We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but would not go again.”
Review of Rock Cafe

Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Amongst the famous Virgin Gorda's boulders with waterfalls cascading down. Incredible natural setting. New addition: the Treehouse restaurant. A walk through nature for an experience ABOVE IT ALL !!!
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but would not go again.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a tough review. We were seated in the worst location in the restaurant, so likely you could have a very different experience seated on one of the terraces. I had a view of a wall and a DJ singing karaoke while words came across a big screen inside in the lounge. I didn't like most of the songs, and it was a serious drawback to the experience. The service was great, the food was excellent, but the experience felt like a waste of an opportunity to dine at any number of incredible places. It was expensive and I got little enjoyment out of it. Perhaps you can use this information to secure a better seating option when you make your reservation and have a much more pleasant evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workhardplayharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    96
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in a great setting”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I ate here our first night on the island. She is a vegetarian, but had no trouble finding something on the menu she thought she would like. I had smoked salmon with pasta in a vodka sauce and it was fantastic. The outside setting among the rocks is a fantastic view. We shared an appetizer and shared a dessert, and both had one drink. Total bill, including the gratuity, was just over $100. Service was fantastic, and unlike many other Caribbean islands, the service was actually pretty fast (they didn't seem to be on "island time"). They added the service charge to the final bill, but we added some extra since we liked the service so much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vthokiesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing your review. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you soon back in Virgin Gorda. Warm regards from Rock Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great spot in VG”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We went one night for dinner and had a great meal and the outdoor space was cool with the led lit rocks/boulders. Meals were great large portions and well prepared. Very helpful with my wife's food allergies and made changes to accommodate her. Desserts were the weakest part of menu. Otherwise wonderful meal. We'd go back without hesitation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cormarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for writing about your dinner experience with us! We are very glad that you had a great time at The Rock Café.

Our warm regards,
TRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pizza delivery on VG!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nice place / with a piano bar and a club upstairs - but we ordered pizzas to go and really enjoyed them! we also learned that they will also deliver for a fee of approx $20... nice feature for villa rentals!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank harryandisabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review!!! And yes we deliver! Next time you feel lazy about going out call us!
Have a great day,
TRC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent food but expensive”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is not a surprise that this restaurant is expensive, most of them are expensive on the island. We shared a pizza and salad, and it came to bout $40 including tip which many of the restaurants do......include a 15% tip in the bill!!
Nice ambiance, good service!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryA32248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review!!! We really appreciate it! We are sorry you find the food expensive, the fact of being on an island makes everything more expensive although we always try to offer our specials and happy hours!

Come back soon and thanks a lot for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing