We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I want to go back!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Everything from the moment you arrive is absolutely beautiful. The staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive. The beach the snorkeling are right up there with the best places in the Caribbean I've experienced. As much or as little as you want to do on a beach vacation. Complimentary beach drops around the island including The Baths which are a must see!! We went three times. This trip was the first time I've said I want to go back. With all the places to see in the world staying in one place would be too hard, until I stayed at Little Dix. You can't ask for any more out of a vacation. Great food, perfect beaches, island hopping, hiking, and seeing breathe taking sea l

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    148
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
180
546
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Overall it was a great place. I loved that you could snorkel from the beach and the spa was so pretty. I really enjoyed everything...the food was just okay...but everything else made up for it.

* Be sure to take a hike on on of their trails
* Don't expect turn down service....they sometimes forget and want you to leave your door open to get it.
* Some rooms offer a golf cart to use for your stay...so fun!
* Sea turtles come so close you can snorkel with them!
* Some rooms have private pools and they even offer a DVD & game library.

Overall a really nice place and if you love tennis you will be in your glory!

Room Tip: Get a room with a GOLF CART! SO Fun and SO Private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear "BirdieU,"

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your feedback. We always strive to maintain the highest standards of service, but if there is a lapse, such as in your case with regards to the turn-down service, we always appreciate hearing about it. We will be sure to share your comments with our team, and we look forward to minimizing these challenges. We hope you choose to return, we will be glad to make your next experience much better than the last at Rosewood Little Dix Bay!

Warmest Regards,

Duncan Hogarth
Managing Director
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I visited here for our honeymoon in September 2011. We loved everything about it. The food was excellent, the overall resort experience amazing, and the staff, everyone, went above and beyond to make our experience better than we expected. We even met a few of the locals who owned restaurants in Spanish town, and they were very kind and accommodating. The entire visit was a dream. Since we went in the off season, the rates were good and it felt as if we were the only ones on the resort at times.... We stayed in a cottage - and the room was exquisite, often serviced, and 20 yards off the beach.
If you go - seek out the hidden sunset spot above the spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I decided to visit the Rosewood Little Dix Bay as a last minute trip during the last week of September 2011. Although it was hurricane season, the weather couldn't be better - hot sunny days and breezy nights. Because the hotel was nearly empty this time of year, we had the place nearly to ourselves. The staff was fabulous, friendly and very attentive, the food was very good in all 3 restaurants, there were more than enough resort activities to keep us occupied during the day, and the bed was very comfortable.

This was a very relaxing beach vacation - we spent our days taking advantage of the beach drops and guided snorkel tours, afternoon tea and scones, and just laying out reading and snorkeling in the lovely bay right outside our room door!

The rooms are pretty spartan and they don't have TVs, but they are clean and spacious and with a gorgeous beach just steps from our patio, we were very happy.

All in all - we loved this place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We visitied Little Dix Bay in July. It was our 40th anniversary, and we had a FABULOUS week. We purchased the Romance Package, and we would do again in a minute. The people were very friendly, and we felt like we were almost the only people at the resort. Everyone wanted to please, and we felt like we were on Fantasy Island!! Don't miss the Sunset Cruise (you won't need dinner), and snorkle trip to Norman Island.
Devil's Bay was our favorite day trip for a beach drop. The packed lunches for beach trips were yummy- lobster salad sandwiches :) Hyacinth? gave us noodles to use for the whole week-they made snorkleing a snap!!! We never do the same place twice, but this is one we would do again!! They sent wine to our room for our anniversary. Thanks to all!!

Room Tip: We spent very little time in our room. It was a water view or something simple. Perfect for us. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedemimi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Little Dix Bay twice - first visit was September 2010 and returned in March 2011. The second visit was at the invitation of management based on the disappointing first visit.

Overall LDB is a wonderful property with amazing views and amenities. However, the customer service once there was lacking on both visits. This is an expensive resort (at least from our perspective) and we were looking for more based on the price. What we found was a disinterested resort staff at many levels (restaurants, bar tenders, boathouse). To the contrary, the reservation staff and customer service rep in the front office were outstanding. The housekeeper for our room was also great. While not explicity stated, tipping is expected but we found that regardless of the generosity of the tip, service did not improve.

Some great things about this place: the rooms are immaculately clean, comfortable and private. There was no TV in our room (as advertised) but not a huge issue...unless you're going on vacation to watch TV. Bathroom amenities were excellent as well. Food at the resort is expensive so some nights we chose to take a taxi into town for cheaper options and local interaction. The spa is very nice and a good value for the money... very relaxing location on the point with amazing views. You can arrange for private lunches / dinners up there as well. I highly recommend the "boat drop" service. You can order a picnic lunch for the day then they'll take you in a small boat to one of the private beaches in the area and drop you off for up to 6 hours with an umbrella and your lunch. I recommend George Dog island - it's remote, rugged, private and the snorkeling was outstanding. We saw a charter boat pull in for about 45 minutes but that's about it all day. The beach at the resort is very nice, well kept and the snorkeling is pretty good as well. There as little to no beach "service" in the form of drinks, etc. that we found. We did see one or two waiters wander by with cold water but they were few and far between.

I also recommend an early morning hike up the trail near the spa to the top of the peak behind LDB. The views are fantastic and lots of animals, birds, snakes to be seen on the trail. Also, a must-see is the famous "Baths" portion of the island. It can get crowded there but it's worth the trip; water is a bit rough for novice snorkeling.

I do give credit to the management staff for inviting us back for another chance....and the service was slightly better but still not up to what we expected for a resort of this level. Still, we had a good time there; it is a very relaxing and romantic location and if you can get past the overall lack of customer service, it's worth experiencing.

Room Tip: The rooms near the Spa end of the resort seem to be the more secluded and private. It's a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodLittleDixBay, General Manager at Rosewood Little Dix Bay, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear "JANDC007,"

Thank you for writing this review, and for visiting us a second time. We are glad you did enjoy our wonderful setting, and our rooms, despite us not having TVs as you had expected. We actually do not advertise TVs on our resort website as we do not offer them in any accommodations other than our villas. Regarding your points on the resort's service level, we understand that we did not meet your service expectations. We appreciate this feedback as it can only make our resort better. We will definitely share your review with our staff so that they are all aware of any gaps in our service.

Thanks again for your excellent feedback. We look forward to welcoming you, should you choose to return to Rosewood Little Dix Bay.

Tropical Regards,

Duncan Hogarth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I spent 5 glorious days at Little Dix- we returned relaxed after enjoying a great stay. We loved the accommodations and the friendly nature of all of the staff really enhanced the wonderful time we had. The beach is truly world class with great snorkeling; lots of beautiful fish to see. The complimentary beach drops are a great advantage.

An incredibly enjoyable vacation!!! Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: If you dont like walking, request a room closer to the Sugar Mill or Pavillion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
12.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
185 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing