We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts and View”
Review of La Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts and View”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our favorite B&B during our 10-day trip to France. The hosts were more than hospitable and a lot of fun to talk to! We enjoyed their home and company, our immaculate room and view, and the bright and airy dining space. For a true rural France feel, complete with the view of cows in pasture, stay at this B&B. We also booked as stop over like another reviewer and if we would have known how wonderful it would be, we would have stayed multiple days. WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveLER3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Chosen because of Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. This place is a gem. The location, reception on arrival, food and accomadation were all perfect. Unfortunately we did not meet Tony! Perhaps next time. We had our dog and Thierry 'dog sat' on our first night to allow us to eat out. We have never felt so at home and will be recommending it to everyone. We are looking forward to meeting Tony on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmandy1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked La Grange as a stop over, as it appeared to be well located en route back to Calais(2.5 hours). It was a fabulous stay and we shall definitely return for a longer stay next year.
We were greeted by Tony and offered a drink and a brief tour of the building. The house has been converted and extended by Tony and Thierry and all the bedrooms look over a patio towards lovely open farmland. All the guests were invited to a pre dinner aperitif (home made),before settling into a delicious 4 course dinner, with wine. The food was prepared and presented by Tony. The hospitality was outstanding, and we all felt as if had been invited to something close to a friend's dinner party. It was something which felt very personal - it was difficult to know how Tony and Thierry are able to maintain this standard each evening! They are, however, genuine enthusiasts who clearly enjoy their work. Tony loves cooking and Thierry clearly loves entertaining.They are far from over bearing but remain quietly attentive.
Breakfast was what you'd hope for, and expect in someone's home - fresh croissants, rolls and home made jams.
The stay provided a perfect conclusion to our holiday and we'd definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I chose La Grange as a convenient place to stay on our journey from the Alsace to Calais but Thierry and Tony delivered much more than my planned simple "stopover".....

On arrival we were greeted by a smiling Thierry (who speaks excellent English) who showed us to our room. We were immediately made to feel as if we invited there as their guests rather than us booking with them- a first for me in any B&B!

After aperitifs and canapés were served on the patio outside, Tony then presented us with a lovely dinner for us- this is where Thierry really went above and beyond, translating the conversation between French and English the entire night so that all of the guests around the table could partake.

A relaxing nights sleep later and we were ready to go and, after arranging an early leave with Thierry the night before, we had breakfast an hour earlier than they would usually serve it (which I'm sure meant an earlier start for Tony & Thierry as well!)- all of this done without a moments hesitation and with a smile on their face.

All in all a little gem and we'll certainly come back should we visit the area again in future- thanks Tony & Thierry!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We chose La Grange as it separated our journey between Burgundy and Calais and also had a Sawday recommendation. We were greeted on arrival and offered drinks whilst we settled in to a suite that was perfect for a family of four or two couples. We were then invited for an aperitif with the other guests at 19:30 and subsequently led to the dining table where we were presented with both great food and entertainment from Tony & Thierry. For us it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening and had a dinner party feel as all guests chatted about where they had been in their holiday or where they were about to go to.

A great French breakfast (articularly the home made jams - merci Tony) accompanied by the Grand Piano (merci Thierry) finished a wonderful stay. We would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Hermine, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have been to some Chambre D'Hote's, B&B's and Guest Houses all over the world in my time and I can't recal a better place or value for money. Tony & Thierry made us so welcome. The dinner provided was superb, the company and relaxing chat was excellent. The uninterrupted views are very tranquil. The rooms are beautifully set out with care and an eye for detail. I would highly recommend, but be quick as they are fully booked for some time forward, a recommendation in itself. Cuiry-les-Chaudardes is two and a half hours from Calais and 10 minutes off the Auto Route, so ideal either direction if you have a midday crossing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Thierry and Tony are the friendly, helpful and charming hosts of this lovely modern-rustic property. This is not your average B&B! The B&B feel is still there - you are like a pampered guest in T&T's home - but there is the seclusion and comfort of your nicely appointed room (suite, in our case) as you wish.
It was lovely to sit on our own patio and take in the rolling countryside past the lovely garden. Also lovely to sit in the communal patio around the corner and take aperitifs with T&T and/or other guests.
A lovely base for your visit to the Champagne region.

Room Tip: The suite was very nice and it's extra two beds are in a separate room, so each couple still has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disposalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuiry-les-Chaudardes
7.4 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
16.7 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
659 reviews
14.1 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
428 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
15.4 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange

Property: La Grange
Address: 6 impasse des Pres, 02160 Cuiry-les-Chaudardes, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Cuiry-les-Chaudardes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cuiry-les-Chaudardes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tony and Thierry are happy to welcome you in La Grange . Four Rooms in a House (Bed and Breakfast) dressed with charm, full of character... Magnificent atypical renovation of a former barn, allying authenticity and contemporary style. 4 Rooms in a guest house full of charm, close to major places of interest, bound to the History of France and to its cultural heritage Champagne , Cathedrales , castels and literary roads...) A friendly house offering, thanks to wide bay-windows, a panoramic sight on the Aisne Valley... open-air theatre full of harmony, which each room enjoys. In the Aisne Valley, center ot the triangle: << Reims , Laon , Soissons>> Near the Golf de l'Ailette, the Centerparcs de l'Aisne ... and close to magnificient Champagne cellars . Nudity allowed in the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing