We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Little Dix Bay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved Little Dix Bay!!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We visitied Little Dix Bay in July. It was our 40th anniversary, and we had a FABULOUS week. We purchased the Romance Package, and we would do again in a minute. The people were very friendly, and we felt like we were almost the only people at the resort. Everyone wanted to please, and we felt like we were on Fantasy Island!! Don't miss the Sunset Cruise (you won't need dinner), and snorkle trip to Norman Island.
Devil's Bay was our favorite day trip for a beach drop. The packed lunches for beach trips were yummy- lobster salad sandwiches :) Hyacinth? gave us noodles to use for the whole week-they made snorkleing a snap!!! We never do the same place twice, but this is one we would do again!! They sent wine to our room for our anniversary. Thanks to all!!

Room Tip: We spent very little time in our room. It was a water view or something simple. Perfect for us. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedemimi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
179
544
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Little Dix Bay twice - first visit was September 2010 and returned in March 2011. The second visit was at the invitation of management based on the disappointing first visit.

Overall LDB is a wonderful property with amazing views and amenities. However, the customer service once there was lacking on both visits. This is an expensive resort (at least from our perspective) and we were looking for more based on the price. What we found was a disinterested resort staff at many levels (restaurants, bar tenders, boathouse). To the contrary, the reservation staff and customer service rep in the front office were outstanding. The housekeeper for our room was also great. While not explicity stated, tipping is expected but we found that regardless of the generosity of the tip, service did not improve.

Some great things about this place: the rooms are immaculately clean, comfortable and private. There was no TV in our room (as advertised) but not a huge issue...unless you're going on vacation to watch TV. Bathroom amenities were excellent as well. Food at the resort is expensive so some nights we chose to take a taxi into town for cheaper options and local interaction. The spa is very nice and a good value for the money... very relaxing location on the point with amazing views. You can arrange for private lunches / dinners up there as well. I highly recommend the "boat drop" service. You can order a picnic lunch for the day then they'll take you in a small boat to one of the private beaches in the area and drop you off for up to 6 hours with an umbrella and your lunch. I recommend George Dog island - it's remote, rugged, private and the snorkeling was outstanding. We saw a charter boat pull in for about 45 minutes but that's about it all day. The beach at the resort is very nice, well kept and the snorkeling is pretty good as well. There as little to no beach "service" in the form of drinks, etc. that we found. We did see one or two waiters wander by with cold water but they were few and far between.

I also recommend an early morning hike up the trail near the spa to the top of the peak behind LDB. The views are fantastic and lots of animals, birds, snakes to be seen on the trail. Also, a must-see is the famous "Baths" portion of the island. It can get crowded there but it's worth the trip; water is a bit rough for novice snorkeling.

I do give credit to the management staff for inviting us back for another chance....and the service was slightly better but still not up to what we expected for a resort of this level. Still, we had a good time there; it is a very relaxing and romantic location and if you can get past the overall lack of customer service, it's worth experiencing.

Room Tip: The rooms near the Spa end of the resort seem to be the more secluded and private. It's a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear "JANDC007,"

Thank you for writing this review, and for visiting us a second time. We are glad you did enjoy our wonderful setting, and our rooms, despite us not having TVs as you had expected. We actually do not advertise TVs on our resort website as we do not offer them in any accommodations other than our villas. Regarding your points on the resort's service level, we understand that we did not meet your service expectations. We appreciate this feedback as it can only make our resort better. We will definitely share your review with our staff so that they are all aware of any gaps in our service.

Thanks again for your excellent feedback. We look forward to welcoming you, should you choose to return to Rosewood Little Dix Bay.

Tropical Regards,

Duncan Hogarth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I spent 5 glorious days at Little Dix- we returned relaxed after enjoying a great stay. We loved the accommodations and the friendly nature of all of the staff really enhanced the wonderful time we had. The beach is truly world class with great snorkeling; lots of beautiful fish to see. The complimentary beach drops are a great advantage.

An incredibly enjoyable vacation!!! Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: If you dont like walking, request a room closer to the Sugar Mill or Pavillion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband and I went to Little Dix Bay for our honeymoon after reading good reviews about it on tripadvisor. It was really a great island paradise honeymoon. Beautiful scenery, attentive staff, beautiful spa, and good food. We enjoyed every day we had there, and had happy,relaxing time. We did beach drops most days and had a lovely picnic lunch packed for us by the resort staff one day. We enjoyed the snorkeling. We went during the off season, so not sure what it's like during other times, but there werent' many people at the resort beach, and also on other beaches. Sometimes we were the only people on the beach drops. Very romantic for us.
Just as other reviews said, the food is expensive there. The Pavilion's food did feel overpriced, particularly the buffet that was offered one day. However, the Sugar Mill's food rivaled some of the best restaraunts in Denver. And of course, you can't get beatiful views of the sea in any Denver restaurant. The only other negative was the mosquitos - I was completely covered in bites by the end of the 1 week stay. The resort provides mosquito spray in your rooms - if I could go back in time, I would have used that more frequently. My husband and I would love to go back one day, but we spent a pretty penny on this honeymoon so we'll have to save for awhile before we can even consider it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear "caroline o,"

Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had the chance to avail yourself of our complimentary beach drops. We appreciate your concerns with the cost of food and the mosquitos which are common to this area. As we are on a less commercialized tropical island, our natural environment will be a factor for both of these challenges. We do our best to control mosquitos and we will always make insect repellent available to our guests. Regarding issues of food costs, our Chef is continuously reevaluating our suppliers and pushes for less costly locally grown ingredients, over shipped ingredients whenever possible. Again I thank you for all of your feedback, and we will be sure to share this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and making your next stay better than the last at Rosewood Little Dix Bay.

Warm Regards,

Duncan Hogarth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was one of the nicest places we ever stayed. The very large property has a lot of older charm, but is immaculate in every detail. It was very quiet, laid back and we could do as much or as little in activities as we wanted. Their boats took us to a number of different beaches for excellent snorkeling. And we snorkeled right off our beach as well. Many times we were the only ones there! Our room was very quiet, had all the necessary amenities, even a nice walk in shower. There was no TV, but did have a telephone, refrigerator, and Bose sound radio with i pod connections. The registration area and three restaurants were all open air. Breakfast was a big buffet each day along with a menu. Lots of fresh fruit, egg station, just lots of great choices. We ate lunch a couple of times in the Grill on the beach and it was very good. Dinner was in either the Pavilion or Sugar Mill. Dinners were very romantic, service fantastic. Prices were on the high side, but not any more than a very nice restaurant in the U.S. Everyone was so friendly and helpful with wonderful attitudes. The management kept asking us over and over how things were going. There was a TV in the lounge area along with internet service, books and games. We enjoyed a number of water activities and even took a hike to the top of a small mountain for excellent views of the area. We went to the Baths twice to snorkel. One day it was too rough, but the other day was fine. We really hated to leave this place. We would love to return, and we can certainly recommend Little Dix Bay without reservation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #60, 35 feet from the beach. There are other good opeions, as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Little Dix Bay was a wonderful experience. If you're looking for a great place to stay in the British Virgin Islands, look no further.

Upon arrival into Beef Island-Tortola (EIS Airport), we were met outside the customs hall (the airport is really small). From there, our bags were tagged to our room at the resort, and we whisked away onto a van that drove us 30-seconds to the boat dock. We boarded the yacht and were on our way.

The trip took about 15-minutes, we were registered on the boat and given a complimentary rum runner. The staff on the boat told us all about the resort and the British Virgin Islands - they were very friendly.

As we turned into the bay, we saw clear blue waters, huts on the white sandy beaches, villas in the mountains, and people playing in the ocean. When we arrived at the resort, we were taken by a golf cart to our room and personally escorted into the room, where we were given a quick tour.

We were in a beachside room, that was literally ten steps from the beach. The room had one large comfy bed (with fresh flowers sprinkled on it), a mini bar stocked with a few sodas and waters, a large bathroom with a big lit shaving mirror and hair dryer, a walk-in closet, a porch, a Bose stereo playing calming music, and most importantly a in-room safe. There are no keys at this resort, so it is very important to lock up your valuables because anyone can walk in. You can, however, lock the room once you're inside.

The best, and most important, amenities were the complimentary bottle of rum and the bottle of Off to fend of the mosquitoes at night. There's also a small hand-held LED flashlight that you can use to walk around the resort because it can get really dark at night.

The food at the resort was really good. Breakfast at the Pavilion is wonderful - there is a cook that makes fresh eggs, hot food stored in Sterno, fruits, cereal, cold cuts and cheese, and even a fresh smoothie section. A menu is given out as well for special dishes that are part of the buffet, including waffles, pancakes, and eggs Benedict.

The Beach Cafe had good food too - burgers and fries, pizza, salads, and wraps. It was nice to receive a fresh cold towel when being seated to cool of your face and wash your hands.

There are complimentary water activities included as part of the resort fees. Snorkeling gear can be picked up at the activities counter. Kayaks, surf paddling, and Hobiecats can be picked up on the shore.

The resort also has a list of activities during the day, including yoga (for a small fee), snorkeling tours in the bay (you can float off on your own), movie night, and hiking tours. Also, sign up early for the complimentary boat rides to neighboring beaches. We went to Devil's Bay and the Baths early in the morning and spent three hours there. Along with the boat ride, the resort gives you a huge beach umbrella to use because there are no places to hide from the sun on the beach.

We took a trip to the spa, and the views and services are outstanding. I highly recommend a massage here. There is an infinity pool at the top of the cliffs overlooking the sounds where the sunsets are spectacular.

The rooms do not have TVs, but you can borrow DVDs and a DVD player at the reception desk. There's really not much to do at night.

One night we ventured into town to try the local flavors. Other reviewers recommended wonderful restaurants, but we tried a place called Coconut Grove that was very local. It was so local, we met a cook who works at the resort! The town is a short walk from the resort, but a taxi was quick, easy, and cheap at $8 for two people.

One last thing I can't forget to mention is the beach. There are a lot of lounge chairs and huts nestled in under trees. It's very relaxing here, and the water is not far away. The water can be pretty shallow, and you have to be aware of jellyfish and sting rays that float around in the water.

Checkout was pretty simple. The night before, we received our bill and the boat schedule back to the airport. All the staff was at the boat dock saying bye to us. It was a really nice touch.

Overall, this was a very relaxing experience. The staff was friendly, and the accommodations were great! We even thought about bringing a group of friends next year and renting out the villa!

Room Tip: Book a beachside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at Caneel Bay for our honeymoon and loved it so much we decided to go to Little Dix Bay prior to the birth of our first child. The hotel itself is lovely. The grounds are beautiful and the beaches are amazing. The staff was great and we were treated very well. Breakfast was great and we loved tea every afternoon, but we thought the lunch and dinner food was highly overpriced and not that great. Unfortunately, we found this to be the case on Virgin Gorda in general. We don't mind paying a premium for good food and understand that on an island food is more expensive in general, but overall found the food to be disappointing.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank w0rld_traveler_4_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
20.3 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing