We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Fat Virgin's Cafe

Fat Virgin's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Virgin Cafe's simple "Caribbean fusion" menu offers the best casual waterside dining in the BVI. Our delectable home style dishes include tender guava glazed baby back ribs, West Indian boneless chicken roti, grilled wahoo fish, gourmet sandwiches, fritters and homemade soups. We always use the best quality ingredients, including locally grown produce, freshly caught fish and Angus-grade beef. Homemade sauces and dressings such as sun-dried tomato aioli, lemon-poppy seed salad dressing, and mango chutney are house specialties. Gourmet magazine loves our Fat Virgin Hot Sauce. You can relax on our front deck with a drink or a 3-course meal. Bring the whole family or make it a special occasion for two. As long as you're ready to slow down the pace and savor our culinary delights, it doesn't matter if you come in your high heels or your bare feet.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not your typical cafe. We had lunch and the burgers were wonderful. You will not be disappointed. Perfect little place by the water.

Thank 656debbieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Tucked away near the impressive Biras Creek resort is the tiny Fat Virgin's Cafe. Don't let its small size scare you off, this is easily THE best service and food in the North Sound. We arrived by dinghy, tied up and within 5 steps were seated at on of their picnic tables overlooking the Gorda sound.
Hands down, the chicken roti is the way to go here, but ask, ju-u-st in case they might have conch roti the day you visit. Our host all three visits was Ratti, a fellow who can write the book on low-key, but attentive service. Genuinely a great experience, on of the highlights of our trip to the north Sound.
Conch fritters were also sampled, very nicely cooked, crispy but not overdone on the outside, and unlike some places, cooked all the way through. The Fat Virgin burger is also a crowd pleaser, the chicken ceasar salad was also very good.
Cold Carib beer, friendly efficient service, great food prepared with care, and a great view.
This Fat Virgin ticks all the boxes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MacPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thanks a lot for your review!!! We are opening next week and hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards!
Fat Virgin Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Besides the best chicken roti I have ever eaten, wonderful service, delightful location right by the sea, and I could go on and on lauding this wonderful Cafe, the gift store for me is a must! I always stop by to see what I can buy! This time, see picture, we purchased a beautiful, metal wall hanging of a FAT VIRGIN! She is so beautiful, and so well priced, well, I had to have her. Before that I would say this is one of my favorite gift shops on the island, as Esther really has terrific taste in clothes, adornments, artistic hangings, jewelry. Last year I bought my favorite, bronze turtle! Another great item, and reasonably priced, considering the quality and art!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soncijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! We are very happy to receive all of these positive and great reviews! We hope to see you back soon! Lots of love from Fat Virgin Café.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We did FVC for their rothi and have to say I wasn't impressed with the veggie but, the chicken was great. Service was nice and very friendly. The gift shop was WAY OVERPRICED! I couldn't believe they wanted more money for a tunic than Tory Burch charges! It's a nice place to visit to say you did it!

Thank NY_ShoeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you weren´t impressed with our roti because all the reviews and local feedback is that is one of the best. We invite you to come back and try it again.

Some of the clothing come from Asia and some tunics are very delicate and are done with the best fabrics, from silks to cottons, rayons to stable knits.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back so you can have our roti again.

Have a great day!
FV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Eight of us visited the fat virgins café inside of Virgin Gorda near the Bitter End Yacht Club. Evelyn is a delight and the staff is super friendly and the food is superb. Dinner is at picnic tables while watching the sun set over the sound. Do not miss this place, you will be glad you visited.

Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review!!! We are very happy to receive your thoughts and feedback! We hope to see you back soon! Lots of love!
FV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Virgin's Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fat Virgin's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing