We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Tortola”

D Coalpot BVI Restaurant Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: D"CoalPotBVI offering a great dining experience featuring mouthwatering caribbean splices for your palate's delight.
Little Thatch B.V.I
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Tortola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We love D"Coalpot, efficient friendly service, great atmosphere, food delicious. I love the roti does not mater if you have the Chicken Conch or shrimp all lovely
We go back once a week and send our guests there no has been disappointed!
Make sure you start with the conch fritters and coconut shrimp
well done and keep it up Evelyn and the team.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    75
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“BEST FOOD ON TORTOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great atmosphere, better service and the absolute best food on the island! We went to Sugarmill, Frenchman's, Brandywine, Bananakeet, Dove and D' Coalpot. We came back to D' Coalpot both of our last 2 nights. Every dish we had was unbelievable. The coconut shrimp and conch fritters are a must, for your appetizers too! Highly recommend this place!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHollas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Grouper ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a great time at the bar and the meals were fantastic. The grouper was so good we went back for dinner twice so my wife could try it. The pork chop, salmon, wings and desserts were kicking too. The staff were extremely helpful and even made me a special order of jerk chicken strips late night before they closed. Plus the lovely lady behind the bar kept the cold drinks coming while we waited. Truly just a bunch of nice peiople with great food and excellent service. We only booked rooms on our trip so no kitchen so we had the opportunity to eat out at multiple spots on our trip and we rate D' Coalpot number 1.
Once again thanks to the staff for such a great time. See you next year!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank don r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food, service and atmosphere are superb. We were staying locally and were invited to join our hosts for dinner. Truly a taste to be enjoyed whether it be a local dish (roti) or a dish even the pickiest of eaters could enjoy, steak, seafood etc. You must try D"Coalpot before it shoots up even higher on Tripadvisors rating even after only a short seven months of being open. I would recommend a reservation so you are not disappointed and miss this West End Tortola Gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easy and Pleasant Change from Tourist traps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went with my visiting family to D"Coalpot in the West End. I knew where it was, as it was Coco Plum's earlier. Looking for something different than the same old things in Cane Garden Bay or Soper's Hole. The new occupants were 7 months old when we went at the end of May 2014. It is on the way to Sebastian's from the South Shore connector past the mural and opposite Cappon's Bay fields. If you go toward Long Bay from the East past Bomba Shack, make a left at the intersection right next to the parking lot for Sebastian's. Parking lot was next to restaurant and large by BVI standards. Nice treatment of the dinning areas. Local flavor to the facility and the tables were roomy and not crowded together. Outdoor dining for most of the tables with clean table cloths, but it is pretty much an open air ambiance. The service was very friendly, and it was easy to get an extra plate or napkins or whatever. The server engaged in a little banter on a variety of things, and talked to the two year old we had with us. They also had a high chair for the toddler. The menu was West Indian, but with enough selection to appeal to any picky eaters or those seeking an international cuisine. Jerk Chicken wings for an appetizer were very nice and fell off the bone. Fish (some fresh, some frozen) conch, chicken, beef and pork made for 3-5 selections in most of the categories. I had fresh grouper pan fried with mango salsa. Good. The desserts of a rich Chocolate Cake and Key Lime pie were baked on the premises and very good size. Most important-delicious. Of the four adults in our party, everyone ordered something different and all meals were good. Pricing was moderate, but still cost us $150 with deserts and some soft drinks/beer. The staff was very nice, and I wish them the best of luck. Food was good and this is exactly the type of restaurant that should prevail in Tortola rather than mediocre food with bad service at inflated prices. I will be going back soon. Thumbs Up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D Coalpot BVI Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to D Coalpot BVI Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing