We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional beauty, incredible tranquility”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of BVI Village

Bvivillage at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bvivillage at dusk
Pool & master bedroom Pool from master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Bvivillage at dusk
Pool & master bedroom
Pool from master bedroom
Gourmet kitchen
Living room
To west bedrooms
West bedroom
West bathroom
West bathroom
Loft bedroom
Loft study
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
From bathroom to shower
Outside shower
Pool to living room
Living room bar
Long Bay beach
Smuggler\'s Cove beach
Pool with a view
Rainbow over Sandy Cay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West End, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
llfNewHam...
new hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional beauty, incredible tranquility”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The photos of BVI Village are nice, but....they in NO WAY capture the incredible beauty and serenity of this delightful hilltop hideaway.

My husband and I just spent two glorious weeks soaking up the sights and sounds of Tortola, much of it from our deck chairs poolside at BVI Village. Mornings were spent lingering over coffee and listening to the exhortations of the mourning doves in the trees around the villa, afternoons were spent bobbing in the pool and watching sailboats and catamarans glide past on the water below, and evenings were spent watching the sun go down while enjoying a glass of wine as we cooked dinner in the open-air kitchen.

Everything about this villa invites relaxation and owners Burtt & Carole and house manager Lucienne make sure that you want for nothing.

Every aspect of the planning process was handled seamlessly, every email question and request was responded to promptly and every effort was made to ensure that our time in Tortola was exactly as we wished.

Our house manager Lucienne was attentive but never intrusive, the villa staff were friendly and helpful, and the owners gave us guidance on everything from car rental to the best local restaurants and attractions.

One caveat: the drive up to the villa is steep at points, so be sure and rent a 4-wheel drive -- after a couple of trips up and down, you'll be driving like a local.

If you're looking for a place to unplug and really sink into the 'island vibe,' look no further the BVI Village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The incredible views and the serenity of the setting.
Liked least: The bumpy roads.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Merci beaucoup - you love it as much as we do! 'Til "next time" Ciao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valfrusa
USA,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing views.”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good morning,
We spent a week in BVI Village earlier this month. The house is wonderful, just a few minutes away from the ferry terminal in west end. The first drive was a bit though, but it became routine by the second day. Nothing can prepare you for the views you are going to get...amazing. The main pod is really well thought, the kitchen very well equipped, everything is al fresco so you just have to look. The pool is large enough, and has plenty of lounge chairs to enjoy the panorama. The master bedroom is very private, detached from the main building. It boasts an open air shower, and yes, it also has the view to JVD. The 2 other bedroom on the other side are large and share a wonderful bathroom. All the beds are very comfortable, there is always a nice breeze as you sit on top of the hill. That simple fact is enough to reduce the eventuality of mosquito bites! It is very private but certainly not isolated, a quick 4 minutes trip will take you to Long Bay beach, and you'll be back home just in time for your painkiller! The owners Carole and Burtt are very responsive, the house manager Lucienne keeps on top of thing, and will welcome you at the ferry terminal. BVI Village is truly a hidden gem.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelodiR
Chino Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house was more than we imagined! It was clean, we'll decorated, stocked with necessities (including rum) and the view was stunning!
We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and pool!
Once you figure out how to navigate the steep hill (which is just another memorable adventure), you'll find yourself near Smugglers Cove and Nature Boy's beach hang out. Wonderful sand, clear water and views of Jost Van Dyke.
On Jost Van Dyke visit Foxies, but don't miss the Soggy Dollar Bar!
Snorkeling at the Four Indians was my favorite-ever snorkeling.
Time spent at the Baths on Anagada was too short!
Tortola does not feel touristy at all unless a cruise ship docs and site seeing vans drive by the beach side bar where you're enjoying a rum punch or Carib. The people were wonderful!
And althought I loved the trip, the water, the house (was really great), I have to give low ratings to Tortola for mosquitos.
Locals are immune but the rest of us suffered.
The owners, Burt and Carole, are fabulous to work with and the property manager, Marcia, met to tour the house with us abd then called to check up on us the following day. Wonderful service!
Memorable vacation!
Highly recommend BVI Village if you're planning a trip to the British Virgin Islands!

Location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willbebac...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutelly magnificent!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the BVI Village for a full week during August 2012 with my wife and two young kids, aged 3 and 7 years old.
First off, I must mention that the owners Burtt and Carole are extremely kind and did everything to help us in planning our arrival, ensuring that all the bases were covered and that we would not arrive with an empty place with much to do.
Communicating with Burtt and Carole has been efficient, professional, as well as friendly and helpful. I want to thank them very much for that.
The second very important point is the fact that this place is lively, in other words, it has been made to be a house where the owners spend some time to relax and enjoy the place; the entire place is wonderful with a beautiful decoration, well designed and very practical house. Everything in the house has been thought with attention to details in the use of every room. One special note on the kitchen, were all cooking items are there, and I can tell that the owners really enjoy their place when they are not renting it. To make a long story short, this is not just another rental, but your second home, away from your own place. This is the ultimate rental in the sense that everything is welcoming and convenient for use.
Third, we came with our two young kids and were slightly anxious at first that the place would not be adequate for young children. The good news is that the place enables to always look after the kids, for instance when cooking in the open kitchen, you can watch and talk across the open place to the kids in the swimming pool. Apart from a few mosquito bites, the kids enjoyed our vacation safely at BVI Village.
Last but not least, it is important to mention that the location, setting and surroundings of BVI Village makes it very attractive. The design of the entire home makes it very pleasant to use, with one master bedroom on one end of the house (behind the pool) and two other bedrooms next to each other’s on the other side of the house, with private bathrooms. The outdoor shower is a great experience to enjoy too.
The location is especially nice because the house has an incredible view of Jost Van Dyck islands, direct view on the Long and Belmont Bay, where just 5 minutes of driving will take you for a swim on secluded white sand beaches. Another 5 to 10 minutes will take you to the groceries. The view from every room is amazing and I just remember the first morning when I woke up at 5 AM at sunrise with the entire place changing color from the rising sun, one of the best awakenings of the year!
I highly recommend anyone who is in search of a nice place to spend their vacation in the BVIs to consider the BVI Village, because this is an authentic place of relaxation and peace.
I am looking forward to get another chance to come back in the future. Carole and Burtt, thank you again for your hospitality.
Arnaud & Stephanie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just about everything, starting with the view, location, amneties, etc.
Liked least: nothing really.
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 29 June 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnesota
Reviewed 11 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 7 June 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;