We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Fat Virgin's Cafe

Fat Virgin's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: At Virgin Cafe's simple "Caribbean fusion" menu offers the best casual waterside dining in the BVI. Our delectable home style dishes include tender guava glazed baby back ribs, West Indian boneless chicken roti, grilled wahoo fish, gourmet sandwiches, fritters and homemade soups. We always use the best quality ingredients, including locally grown produce, freshly caught fish and Angus-grade beef. Homemade sauces and dressings such as sun-dried tomato aioli, lemon-poppy seed salad dressing, and mango chutney are house specialties. Gourmet magazine loves our Fat Virgin Hot Sauce. You can relax on our front deck with a drink or a 3-course meal. Bring the whole family or make it a special occasion for two. As long as you're ready to slow down the pace and savor our culinary delights, it doesn't matter if you come in your high heels or your bare feet.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Small quaint cafe that offers a delish West Indies Vegetarian Roti in a curried sauce with chutney ! Out of this world.

Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    51
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fresh Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A group of four of us dinghied over from Saba Rock for lunch on July 10, 2014. It is tucked away in a quiet corner of North Sound, only two minutes ride away.

The service was the best we have had in the BVI. Very friendly & helpful. A bit like a cross between being at home & a restaurant. Not a touristy place. The decor was worth taking a camera for.

The menu had a great selection. One of those menus where EVERYTHING looks good. We had burger, snapper & tuna salad. Seems that everything here is done with care and attention. The tuna salad had fresh tuna. The fries were made from scratch, not from frozen product. Absolutely delicious & best fries in the BVI by far. Burgers were delicious. Snapper was excellent too. Burgers and snapper were grilled on the BBQ in front of us.

Prices were very reasonable.

We will go back again next time we are there in January for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Williamsbahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat on VG”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved it so much we came back a second time. Would've come more if we didn't have to go home! Although the free ferry boat may be an inconvenience to some, we had great experiences both times. The chicken roti is what we loved. But I also thoroughly enjoyed the pumpkin soup, the fritters, the chocolate cake, and the salad (yummy dressing).

Ratti helped us begin to master the "ring game" which we now have to build one of our own in our backyard.

Love the views of the bay, and the hiking trails nearby at Biras Creek. Eat here--you won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thanks so much for your review!!! It really means a lot to us :) We hope to see soon!
Big Love,
Fat Virgin Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fritter Heaven!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We moored at Bitter End Yacht Club for the evening and asked about for where a local would eat. Logical assumption would be BEYC but far from the response we got. We did start out with drinks at the Crawl Pub with drinks... Standard Caribbean beer and I hoped for a great Bloody Mary. If the Bloody Mary didn't taste original then neither would the food.

So we skipped eating here and instead opted for a combination of our TridAdvisor buddy recommendations and staff at BEYC... All pointed to Fat Virgins Cafe.

So we promptly took the dinghy and ventured towards this unassuming spot at Biter Creek Resort.

Very small.. Maybe 10 outdoor picnic tables/benches.. But service was very prompt and engaging. I like it when staff are proud of the establishments they work at, and are willing to engage new patrons.

We sat next to a couple vacationing from Cambridge, England who were midway into their holiday. They loved the food at the Bitter Creek Resort restaurant but this was their daily go to place for a cold drink and appetizers like crispy wings.

We spotted the conch fritters and ordered 2 platters (4 each) but I found a new to me item on the menu..split pea fritters.

So while I will say they conch fritters were what we hoped for.. Tasty, spicy, crunchy and chewy, the split pea fritters were the home run.

Lighter, tastier and such a delight.. Paired beautifully with the sweet and hot sauce.. Absolutely to be paired with their home made hot sauce.. This is what we wanted..something we can't get anywhere else and just completely a taste delight.

Yes, venture a little further afar from the traditional stop in Virgin Gorda and find this little Caribbean gem just a dinghy ride away for BEYC.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianaMancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food , super views, Amazing Service,”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is out new favorite spot to bring our charter guests while up at the Bitter End.

The food is well priced, tasty and the service is the best in the area hands down (much much more attentive then the higher priced areas near by at either of the Yacht Clubs, or the exclusive resort)

Cute little gift shop out back, dart board for some fun while you wait for your food (not a long wait)

It's a guaranteed stop when we are in there area...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipflop4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Virgin's Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fat Virgin's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing