We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the quick hike”
Review of Virgin Gorda Peak

Virgin Gorda Peak
Book In Advance
More Info
US$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
More Info
US$1,407.40*
and up
8-Day Sightseeing Cruise to the British Virgin Islands and US Virgin Islands
Ranked #10 of 31 things to do in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's even a tower on Virgin Gorda's highest peak to enhance the breathtaking and dizzying panorama.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the quick hike”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We almost skipped this stop on our self-tour of Virgin Gorda. First, there is no formal parking spots for the trail up to the peak. We were told to just park anywhere along the road, which made us a bit nervous since the trailhead is located on a very busy stretch of road coming over the peak.

The sign says it is a 25 minute hike to the lookout and I would agree with that estimate. We made it a little quicker, but we were rushing to meet our ferry time. The lookout is a series of short wooden ladders up to a deck-like lookout. The entire wooden structure is well-constructed and very stable. The views were amazing - basically 360 degrees. However, they weren't that much better than you get from some of the lookouts along the road.

Overall, I'm very happy we stopped at the lookout, but wouldn't do it again if it meant taking a later ferry. The views from the lookouts/pull-offs are great and so is the view from Hog Heaven.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2playgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you need to kill time”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hike is about 50 minutes round trip and not difficult, although you do need sneakers. Not much to see except a couple lizards. There is a platform at the top of the trail with good views, better views from Hog Heaven. Worth it if you have an hour to kill but otherwise can be skipped.

Helpful?
Thank Lcameron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy hike, breathtaking views at the top”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hike was very easy I did the long one with my two year old on my back almost all the way up, and I dont excerize so you can imagine it wasnt that challenging. During the walk there is nothing to see, but the view from the top makes it worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tishcadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Photo Spot on the top at the Bar”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great break from the boat. Keep an eye our for little lizards. Great view from the top for photos. The bar has a pool to cool off in - you will need it. We had 8 to 80 year olds make the hike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hike to a famous view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We hiked this trail up to Gorda Peak with the kids. It is a good hike up the hill, so wear good shoes. It is totally worth it, because the view is stunning at the top! A great morning with the kids

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThetravelingGermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virgin Gorda Peak also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
 

Been to Virgin Gorda Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing