We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to kill time”
Review of Virgin Gorda Peak

Virgin Gorda Peak
Book In Advance
More Info
US$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
More Info
US$1,407.40*
and up
8-Day Sightseeing Cruise to the British Virgin Islands and US Virgin Islands
Ranked #10 of 31 things to do in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's even a tower on Virgin Gorda's highest peak to enhance the breathtaking and dizzying panorama.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you need to kill time”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hike is about 50 minutes round trip and not difficult, although you do need sneakers. Not much to see except a couple lizards. There is a platform at the top of the trail with good views, better views from Hog Heaven. Worth it if you have an hour to kill but otherwise can be skipped.

Helpful?
Thank Lcameron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy hike, breathtaking views at the top”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hike was very easy I did the long one with my two year old on my back almost all the way up, and I dont excerize so you can imagine it wasnt that challenging. During the walk there is nothing to see, but the view from the top makes it worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tishcadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Photo Spot on the top at the Bar”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great break from the boat. Keep an eye our for little lizards. Great view from the top for photos. The bar has a pool to cool off in - you will need it. We had 8 to 80 year olds make the hike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hike to a famous view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We hiked this trail up to Gorda Peak with the kids. It is a good hike up the hill, so wear good shoes. It is totally worth it, because the view is stunning at the top! A great morning with the kids

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThetravelingGermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Take the long way up”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We like to hike and it was good to find some nice trails on Virgin Gorda where the emphasis is generally on water sports. There are two routes to the top of Gorda Peak and we took the long way which was only about 30 min or so for us. This was the route without stairs at the beginning. When driving up the road from the south we stopped at the first sign that announced we were at Gorda Peak and there was a small, very rough driveway into a small clearing where we could park our Jimny in the shade. The sign said it would take 50 min to the top of the peak but the hike was definitely not that long for someone in decent shape. The path was generally pretty easy to walk but there were some spots where you climb up and down boulders. Not a big deal but they are there. At the top was a wooden platform with a skinny steep ladder leading up. The climb was worth it because the view was spectacular. A full 360 degree view of all parts of VG and all the way out to Anegada. The best views are of North Sound. We did see the other entrance after we hiked down and drove further up the road. We weren't sorry that we took the long way. We did see some birds along the way and we think we spotted the smallish Virgin Gorda Gecko a time or two. Some assorted lizards and that was about it. Not to be missed attraction.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virgin Gorda Peak also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
 

Been to Virgin Gorda Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing