Needing a place to go for a few days prior to a week on St. John, my husband and I decided to give Tortola a try. We chose Frenchman's based on the reviews we read and were not disappointed. From the moment we first contacted Frenchmans and throughout our stay, both Michelle and Ashleigh could not have been more accommodating. Picking us up at the ferry terminal, arranging a rental car, beach and restaurant suggestions - every possible need was attended to. Although we were told that the property was full during our stay, we only saw one other group which gave us the feeling that the beautiful surroundings were entirely ours! The rooms are elegantly furnished and extremely comfortable and the grounds are lush and well maintained. Although the restaurant was not formally open while we were there, an authentic Mexican dinner was being offered on Wednesday and Friday nights. We were wise enough to take advantage of this and were treated to the most romantic evening (we had the restaurant to ourselves) and a delicious meal expertly prepared by Estella. A daily buffet breakfast consisting of an assortment of cereals, fruit and pastries is available to all guests. We were sorry when it was time to leave - we would have loved to have stay longer and will certainly be returning to Frenchmans.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothernature27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    35
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
227
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Just spent a fantastic week at Frenchmans in the West End of Tortola. Our unit and the spectacular views were about the best we have experienced in visits to a dozen other Caribbean islands. Both Ashleigh and Michelle were fantastic hosts giving very personal attention both before and during our visit, helpful in everything from car rental to ferries, activities and restaurant selection. The property is isolated and quiet with only 5 short term rentals and there is no restaurant (although each unit has a kitchen and a delicious continental breakfast is included, served overlooking the beach and pool in the clubhouse). But, Sopers Hole marina is only a 5 minute drive with a couple of restaurants nearby and the closest north side beaches (and hotels and restaurants) are only about 10 minutes over Zion Hill. The island is rugged with steep hills but many spectacular views, coves and beaches. Snorkeling is very good in many locations including from the small rocky beach at Frenchmans. Ferries to Jost Van Dyke ( from Sopers Hole) and Virgin Gorda (from Road Town) are reasonably frequent and easy.
If you want a beautiful, quiet getaway and are willing to drive (on the left), this place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21C_Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

All the accolades in the previous reviews are all true! My husband and I stayed here for a week in early Jan, and we booked this place based on TripAdvisor reviews, and the beautiful pictures on the website. We could not have been more pleased with our experience.

This is not a place to come to if you want a big crowded glitzy resort where you have to fight with others for a spot on the beach. This is quiet, peaceful, and oh so beautiful spot. The villas are newly and stylishly renovated with quality furnishings, and contemporary island decor. The kitchen and baths are high end, and the linens and amenities are luxurious. Our unit had two beautiful decks, but most importantly, the views were stunning from every room!

A pleasant breakfast is served each morning in the club house/ restaurant which is right down next to the pool and the private beach. Dinner was served there Mon, Wed, and Fri, evenings at the time of our stay, and we dined there on a Wed night and it was a beautiful romantic meal.

We really enjoyed the snorkeling here ( a lovely reef is right off the private beach), and we swam in the little swimming area. One note of caution: do wear some kind of swimming shoes as there are a good deal of those spiny urchins in the water, and it is also a bit rocky.

The staff here is so accommodating! They arranged for a rental car on our second day, and were very flexible with us regarding how long we wanted to keep it. They offer to arrange as much or as little for you depending on your desires.

We also really enjoyed Soper's Hole which is the nearby marina. One can walk to it, but at night it is a little dangerous do to the narrowness of the roads, and the darkness. A flashlight would work well to remedy this. We ended up driving there after the first night.
And I can't forget to mention the beautiful flowers on this property. There is flowering garden path that winds around the entrance side to the villas, and there were cut flowers from the gardens placed all throughout our unit - a very nice touch!

If you dive, there's a really good dive operation called Blue Water Divers, with a shop right in Soper's Hole. Their boat leaves out of Nanny Cay, which a a 10-15 minute drive from Frenchman's.

In short, we just loved this place and definitely want to return~!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarribbeanExplorer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

We were all very impressed with Frenchman's. It provided a perfect setting to really sit back, relax and enjoy the beauty of the islands. The villas were absolutely gorgeous and top of the line. You could stay in and cook your own dinner, or go out. The concierge was very helpful and provided great suggestions of local places to eat. Overall we had a fabulous time while staying at Frenchman’s. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quite, peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarribbeanExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week (Nov. 28-Dec.5/09) at Frenchman's Cay. We enjoyed our stay very much after having spent a noisy week at a Marriott Resort in St. Kitts. The staff at Frenchman's Cay were terrific and took care of our every request. We thoroughly enjoyed our own cottage and watching the cruise ships leaving in the early evenings while sipping our martinis on our deck. I highly recommend it if you want peace, quiet and wonderful accommodations.

Helpful?
4 Thank lhartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We chose Frenchmans Resort for our stay on Tortola based on the reviews seen on TripAdvisor, and I must say that all of the 5-star postings were absolutely true. This is a fantastic property if you are looking for an immaculate, quiet setting that is conveniently located on the west end of Tortola.

Location: Frenchmans is located on the southeast corner of Frenchmans Cay with all of the villas overlooking the Sir Francis Drake Channel with views of St. John, Norman, and Peter Islands. Soper’s Hole Marina is less than a 10 minute walk away where you will find restaurants, shops, and a market. The West End ferry terminal is also less than a 5 minute drive for those who are making their connections to/from St. Thomas, or want to catch the ferry over to Jost Van Dyke. We would highly recommend a car rental, which can be arranged through Frenchmans, to take advantage of the fantastic beaches along the northwest side of the island. If you are looking for an uncrowded, white sand beach, with a couple small drink/snack stands, don’t miss Smuggler’s Cove.

Accommodations: We stayed in the Passion Fruit villa which has a full kitchen, dining area, main room and patio on the first floor, with the bedroom and bath on the second floor. The villa’s furnishings and design is what puts Frenchmans above many of the other places we have visited in the Caribbean. The bed is luxuriously comfortable, the bathroom and shower have upgraded fixtures, an Ipod dock, LCD television, DVD player, WiFi, and a kitchen with a full set of cookware makes the villa feel like home and is suitable for long term stays. Sitting up on a hillside in a well maintained tropical setting the view from the patio is great for passing the time watching the dolphin pods and boats out in the channel.

Service: The service is fantastic! All aspects of our stay, from the initial email inquiry to our departure arrangements were quickly and professionally handled. We couldn’t say enough about the great service that Michelle and Brodie provided. Our post-arrival decision to rent a car was handled by Michelle and within an hour we had the car delivered to our villa. The morning continental breakfast is very good offering a selection of yogurt, fruit and pastries. Whatever you may need during your stay, from day trip arrangements to recommendations on local services, Frenchmans offers a full concierge service that is a fantastic resource.

In summary, Frenchmans exceeded all of our expectations and would be our number one pick for our future trips to Tortola.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Topic_Zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickfromamerica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

My wife and I have been to the British Virgin Islands a number of times and, while we have loved the island, have been frustrated by the properties and/or customer service on Tortola. I found an entirely different experience during my recent stay at Frenchman's.

The location itself was not only phenomenally beautiful, but the rooms were immaculately furnished and decorated without any of the tasteless "island decorations" that you find in other hotels. It was also near the first ferry stop from St. Thomas, which made it especially convenient for us to get to the hotel. Our last experience had us leaving from the main downtown area, which is not tourist friendly, and taking a long taxi drive across the island with someone who may or may not have had a driver's license.

More than the beautiful property was the exceptional service provided by Michelle. She catered to our every need, making sure our room was stocked to our likings. She also went to great lengths to plan activities to our liking. Don't get me wrong, I love the beach, but I can only sit there for so long (limin' as the say in the islands!). Previously, we had gone scuba diving with We Be Divin'. It was a terrible experience. The boat broke down and the divemaster was...well...enjoying island life! Fortunately, this time Michelle recommended Blue Water Divers and it was phenomenal. In fact, all of her planning resulted in the best vacation we have had to the British Virgin Islands!

Unfortunately, at the time, their restaurant was not open which would have been convenient. My understanding is that it will open soon. Nonetheless, Michelle went out of her way to make reservations at hotels around the island and arrange transportation.

Thank you Michelle!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nickfromamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.3 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
10.0 mi away
Guana Island
Guana Island
#1 of 1 in Guana Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing