We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is expensive. We chose it for that same reason initially because it was Memorial Day weekend and we did not want to end up in a crowded hotel. But the whole experience was great and worth every penny. Our Jr suite was very nice, very private and the outdoor shower was great. The food was ok. They also have great guest service. The best place of the hotel is the spa. It has amazing views of the west coast. Make sure to schedule a visit in the afternoon and watch the sunset from their pool or treatment cabanas. This was the highlight of our trip, will come back and schedule a spa treatment at sunset again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked pretty good too, but if you can afford a Jr suite, go for it. Made all the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famtomerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
179
543
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This island was breathtaking! The resort was amazing. It was a peaceful getaway even though the resort was full we always felt like we were alone. There are free trips to private islands and snorkeling gear also included (you can have them pack you a beach lunch for a small fee). PERFECT GETAWAY!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were able enjoy a stay at Little Dix Bay quite by accidentally. We were staying at a villa in Virgin Gorda in the Nail Bay area when a couple days into our trip major construction began within earshot of the villa. After two days of construction noise we couldn't stand it any longer. We complained to the villa management company and were moved to Little Dix Bay the very next day.

We couldn't have been happier with the change. In retrospect, we wished we had booked LDB for the week rather than the villa in the first place and plan to go back to LDB next year.

The service was the most attentive we have ever experienced in the Caribbean. The entire staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly No request was denied.

The room, a one bedroom suite, was excellent and just steps from the resort's perfect white sand beach. The room included a spacious sitting room, two patios, and a huge bath with double vanity, tub and shower. All was perfect!

The beach was perfect for swimming and had very good snorkeling off of a reef a short swim from the beach. Also, the area between the beach and the reef was teeming with turtles.

The food at the restaurants was very good. We typically are not fans of buffets but the Pavilion dinner buffets were consistently interesting, varied and excellent. My only complaint would be that the food and beverages are a bit pricey for what you get.

Overall, the resort is quiet and peaceful. Just what we want in a beach vacation. We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the one bedroom beachfront suite. Pricey but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We returned to Little Dix and still love it. We were concerned about our room being very close to the Beachside restaurant but it ended up being fine. The staff were wonderful as last time. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good except the Italian night.

Room Tip: We were In #36 and I would suggest asking for something closer to 50 or higher. It wasn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I owe this property a proper review, I just never got around to write about this place. We stay here for an entire week in December, we were able to book a couple of snorkeling trips before we got there, and they were totally worth it. A couple staying there told us they didn't know about those excursions and they were disappointed they were not recommend by the concierge. It was pretty much an all day excursion but they took us to the Indians and the place where they have the sink ship. we also visited Anegada, what Can I say, the ocean was incredible. We also snorkle in front of our hote and got to swim with turtles as well, so beautiful. The room was comfortable and clean, the service was great. The food was as expected in an island, fresh seafood but a little of a challenge in other meals. We also took the ferry from Virgin Gorda to St. Thomas and we played Golf in Mahogany Run Golf couse.. Good place to play golf due to the views, the golf course need to be more manicured. We will totally try to come back to this place but we want to explore other islands in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudillita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have travelled extensively in the caribbean including the Grenadines, this is by the most beautiful island we have visited. Little Dix Bay is beautiful, it is pricey but soooooo worthy every dime, I can't wait to go back. The only negative was the dead bug in the bathroom that remained for two days with the room supposedly being cleaned everyday therefore the three stars for cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivwdlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I did my 1st dive with them & I was so comfortable. This place was peaceful. Later I saw photos from 1969 and the only change was the vegetation has grown over the years. A perfect place to stay in BVI in luxury.

Room Tip: I did not stay here but our friends did. We loved diving & visiting them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunVaLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
20.3 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing