We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit as good as the 1st!”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2nd Visit as good as the 1st!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at Mango Bay from 11-13 November 2011. This was our 2nd stay. We were lucky enough to have the Ocean Front suite #14, where we were literally 5 steps from the water. The accomodations were modern, immaculately clean, and well ventilated. The air conditioning was so cold in the bedroom that we nearly froze the first night (fine with me!) -- although we really didn't even need it on, we just like sleeping in cold air. The weather was lovely, always a nice breeze. We saw a sea turtle and lots of marine life while snorkeling right off the beach from our villa. Mango Bay once again captured our hearts and solidified our future return. It is so wonderful to be on a secluded, quiet, and breath-taking beach in the BVIs. Mango Bay is perfect!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front #14 and Ocean view #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FELSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    66
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
186
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My parents and husband and I stayed at Mango Bay last Spring. We had been to Virgin Gorda a few times before so were familiar with the island. We decided on a last minute trip to Virgin Gorda from St. Thomas and could not have been happier with our decision. We have traveled to many different islands and stayed in a variety of accommodations, and Mango Bay is by far amongst the top. From Gino's hospitality to the amazing beachfront location, Mango Bay is a true gem.
We stayed in a two bedroom that was less than 2 minute walk to the beach. Everything was extremely clean and we loved the outdoor kitchen. As others have said, there are no restaurants on site, but several are within a short drive away. We rented a car during our stay from L & S rentals, which was so reasonable and convenient. The company will drop off and pick up the car wherever you are on island. We absolutely loved exploring the many secluded beaches on the island and taking the free ferry over to the Bitter End Yacht Club for happy hour. I do have to say though that the beach right in front of the hotel is one of the most gorgeous I have seen and you basically have it all to yourself. The resort offers complimentary kayaks, snorkeling equipment, and floats. We really enjoyed snorkeling right in front of the beach, and although there were not a ton of fish, we did see three turtles! The only negative we experienced during our stay was the abundance of mosquitos on the patio. We would definitely recommend bringing bug spray and not leaving the slider open the so the bugs do not come inside.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Mango Bay and would recommend for anyone looking for a quiet and beautiful place to vacation. We look forward to heading back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank llitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay last week of May taking advantage of the car/dinner package. I do recommend the package. What we did not know was that this was the rainy season. Our fault for not looking at weather patterns for this trip like we usually do. By itself, a little rain wasn't any big deal. Downside was very high humidity, I joked with my wife that it was almost like sleeping in a sponge, the humidity was so high. The AC worked great in the bedroom, but struggled a bit to keep up with the moisture. But need to keep in mind that this is an island and you are on the beach. We also live in a very dry climate so we're not acustom to lots of moist air. Second downside aspect contributed to by the rain was the mosquitos. Lots of the them and the only reason I don't rate the resort as Excellent. There were several areas of standing water nearby, a haven for those guys, and they were very hungry and distracking. I doubt if they do any spraying for mosquitoes. Evertwhere I went I kept hearing that it was an unusually bad for mosquitoes. After the 1st night we picked up some mosquito coils from the store. They really helped. We sprayed ourselves liberally as well, especially when we wondered elsewhere on the island. The Mosquitos were not limited to the resort. It would have been a nice gesture for the resort to provide the coils. Take away the mosquitos and add a little more breeze, this really would have been a little taste of heaven. Location could not be any better. We stayed in #104 which is probably the most private suite they have. About 25 feet off your covered patio was beautiful calm blue caribbean water. My wife spent hours snorkeling in the bay and I spent hours relaxing to the sounds of the waves and amazing views, and all from the cozy homebase of our suite.

Care of the room was excellent. Very clean. Screens are a bit tired which made keeping the mosquitoes out of the room nearly impossible. Fresh flowers were a very nice touch. Our thanks to Gino for running a tight ship and contributing to a wonderful vacation.

We would go back, but not during rainy season.

We also visited the Bathes. Heed the advice to go early. We did, arriving before everything opened up, but not early enough. We'd been there 15 minutes when it started to get crowded.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MarkandDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My fiance and i visited Virgin Gordo last December (2010) and stayed at 2 resorts, Mango Bay being one of them. We abosutely loved it. The owners/hosts are also very accomodating and laid back.

Amazing villa's for a quiet time and relaxing time. Lots to do during the day, including relaxing on the beach, hammock, snokelling (ask the office for the best spots to snorkel...they know their beach front well!..also they will lend you gear).

Beachfront unit: We were greeted with flowers from the garden everywhere..and nice way to enter your temp "home" away from home. The villa is very clean, with air conditioning, large sitting area, large washrooms and a big clean bedroom. The fridge is inside, and the kitchen, stove, and dining table are on the deck..which is really nice for eating meals. There's also very comfy patio/sofa chairs on the deck to relax in (our was occupied at night by a cat..which hung out with us for our duration) and a foot bucket that's cleaned and filled each day by the maids, as well as an outdoor shower (these are essential). The garden are nicely done with shrubbery and flowers and it's very quiet, with the beach about 10 feet away.

There are only 2 drawbacks.
1. during time we were there were sandfleas (only by the beach) were biting like crazy. We found out after (and counter-intuitively) that if you use a heavy amount of cologne or perfume, they will stay away ..not less cologne like we thought would be better).
2. Since you are in a bay that is below the mountain tops, you tend to lose a bit of the sun in the evening..not a lot..but it goes down pretty fast.

We would and will definitely go back!

pete k.

Room Tip: Call them regarding deals with a car rental or for low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pete_k3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our stay was consistent with other reviews. We stayed in a garden room, about 150 level feet to the water. Very quiet. The I BR suite was huge - large BR with a comfortable bed, separate tub, shower, toilet and bidet, full kitchen, table for 4, and two sofas that could easily double as twin beds. Everything was from IKEA. A/C was only in the BR, but would work its way to the front if left on. First place I've stayed where there were no keys. I guess you're in the middle of nowhere, but I still usually put my computer, iPad and cash in the large safe when we went out.

Wonderful snorkeling off the beach, especially towards the north end. Common to see turtles and lobsters, as well as the usual reef fish. The resort will lend you equipment at no cost, but you get what you pay for (wife had to go through 4 snorkels before she found one that didn't leak). There also are lounges, floats, and kayaks for use at no extra cost. No pool on site. WiFi worked in the room. Front desk only there from 9-5.

No restaurant on site. We enjoyed the Sugar Mill at Nail Bay, The Mine Shaft, and the Rock. We were glad we rented a car, since we liked the flexibility of coming and going as we pleased. The roads are newer and generally better than on Tortola.

The only downside is getting to and from VG - it's a real pain to take 2 ferrys back to St. Thomas, especially when you can't always rely on the schedules. But its remoteness means that people who go there really want to be there, and will generally like it.

Room Tip: Book small garden room and request and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Pros: Amazing views with beach right outside on waterfront studio, amazing sunsets, kitchen
Cons: No shampoo, ANTS.

We had a June deal: Stay 3 nights, get the 4th free. Took a beachfront with that deal.

In our beachfront unit, we had to put everything in the fridge or freezer and needed to rinse off all plates and glasses. Ants were in our unit all the time, mostly on the counter area. They did come and spray them the first day, but they were back. The ants were more of a pain then anything else. If you lock all your food up and clean your crumbs, they generally wont be around, just on the wall. Bathroom windows are a little low. Had to put towel up over one window for extra privacy (i didn't care but wife did).

Food: No restaurants. Need to go shopping in town to buy groceries or you can eat out every meal. There is a stove, toaster oven, microwave for cooking. If you dont rent a car, a Taxi ride is needed to go anywhere, which is generally $5-$6 per person. Bags are extra and late night taxi ride is extra.

Security: No locks on unit. We had no problems with anyone going in our unit, but it would be nice if there was some sort of lock for when you are gone. There is a decent size safe in the bedroom.

Kitchen: Since there aren't restaurants near by, you can buy food and save some money. We ate out for lunch and cooked dinner except our last night as we went out for dinner. Food is cheaper and more selection at Rosy's supermarket. We also had some complimentary food in the fridge including cheese, crackers, whole milk, oj, bottled water, apples, pears and tea.

Rooms: Clean and pretty modern. Hibiscus flower tucked in every towel when we arrived. Manager / Owner gave tour of room on arrival. Fresh beach towels every day. Change of foot wash water every day.

WiFi: Works but a bit slow.

Water Equipment: Kayak, float rafts, and snorkel equipment are free to use. The rafts are great for snorkeling and laying on top because the reef is in shallow water and it would be very difficult to swim over or around it.

Conclusion: Would likely return if we go back to Virgin Gorda. Even though the ants were annoying, I would still go back if we could get a beachfront again. Cant beat walking out 20 feet and getting in the water with amazing sunsets and basically nobody on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheDave1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

You can't get any closer to the beach / ocean than Mango Bay. We stayed a week ocean front, and the view and beach are increidble. The suites are very comfortable and reasonable. Gino is great to work with and made our stay very enjoyable. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cooch366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
2.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
98 reviews
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
178 reviews
8.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 25 in Tortola
643 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing