We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding/Honeymoon Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding/Honeymoon Trip”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 8 day stay at Rosewood Little Dix Bay. We are sad to be home because it is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. We were married there on November 3rd, and it was perfect. If anyone is considering a wedding here, you will NOT be disappointed. The grounds are beaufiful and the food was terrific.

We were greeted by the resort directly after landing in Tortola (Beef Island) and taken via the resorts boat to Little Dix Bay. We were offered Rum Punch and it was very refreshing after such a long day of travel. Everyone we encountered was extremely courtesous and very nice. There was a complimentary bottle of rum and champagne in our room upon arrival, and they provide you with water and ice daily as well.
The rooms are all very nice, from the garden view to the most expensive, you will have a view of the water and are just steps down your private path to the beach. The rooms are extremely private, with beautiful landscaping all around, and very quiet as there are no TV's. We booked an oceanview room but were upgraded to a beach cottage, Room 23, which was a great spot. Just far enough away from the dock area and not too far from the restaurants. When we were there, we had the beach to ourselves almost every single day. The sand is white, the water is a million shades of jewel tones and very clear. You can relax on the beach all day and someone will bring you drinks, or you can take a trip to a neighboring beach on the island, or you can snorkle. We saw numerous sea turtles and rays and fish. The resort was very quiet most of the time, until about the last couple days of our trip, when families started arriving for the busy season.

We did a meal plan for breakfast only. Breakfast buffett was delicious, fresh fruit and smoothies were amazing. The food is quite expensive, but that is to be expected and it is very very good. We only ate dinner off the resort one night in Spanish town but after that we stayed on the resort and ate at the Pavillion for dinner and the Beach Grill for lunch. Every meal we had was terrific (especially pasta night!)
The service you receive at Little Dix Bay is worth every penny, especially if it's your honeymoon, you deserve to splurge! Be sure to drink lots of Rum Punch and Painkillers while you are there! YUM

Be sure to visit the spa, the views are SPECTACULAR and while the services are pricey, it's totally worth it. Also try to visit The Baths, it is an amazing hike through ancient giant rocks to a gorgeous beach with good snorkeling. The resort provides a beach drop service to several beaches on the island.

We had an amazing, wonderful trip, and we will definitely be returning someday. We saw serveral elderly couples there who told us they had been visiting the resort for decades. We understand why! We can't wait to get back. Thank you to all the staff there, especially Dale George, the wedding coordinator there who helped make our special day so beautiful!
This place is truly paradise.

Room Tip: oceanview rooms are less expensive and still have amazing views and are steps from the beach. the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
179
544
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My husband and I just came back from 8 days on our honeymoon and we cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay at the resort. We must have read over a 100 reviews about LDB before we left but we were still surprised at the beauty of the resort and the immediate serenity we felt getting off of the short boat trip from Tortola. We stayed in a Jr. Rosewood Suite and absolutely loved it. The room was large, had a his/hers closets and a gorgeous bathroom with an indoor and outdoor shower which we used daily. From our wrap around deck we could see the gorgeous bay in front of us and the pool off to the side. We met some wonderful people while there and the service was attentive and extremely friendly. We enjoyed all of the resorts amenitites including the spa, the boat drops, the water activities and the restaurants. We thought the food was top notch, but extremely expensive, especially for the breakfasts and lunches, but being on our honeymoon, we were ok with splurging. I would absolutely recommend LDB as a honeymoon destination as it gave us everything that we were looking for: quiet, secluded, romantic and relaxing. Most of the time we felt like we were the only people at the resort. We are definitely planning on coming back with friends and staying in one of the beach house villas.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side closer to the spa and found it to be very convenient to everything - restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I will be ending a 9-night stay here tomorrow, and we are sad to leave to return to our snowy home. We have had a wonderful time, much thanks to a lovely accommodating staff and facilities that are top-notch.

We are avid scuba divers and having Dive BVI on the premises was so convenient, and such a treat! We spent many mornings out on local dives, and their boat picks you up right at the hotel's dock and has you back in time for lunch...I felt spoiled the entire week.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful, and every room is within steps of the ocean. The rooms are well kept and beautifully designed to complement the surroundings, and a very tranquil cd is usually playing when we come in at night after turndown service....that and the sound of the ocean lulled me to sleep every night! The bathrooms are beautiful and the outdoor shower was a nice treat.

The fitness center is also worth commenting on - it is wonderful! We are also very active people so daily trips to a gym are very important to us, both in daily life and while on vacation, and needless to say this fitness center did not disappoint. It had everything we needed and then some.

The staff is I think what separates this place from others though - always accommodating, always friendly, always passing by with a friendly wave. The General Manager was also very visible during our entire stay, and often would check in and see how we and others were doing. It's nice to see Management that is hands on and available, and more importantly who so outwardly cares about his guests and sees that they are well taken care of. That's a level of service not often seen anymore, but is truly appreciated. Thank you!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieDand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I'd first visited Little Dix in 1985, which was another era in luxury travel, and found it exquisite. Although I'm still fond of it, I find it's competitively at the level it used to be. The bay itself, its beach (and particularly the spa's physical location) are as gorgeous and enjoyable as ever. Rooms are clean (though after some heavy rains many guests, in addition to us, were complaining of a mosquito problem, something not unusual anywhere in any tropics) and well-serviced. The staff was friendly and good, though I think trained not as well as at some other, newer resorts farther south in the Lesser Antilles. Food at the Sugar Mill, Pavilion, and Beach House restaurants was acceptable, but rather four-star hotel fare. I do realize that almost all beverages and all food must be literally shipped into Virgin Gorda, yet does that justify a seventy dollar tab for two club sandwiches and two beers at the Beach House? That might be the going rate at some resorts, but it does give one pause. I feel bad writing a less than stellar review about a place of which I'm fond (enough so to have gone there lately and did enjoy), particularly since the staff was friendly good. But that was my recent experience: good, enjoyable, but not great. One can find the same level of service, scenery, and accommodations at a slightly better value nowadays in Quintana Roo (i.e., the 'Costa Maya' south of Cancun and Tulum) or in Belize and find much better value farther south in the Caribbean or, if one doesn't mind the flight, in Bali, Malaysia's Penang coast, or Thailand's Andaman Coast. I had a good time at Little Dix in 2012, wholeheartedly recommend it to someone who has never been to the Caribbean and wants a short trip from the States, but aren't sure I'll be back when so much more in the world has caught up to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

While getting to Virgin Gorda In the British Virgin Islands is more than a notion, it's worth the effort. We rented a large house on the premises with 4 BR and 5 baths which overlooked Little Dix Bay. The house also had its own pool, which made it quite easy to enjoy the magnificent views. We did utilize the restaurants on a couple of occasions, and the food was superb. Overlooking the bay, most of the facilities are pristine and the service was excellent.

Virgin Gorda has fabulous beaches and the beach associated with the hotel was perfect. I spoke with others staying in other accommodations at the hotel and all had the same opinion; it's a great place for a vacation and they'd come back again. Even after catching 3 planes and a ferry to get there, I too would go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms and homes have views of either the bay, or the pool and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Rosewood Little Dix Bay Resort is truly amazing. We were greeted with Ice cool lemon grass scented towels and rum drink at the boat which was a refreshing way to start a vacation. The staff was amazing waiting on us hand and foot. There are no locks on any of the doors which was a nice surprise. The beach in front of our rooms was perfect for swimming with the sea turtles and lounging. A short boat ride from the resort delivered us at the Bath's... A must see. One day we attended the hotel beach BBQ located near the Baths complete with kettle drums and a game of Limbo. The food is amazing and every meal was perfect. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I just spent 7 beautiful days in paradise. This quiet and secluded resort offers everything one can imagine. From the fabulous staff to the excuisite food; I can not imagine a better place to rest, relax and vacation. We ate at all three restaurants, ordered room service, ordered from the beach staff and also enjoyed an afternoon at the spa. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were surrounded with joyful smiles.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have been given beach villa #25. It is located in the center of the resort. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terre143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
7.3 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
493 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing