We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Story Book!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais San Maurizio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a stunning facility of unparalleled quality and charm! The staff were exceptional, the food divine. I would highly recommend upgrading to a Junior Suite or Suite in order to take advantage of the breathtaking views of the vineyards below. Truly a highlight of our 2 week luxury experience through Italy and Switzerland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although the hotel is situated outside the center of interest lovers of wine, Barolo or Barbaresco is a 20 minute journey, but flair to comfortably transport there and back so we could enjoy local wines completely. We spent the remaining time either poolside or on wellness and on bike rides, borrowed by the hotel. One particular note is the quality of the cuisine and wine cellar. We already know, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladislav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Like a natural athlete, well trained and gifted, San Maurizio makes everything look effortless. Let's start with the spa, that includes a wonderful heated indoor pool, connected jacuzzi tub, adjacent Turkish bath with light therapy and a shower. Comfortable lounges line the perimeter. For a reasonable additional charge per person you can experience the multi-stage saltwater spa pool service. 15 minutes is the extremely buoyant salt bath, shower, 20 minutes on the warmer less briny pool 2, followed by 10 laps of the hot/cold split pool. One side is warm the other cold, you walk through each 10 times then take a sauna. You feel revived, relaxes and exfoliated when it's over.

Which means it's time for dinner. Start in the lobby bar with a specialty gin cocktail. James has conjured up a plethora of concoctions with local ingredients like rose hips, cucumber, pepper cloves. Then proceed to 1 of the 2 restaurants; The Michelin Star restaurant located in the wine cave since 1961, or the bistro, where they also serve breakfast buffet. We experienced all 3 during our stay, each are wonderful in their own way with consistent quality of food and service.

After dinner we headed back to the bar and the cigar friendly glass enclosure. James entertained us with stories (he's a brit with perfect English) and poured us Rum from 1985 to accompany the Cubans in his humidor. Great way to end the day.

And a great way to start the day with the inclusive breakfast buffet. Found myself asking "what is this" multiple times, local yogurt, fruit, cheese, bread, wonderful. One morning when we found 9:30am to be a little early, the staff prepared a silver tray and delivered to our room. Prego!

During the day you can rent a bike, or a Vespa if your daring or simply walk the vineyards. The terraced ground are magical, we happened upon several cherry trees ripe with red berries. The workers in the vineyard encourage us to pick some, it doesn't get any sweeter.

If there's a negative it's that this was a 16th century monastery, while they have done a fantastic job of decorating, renovating and electrifying the building, not much you can do about sound-proofing. Although we were able to sleep soundly, footsteps echo in the hall and voices carry. Guess that's why monk's took vows of silence....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is at the top of a hill surrounded by vineyards. It is definitely a luxury, and quite large, hotel with all the services and facilities you would expect. The rooms are very comfortable and enjoyable. Ours was the furthest from the reception with a feeling like a small villa for it had chairs on the grass outside the entrance from which the trees in the extensive grounds were seen. The room was actually on top of the underground fitness centre and swimming pool which friends who used it declared to be excellent. The breakfast was a vast spread of meats, cheeses, fruits, yoghurt, breads in the Italian style. It was a pleasure to go to breakfast. The breakfast room had small lunch menu of excellent fresh dishes. The hotel has a formal restaurant in a rather dim long cellar in the basement. It is claimed to have a reputation for good food but I can't say that was my experience. Of all the meals in places big and small over 10 days in the area, the dinner here was the least impressive and enjoyable. However, there was no hesitation in replacing a corked bottle of wine, even the second bottle, and that shows professionalism. I would return to the Relais San Maurizio to relax and enjoy the view, but not sure what I would do for food as the hotel is quite isolated. Without a car, taxis are available, but expensive and slow to come.

Room Tip: The room far from reception beginning with "2".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oriental88traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I just got back from our trip to Italy and I couldn't wait to sing the praises of this hotel. Situated perfectly in the heart of Piedmont, it was our home base for touring the vineyards. After our long trip from the States, we arrived early and tired to the hotel. They provided us with drinks and small plates while our room was being prepared. The staff spoke English and were extremely friendly and hospitable. Our room was gorgeous! It was off season so we were upgraded to a balcony. Check out the view! The rooms were spotless and had any amenity you needed.

The little touches were nice like providing us logo flip flops for the spa which we could keep and a gift box of sweets. We weren't planning on using the spa but we couldn't resist. Sauna, pool, and Jacuzzi are complimentary for guests which I was not expecting.

Did I mention the food? The hotel restaurant is run by a famous food family in Piedmont. My wife and I are foodies and I kid you not....this was easily one of the best meals of my life...hands down. If you read about food in Piedmont you will become familiar with the Guido family. I will review the restaurant in detail separately.

I could go on and on about this hotel but needless to say it was perfection. Thank you to Allesandra in management, James at the bar, and Sara at Ristorante Gudio da Costigliole!

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vandymdmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisSanMaurizio, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais San Maurizio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Vandymdmph,

Thank you very much indeed for your review and for the precious words you spent for our staff. We are happy that you enjoyed so much your stay in our region and we really hope to see you in summer maybe.

Let us cuddle you again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Passionated, qualified, gentle and helpful people around you, amazing architecture, gardens...Everything is so beautiful. Remarkable hotel, definitely in my top 3.

Food is also great. It is a magic place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anilimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisSanMaurizio, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais San Maurizio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear anilimo,

We're very proud to be in your personal top 3 hotel chart and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you very much for your special review, on behalf of myself and the entire staff.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You only have to say the name,and the eyes of bon viveurs and gourmets light up. The Langhe is the culinary heart of northern Italy,a luxurious land of plenty,on whose hills grow the nebbiolo grapes from which ruby-red Barolo and Bararesco are pressed.
This former Franciscan monastery,is home for our brief sweep through Turin and Cunio. The wonderful Relais & Chateau hotel played host in a manner most becoming. the rooms,former monk's cells have been re-birthed into comfortable,atmospheric and above all quietly exciting reposes .
For all its creature comforts,the estate has preserved its contemplative peace with beautiful parks to walk beneath ancient trees. and enjoy relaxing salt treatments in the spa or gaze across the sculpture that is the vineyards, from the pool
This by the way is truffle country - white Alba truffle - the scent of which transforms the simplest dish into a delicacy. and where better to sample this in the restaurant on the estate. It deserves its Michelin star. Breakfast is served al fresco at your individual table in the dappled morning light. We followed this with a spot of horse riding,the skill of which,escaped years a go,necessitating return visits to the spa and its healing therapies. I am a pampered puss.
Ps. true fans of the 'tuber magnatum pico" can go truffle-hunting with a "trifolau" (truffle expert) all organised by the genial staff at the desk. i still prefer "Tally-Ho".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Stefano Belbo
9 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
167 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
148 reviews
12.9 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
352 reviews
14.5 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Montemarino
Hotel Relais Montemarino
#1 of 1 in Borgomale
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Maurizio

Address: Localita San Maurizio, 39, 12058 Santo Stefano Belbo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Santo Stefano Belbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Stefano Belbo
Price Range: £179 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais San Maurizio 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Maurizio is a unique, unforgettable place. Refined and romantic, it is the ideal place for a true time of wellness, relaxation, soothing the senses and the spirit. An unexpected, happy discovery. The frescoed halls, the 31 rooms with unique decorations, the gardens and the park with centuries-old trees are all truly enchanting. The large outdoor swimming pool at the top of the hill provides a 360° view of the surrounding landscape. The hotel is also home to the Michelin starred 'di Guido da Costigliole' restaurant and the exclusive 'La Via del Sale' Medical & Beauty SPA. It is a partner of the Relais & Chateaux chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Maurizio Hotel Santo Stefano Belbo
Relais San Maurizio Italy/Santo Stefano Belbo, Piedmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing