We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Italian on a tiny island”
Review of Giorgio's Wine Restaurant - CLOSED

Giorgio's Wine Restaurant
Price range: US$1 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gourmet Italian on a tiny island”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Giorgio's presents a spectacular selection of Italian wines grouped on the very extensive wine list by region. While extensive, the wine list is also expensive, with few bottles under $100. We chose a less expensive option of wines by the glass, enjoying a delicious cabernet and a superb sauvignon blanc. The room is fairly intimate, the only discordant note being a bright overhead light at one end over the kitchen. The tables were beautifully laid out and thanks to our server Patrick the service was superb, attentive without being intrusive. The highlight, however, is Giorgio himself. He obviously has a great passion for the food and wine and it shows. Giorgio went to great lengths to describe some of the entrees and actually made the selection a little more difficult as they all sounded wonderful. We finally decided on appetizers of buffalo mozzarella skewered with cherry tomatoes with balsamic vinegar along with basil flavored aspic and salad with baby greens and a crepe cup filled with ricotta cheese over a bed of walnuts and slivers of pear. For our entrees we ordered pappardelle with duck in a very light tomato sauce with slivers of parmesan cheese and steak with a unique sauce made by taking a cabernet and reducing it 60% then adding balsamic vinegar, reducing it again and adding raspberries then straining it so it becomes smooth. Giorgio told us that this dish features the sauce, not the beef and the sauce, almost a glaze, was superb. After such a symphony of tastes we enjoyed a light dessert of creamy very lemony sorbet. We dined at a very leisurely pace as nothing is rushed here and this added to the relaxation and enjoyment. Giorgio is the kind of man who makes you feel at home right away and along with the quality of the food makes you want to return. We were fortunate to dine just two days before Giorgio's closed for the season but will be open again soon for very fine dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Ok, first of all, I love the BVI but they lack of a good italian restaurant. Well, at least I thought so until we discovered Giorgio's!
We were looking for options in Virgin Gorda and our hotel concierge recommended this "very nice italian restaurant, it doesn't have the view of the sea but it's beautiful". I have to say that it was a bit of an understatement. The place looks so cozy and lovely, perfectly harmonized by the soft lights, exposed brick, and candles that makes you feel that it makes your evening even more special.
The food. I'm a very picky italian eater but I was so surprised by the quality, taste and presentation of the food that I wished I could taste every single meal on the menu! The pasta was homemade and perfectly balance! The dessert was to die for!
And the wine selection was great too! Amerone anyone?
The staff. Nothing but compliments. Atitutide, manners, presentation and of course we couldn't forget the friendly smiles all along!
I wished we had more time to go back before the closed for the season - very common in the Caribbean area. They are opening in November again so I will be there again to see the new adventures on the menu!
If you live in Tortola, just take a ferry, you won't regret it at all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cla-ptybvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
“ABSOLUTE PERFECTION!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our 7th visit to Virgin Gorda with several dinners at Giorgio's. We got engaged there in 2003 and have returned there many times for our anniversary celebration. Giorgio treats all his customers with the ultimate respect and attention to detail. Between Giorgio, Patrick and the staff, you will be treated like royalty. The atmosphere is an indoor setting without mosquitoes--delightful. From the minute you walk in the door, you will be greeted with dignity and respect. You get seated at a beautiful, quality table setting with rich tablecloths. The staff discreetly takes care of your every need allowing you to not feel intruded upon but definitely taken care of. It seems as though they read your mind. They watch each table from a distance making sure your water glass stays full as well as your wine glass. Each bottle of wine is put in a decanter to breathe and then set aside. The waiter then keeps the wine glasses filled appropriately without being intrusive to your privacy. Giorgio has handpicked all items on his menu. He demands his ingredients to be only the best. He taught us all about the cheeses from Italy as well as the perfect wine complement to any meal. They have a delectable dessert menu too ---absolutely loved the chocolate lava-like cake with homemade vanilla ice cream! Yumm. Appetizers were delicious too. The entrees were divine of course. Giorgio's is truly perfection with respect to everything! WIll definitely return! Also, Giorgio's is featured in the book, "Taste"--buy a copy and ask him to autograph it. It's a treasure as well. ENJOY!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely evening; worth a special trip.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

What a surprise to find this gem of Italy in the midst of our island paradise. Impressive wine list and food which is good enough that you may want to save it for a special evening. I don't know what the others in our party of 4 had for a main course, but I had a pasta dish with lobster which was excellent. Service was attentive without being hovering. Expensive but worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta, great food and wonderful service”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Our family of five ate at Giorgio's last night-- 5 different entrees--all delicious--the duck pasta and beef ravioli were especially tasty! Our server, Patrick, was great and we enjoyed visiting with Giorgio and discussing his history in the area and his passion for his restaurant! We enjoyed gelato and souffle for desserts. We will be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amarone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giorgio's Wine Restaurant also viewed

 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing