We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, secluded resort”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Mango Bay for 7 days in October of 2010 (low season). Location was beautiful, the grounds maintained very nicely and the beach had very little traffic. We were usually 2 of maybe 5-6 total people on the beach at most times and many times the only two on the beach. Geno was great! He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and make a few calls to assist with our trip back to Tortola. We had originally wanted a 1bd ocean front villa but they were booked so we settled for an ocean view. When we got there, Geno upgraded us to a 2bd ocean front suit since it was unoccupied. The villa was pretty nice, lots of room, outdoor kitchen, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and only a few short steps from the water. We spent lots of time swimming and snorkeling right out in front of the resort.
We did have a couple of small issues:
1.) Had a bit of a mosquito problem inside the villa. The screen door had a bit of a gap in the frame so the mosquitoes (which were very numerous) were getting into the villa. We solved the issue with a couple citronella candles and a bit of duct tape over the gap.
2.) Kayaks were a bit dated and beat up. We ended up in a 2 person that had a crack we didn’t notice. Let’s just say it made for an interesting swim back to shore.

The issues were very minor and overall we were extremely happy with our stay. We are hoping we will make it back to this wonderful resort some day in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank malikimkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed from 12/13-12/16 and were in Garden View #3. Great accomodations for the price, great private beach, great service. The garden view was within steps from the beach and you could definitely hear the waves every night. Beautiful secluded location, we rented and recommend renting a Jeep while you are in the area. We stayed in St. Thomas, Tortola, and Virgin Gorda during our trip, and this was definitely our favorite stop/accomodations.
Thank you so much Gino and crew for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at Mango for 7 days - December 10-17, 2011. This was our second time to Virgin Gorda, but first at Mango Bay. I wanted to stay here because we loved the Mahoe Bay area, but being just the two of us couldn't justify the cost of the villas. We took advantage of the "Tropical Tranquility" package and felt it was a very good deal, with the car, massage, and dinner included. We like to drive around and explore the island, so we really enjoyed having the car. Our room was basic, but very clean and had everything we needed. It had rained heavily before we arrived, so as others have said, mosquitos were bad. However, we kept the bedroom door closed and the AC running on low at all times and were able to keep them out of there so we could rest in the evening. Mosquito coils, plus citronella candles purchased inexpensively at Bucks, plus some Off worked pretty well to keep most of the mosquitos away. Snorkeling is fabulous right outside your door and our unit was 15 steps from the porch to the water - heaven for me!!! When we return to VG, we will again be staying at Mango Bay. BTW...check out the Hog Heaven BBQ restaurant just up the road - it was great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lhbsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay resort for a few days in the beginning of December and it was as beautiful and calming as ever. We have stayed here many times over the years and after trying Anguilla, St. Thomas, etc, etc, we keep coming back to Mango Bay.
It has one of the best beaches on the island and is mostly very private. Gino is the ultimate host and a real asset to the Resort.
If you want a party atmosphere, then go elsewhere and leave this spot for those of us that want relaxation!
Great place, great staff, reasonable prices!
Dan and Vivian

Room Tip: The garden suite is great, # 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at Mango Bay from 11-13 November 2011. This was our 2nd stay. We were lucky enough to have the Ocean Front suite #14, where we were literally 5 steps from the water. The accomodations were modern, immaculately clean, and well ventilated. The air conditioning was so cold in the bedroom that we nearly froze the first night (fine with me!) -- although we really didn't even need it on, we just like sleeping in cold air. The weather was lovely, always a nice breeze. We saw a sea turtle and lots of marine life while snorkeling right off the beach from our villa. Mango Bay once again captured our hearts and solidified our future return. It is so wonderful to be on a secluded, quiet, and breath-taking beach in the BVIs. Mango Bay is perfect!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front #14 and Ocean view #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FELSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My parents and husband and I stayed at Mango Bay last Spring. We had been to Virgin Gorda a few times before so were familiar with the island. We decided on a last minute trip to Virgin Gorda from St. Thomas and could not have been happier with our decision. We have traveled to many different islands and stayed in a variety of accommodations, and Mango Bay is by far amongst the top. From Gino's hospitality to the amazing beachfront location, Mango Bay is a true gem.
We stayed in a two bedroom that was less than 2 minute walk to the beach. Everything was extremely clean and we loved the outdoor kitchen. As others have said, there are no restaurants on site, but several are within a short drive away. We rented a car during our stay from L & S rentals, which was so reasonable and convenient. The company will drop off and pick up the car wherever you are on island. We absolutely loved exploring the many secluded beaches on the island and taking the free ferry over to the Bitter End Yacht Club for happy hour. I do have to say though that the beach right in front of the hotel is one of the most gorgeous I have seen and you basically have it all to yourself. The resort offers complimentary kayaks, snorkeling equipment, and floats. We really enjoyed snorkeling right in front of the beach, and although there were not a ton of fish, we did see three turtles! The only negative we experienced during our stay was the abundance of mosquitos on the patio. We would definitely recommend bringing bug spray and not leaving the slider open the so the bugs do not come inside.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Mango Bay and would recommend for anyone looking for a quiet and beautiful place to vacation. We look forward to heading back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank llitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay last week of May taking advantage of the car/dinner package. I do recommend the package. What we did not know was that this was the rainy season. Our fault for not looking at weather patterns for this trip like we usually do. By itself, a little rain wasn't any big deal. Downside was very high humidity, I joked with my wife that it was almost like sleeping in a sponge, the humidity was so high. The AC worked great in the bedroom, but struggled a bit to keep up with the moisture. But need to keep in mind that this is an island and you are on the beach. We also live in a very dry climate so we're not acustom to lots of moist air. Second downside aspect contributed to by the rain was the mosquitos. Lots of the them and the only reason I don't rate the resort as Excellent. There were several areas of standing water nearby, a haven for those guys, and they were very hungry and distracking. I doubt if they do any spraying for mosquitoes. Evertwhere I went I kept hearing that it was an unusually bad for mosquitoes. After the 1st night we picked up some mosquito coils from the store. They really helped. We sprayed ourselves liberally as well, especially when we wondered elsewhere on the island. The Mosquitos were not limited to the resort. It would have been a nice gesture for the resort to provide the coils. Take away the mosquitos and add a little more breeze, this really would have been a little taste of heaven. Location could not be any better. We stayed in #104 which is probably the most private suite they have. About 25 feet off your covered patio was beautiful calm blue caribbean water. My wife spent hours snorkeling in the bay and I spent hours relaxing to the sounds of the waves and amazing views, and all from the cozy homebase of our suite.

Care of the room was excellent. Very clean. Screens are a bit tired which made keeping the mosquitoes out of the room nearly impossible. Fresh flowers were a very nice touch. Our thanks to Gino for running a tight ship and contributing to a wonderful vacation.

We would go back, but not during rainy season.

We also visited the Bathes. Heed the advice to go early. We did, arriving before everything opened up, but not early enough. We'd been there 15 minutes when it started to get crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MarkandDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
8.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £75 - £665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing