We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven. I haven't stayed anywhere better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven. I haven't stayed anywhere better.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just returned from our second visit to Little Dix Bay. Our first time was 10 years ago and I don't know why we've taken so long to return. We've tried other places - Rosewood Mayakoba, Four Seasons Maui, La Samanna - all which we love - but there is nothing like little dix. Why? 1) the beach setting is like nothing else. It is situated in the most beautiful cove which makes for great swimming and snorkeling. 2) the resort was designed to blend with its natural surroundings. As a result, you feel like you're in a luxury camp rather than a luxury high rise, 3) the grounds are beautifully manicured and lush with great trails, 4) there are only 100 rooms so you feel a great sense of privacy and connection with nature; several times we were the only ones on our side of the beach, 5) the staff is excellent- so caring and kind. We were the guests who switched rooms (for a better view), among other requests, and they were very accommodating. By the end of the trip, many knew our names and were giving us hugs when we left, and 6) the spa is incredible! My husband is discerning when it comes to his massages and loved it. The spa grounds and views are spectacular.

If you're looking to really disconnect and get away from a "scene", this is the place for you. If you prefer a little more action, people watching, access to fine restaurants, butler service, this is not the place for you. Trust me - we love all that to but some times it's nice to really get away and this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBG&JGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    148
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
180
546
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Everything in the hotel was excelent: the island, the location, the peace felt in there, the clear and calmed sea waters, the spa... all of that! The only and very important thing they should pay attention is: the food quality and taste. The food is very bad and the prices are very high.
Days before my arrival at this hotel, I was staying at the Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas. They make you feel as a King and the food quality is superb! Even though, I payed a final check of 700 dollars. Here at Rosewood Little Dix Bay I payed a final check of 1,500 dollars for the same 3 days as the Ritz. Excluding nightly rates in both hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Little Dix Bay is like no resort we have been to in the Caribbean. Food was delicious (coming from a very picky eater) , we hardly left the resort because the food was THAT good!!! The service was excellent, LDB truly has great staff! Everyone was so warm and welcoming. Spa was beautiful - we got the couples retreat which was such a memorable experience!...Our massages were not great but I tried to overlook that.
A HUGE negative for us (which is why I didn't give 5 stars)...... the babies/kids. We were on our honeymoon and we did not want to hear screaming kids on the beach or while we were at dinner. We had to move several times to different lounge chairs to avoid it. I would suggest there should be a "Kids Only" section of the beach or make this an "Adults only" resort. For this reason alone we might visit Peter Island resort next time we are in the B.V.I's.

Room Tip: Second level junior suites had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing, friendly staff make this place! From your early morning coffee to a nightcap LDB offers everything one needs for a fun & relaxing getaway. The beach and crystal clear water are to die for, plenty of space to unwind.
Spa is a must even if you are not a spa person.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First of all let me tell you just arriving at little dix bay is worth it, It really is paradise, absolutely beautiful. The resort has a very laid back and relaxed feeling. There is always a place to sit or tan at the beach; it feels like you are in your private island. The bay offers calm waters perfect for children, also many fee activities like kayaking, paddling, hobby-cats, transport to different islands for snorkeling. Everyday you get a newsletter of activities of the day. There are three restaurants; I personally liked the one on the beach the best. The others I found very expensive with medium quality food, a buffet dinner was 70-100$ per person, and was no more than ordinary. Still found it more convenient to eat in since I have a two year old.The staff was very helpfull and nice with my daughter. I really enjoyed my 5 day stay, would have liked a longer stay. I think your paying for a piece of almost private paradise although some things like the restaurants could use some improvements.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tishcadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I so love LDB. My husband and I have been coming regularly for the past 20+ years. Some things have changed (telephone's in the room,air conditioning, children are allowed, a swimming pool - please not a second one!), some things have remained the same (no televisions, beautiful, simple but also luxurious resort, peaceful, wonderful staff who know us by name). We couldn't be happier with this home away from home.

The only negative, and it is a negative for me, is the food. I find it quite mediocre. Over several recent visits, we noted some improvement toward the level of cuisine one would want at such a special place. But, this year, quality has slipped back. Lunches at the beach grill and breakfasts are fine. But, dinners, especially entrees, were generally disappointing. This is the one area that cries out for improvement.

Not withstanding, we've already made reservations for our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited Little Dix for drinks one night as the sun was setting and we were blown away!
The staff were so welcoming -
The grounds were beautiful -
The views were amazing -
The drinks were tasty -
And the desire to return and spend some time here on the beach and grounds was obvious!
I'm sure it's quite pricey but it looks perfect for a special celebration!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryandisabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
7.3 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing