We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful unspoiled beach”
Review of Savannah Bay

Savannah Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virgin Gorda's loveliest beach is a long strand of powdery white coastline lapped by placid waters.
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful unspoiled beach”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the best things about Virgin Gorda is that you can literally drive around the entire island and experience a ton of beaches, coves and snorkel spots. Savannah Bay is the gateway to the North Sound, which now has a real road (vs. dirt road) around it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    40
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vacant”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Beautiful beach with very few people. We took the shuttle to/from LDB although you could make the 30 minute hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank activefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A dramatic Caribbean beach!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent several days enjoying Savannah Bay Beach, and even though it is just off the main road on Virgin Gorda we were almost alone on this long sweep of beach. This is a perfect place to relax with a fabulous view of the island wrapped around you, and the calm Caribbean waters and nearby islands. The water here is very calm and not too deep until you get a good distance from the shore, but deep enough to immerse yourself and cool off from the hot sun. This is also a good snorkeling spot, though we only ever saw a few snorkelers at any one time. This beach features a few "palapas" which provide shade, but some of them require a steep climb up the sand embankment to reach. Enjoy Savannah Bay Beach and make it your own Caribbean spot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best beach on Virgin Gorda”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the beach to come to if you want to sun bathe, relax, and enjoy gorgeous clear waters. Its what you see out of magazines. One of my top 3 beaches.

There is a look out point at the top of the hill coming from Spanish town. From there go down the hill and on your left there will be a dirt road. Don't worry its a bit bumpy but even a car can easily make the 1/4 trek. This will lead you right to the beachfront.

We went twice, each time only 2 or 3 other couples were there. Granted we went in early August which was there off season. Bring a gopro with a clear case and you'll be amazing at the exotic fish you'll see swimming around. I saw some people snorkling but not sure if this is the ideal spot for it. There are some spots for shade. And even a BBQ pit. Simply a gorgeous beach to relax and forget about it all. Bring your own drinks, food etc, there are no facilities near by.

I made a little video from my Cell Phone. Cut and paste into your browser and enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tN_P6f8HXHQ

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RalphyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, KY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Short walk to beach”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Can drive right up to beach, beautiful wide beach. You can walk out 20 yards and see the wonderful ocean floor. Lots of rocks and coral with all the colors, you can float for hours plus nice shady spots to sit on beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank douglass1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savannah Bay also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Savannah Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing