We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place sets the bar very high!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just got back from our second stay. Took my wife for our anniversary. Let's see....on our arrival @ Tortola airport, we were greeted by friendly staff and taken to a nearby boat dock. Waiting at the dock was a Catamaran with a friendly crew who fed us Rum Punch the whole way. The resort sign in was done on the boat this time - even better. A short 20 min ride to Little dix bay boat dock and we were back in heaven. We skipped the guest orientation, as we had the same room as last year, and hit the beach. When we arrived we were pleased to see a bottle of Champagne on ice waiting for us, along with a bottle of the resorts rum. If you go, the premium ocean view rooms are the best. 10 paces from your back patio and you are on the beach. The weather was great and the Painkillers were flowing.

The food was bountiful and great. Try the private torchlit dinner on the beach.The staff could not have been more accomodating. The Spa is amazing.

Before we returned to LDB, we wanted to go somewhere else just for variety. But we considered other options in the same price point...it was clear we had to go back. We we glad we did. And we are already choosing dates for our return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ineed2chill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is what service is all about. So beautiful, quiet, kid friendly, good food.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationSession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I didn't actually stay at this hotel so I can't comment on the property (although it looks amazing), but the spa is second to none. Double infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The massage was the best I've had and the massage room had a view of the ocean. Once the massage started, the doors were opened and you could hear the ocean. Needless to say, I feel asleep. A truly relaxing experience. And it's not that much more expensive than a massage int he States.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank ItalyFanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This review is long overdue.

We spent 4 nights at Little Dix Bay. It was part of our Caribbean vacation...we went to The Ritz Carlton in San Juan first.

We were met at the ferry dock on Beef Island. We were the only ones the boat picked up. The LDB boat was very clean, with a nice inside cabin. They offered us Planter's Rum Punch cocktails and some snacks. The ride over took about 20-25 minutes or so and was smooth. It was a nice approach to Virgin Gorda and a perfect way to arrive. Check-in was a breeze and we were taken to our lovely room by golf cart. Explained everything in the room, etc. We had the least expensive category room($395.00 + tax + service charge a night). It was located right on the beach, just steps from the ocean. Very large picture windows on both sides, high beamed ceiling, rattan type furniture. Tile foors. King bed. All spartan, with a very clean feel to it. Bathroom was very nice size with a frosted window and pull shade. Shower was oversized and was open to the room. Large vanity, makeup mirror, nice toiletries, etc. Closet must have been an add on, it had a safe, flashlight, bug spray, extra pillows, etc. There was a bottle of Caribbean rum and sodas for us on the desk, along with glasses/stir sticks. Very nice. Our patio was fabulous. It had a lounge chair, 2 tables and 2 chairs. A drying rack was also there for suits, towels, etc. A small basin cleaned daily to wash the sand off your feet. Alot of mature vegetation kept it all very private. Each room has it's own thatched roof hut and chairs, marked with room number down on the beach. You can get floats, etc from the dive shop, etc.

There were MANY younger folks on honeymoon, but we think they kept them down at the other end of the beach for more privacy. ALOT of honeymooners. It sometimes made us feel like grandma & grandpa, and we are not old. We took a catamaran cruise thru LDB. There was about 20 couples and we were the only ones NOT on honeymoon. They were all trying to out do one another...telling others how much they make, how large their wedding party was, etc. Kinda sickening...if you know what I mean. Restaurants on site were very good. Afternoon tea and entertainment in the early evenings. Service was GENERALLY good and friendly. Almost all the staff would smile & greet you as you passed. It seemed like they were there for years and liked their jobs. Grounds were lovely...constant trimmming, raking, etc. It was so pretty. Location can't be beat. Downtown is a very short cab ride or drive away. We ate in town most every night at diff. places. LDB has a weekly barbeque on another beach site and I would recommend you do that. It was great with alot of tasty food, etc. It was a steal for the price & included the boat ride back & forth. LDB has a beachfront pool, but it was not used too much. Great spa and treatments...I recommend.

All in all, LDB is everything we had hoped it would be. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Any room is good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

One of those unexpectedly fantastic destinations. More than just picture perfect, the locals made a big difference being so welcoming, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The trips to the baths were unforgettable and I so enjoyed the dive to the Rhone that I went twice.
Local restaurants were worth a trip to try the local food but the Rosewood cuisine was always excellent and well priced. Can't stop thinking of the whole fabulous experience.
We stayed in October/November which was low season, no crowds, no queues with perfect weather.
In Australia we have the best beaches but the experience in Little Dix was in a class of it's own.
Cant wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have been to about 7 different Caribbean islands - and I must say the BVI is my favorite. The hotel is very nice, located on its own long stretch of beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful - big plus for the islands.

We highly recommend the 'beach drops' where you are dropped off for your own secluded beach time. The Baths is definitely worth the visit. We also took one of the snorkeling trips, which stopped for lunch Willie T's - a floating restaurant in a bay on the "Robinson Caruso" island..very fun! The snorkeling was also very good.

The breakfast at the hotel was great - very good food - all fresh and well made. The dinner at the resort was quite expensive - would recommend taking a taxi and trying out a couple of the other restaurants.

My fiance loved the spa - we did the couples massage and then sat out by the infinity pool... very relaxing way to spend a few hours!

Overall - definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I was at Little Dix Bay for Thanksgiving week and had a truly relaxing time! The surroundings are beautiful - our room was steps from the ocean, where they had lounges, floats and tables set up for the day's enjoyment. The beach is very long, so you don't feel like it is crowded even though you are sharing it with other guests. In addition, the water is turquoise, warm and rife with living things! In sum, the location can't be beat! As for the rest, the rooms were comfortable, although not particularly luxurious and the food was not as good as I expected. The meats were not the same quality as you get in the US and the buffets were very expensive and seemed a bit repetitive during the nights of our trip, including Thanksgiving. Definitely best to go with the fresh fish choices. On more than 1 occasion, I had to call to get my room made up and ask for extra towels several times before any were brought. While most of the staff were friendly, some were a little aloof, particularly at the main restaurant and bar area. I would definitely return but may try another place first.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clevergirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
20.2 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
7.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#3 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £442 - £816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing