We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away!”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Get-Away!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, safe and clean villa/condo to rent then this is an excellent option. We arrived late in the evening by ferry. Gino at Mango Bay had arranged to have a rental car waiting for us waiting at the ferry dock, and he had the rental car rep lead the way to the hotel so we didn't have any trouble finding the place. It was only a 10 minute ride from the ferry - right outside of Spanish Town - to the resort. After a quick check-in, Gino led the way to our Garden Studio unit. The unit was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Gino then showed us to the beach, and was happy to provide us with some good dinner options when we told him we were anxious to eat dinner.

We enjoyed relaxing at the beach and using the snorkel gear and sea kayak that the resort provided. Snorkeling at this beach was very good! Also, you can't beat the view of the sunset there. Typically, I like to spend most of my vacation time exploring my surroundings, rather than sitting at a resort, but we liked this place so much that we ended up spending most of our afternoons there. I found myself wanting to stay longer when our vacation was drawing to a close.

My only complaint would be that there isn't any restaurant or beverage service at the beach or to the units. I believe they may arrange a meal for you ahead of time, but if you haven't thought too far in advance, then you have to drive somewhere if you want to have a meal prepared for you. Also, since this is truly like renting a condo/villa, there is no coffee, shampoo, or conditioner, etc. provided. You have to stock up on things before you get there!

Room Tip: Garden Studios are just a few steps from the beach, so if you want to save some money, the Garden St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chethoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    66
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
185
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Mango Bay for 7 days in October of 2010 (low season). Location was beautiful, the grounds maintained very nicely and the beach had very little traffic. We were usually 2 of maybe 5-6 total people on the beach at most times and many times the only two on the beach. Geno was great! He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and make a few calls to assist with our trip back to Tortola. We had originally wanted a 1bd ocean front villa but they were booked so we settled for an ocean view. When we got there, Geno upgraded us to a 2bd ocean front suit since it was unoccupied. The villa was pretty nice, lots of room, outdoor kitchen, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and only a few short steps from the water. We spent lots of time swimming and snorkeling right out in front of the resort.
We did have a couple of small issues:
1.) Had a bit of a mosquito problem inside the villa. The screen door had a bit of a gap in the frame so the mosquitoes (which were very numerous) were getting into the villa. We solved the issue with a couple citronella candles and a bit of duct tape over the gap.
2.) Kayaks were a bit dated and beat up. We ended up in a 2 person that had a crack we didn’t notice. Let’s just say it made for an interesting swim back to shore.

The issues were very minor and overall we were extremely happy with our stay. We are hoping we will make it back to this wonderful resort some day in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank malikimkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed from 12/13-12/16 and were in Garden View #3. Great accomodations for the price, great private beach, great service. The garden view was within steps from the beach and you could definitely hear the waves every night. Beautiful secluded location, we rented and recommend renting a Jeep while you are in the area. We stayed in St. Thomas, Tortola, and Virgin Gorda during our trip, and this was definitely our favorite stop/accomodations.
Thank you so much Gino and crew for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at Mango for 7 days - December 10-17, 2011. This was our second time to Virgin Gorda, but first at Mango Bay. I wanted to stay here because we loved the Mahoe Bay area, but being just the two of us couldn't justify the cost of the villas. We took advantage of the "Tropical Tranquility" package and felt it was a very good deal, with the car, massage, and dinner included. We like to drive around and explore the island, so we really enjoyed having the car. Our room was basic, but very clean and had everything we needed. It had rained heavily before we arrived, so as others have said, mosquitos were bad. However, we kept the bedroom door closed and the AC running on low at all times and were able to keep them out of there so we could rest in the evening. Mosquito coils, plus citronella candles purchased inexpensively at Bucks, plus some Off worked pretty well to keep most of the mosquitos away. Snorkeling is fabulous right outside your door and our unit was 15 steps from the porch to the water - heaven for me!!! When we return to VG, we will again be staying at Mango Bay. BTW...check out the Hog Heaven BBQ restaurant just up the road - it was great!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lhbsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay resort for a few days in the beginning of December and it was as beautiful and calming as ever. We have stayed here many times over the years and after trying Anguilla, St. Thomas, etc, etc, we keep coming back to Mango Bay.
It has one of the best beaches on the island and is mostly very private. Gino is the ultimate host and a real asset to the Resort.
If you want a party atmosphere, then go elsewhere and leave this spot for those of us that want relaxation!
Great place, great staff, reasonable prices!
Dan and Vivian

Room Tip: The garden suite is great, # 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at Mango Bay from 11-13 November 2011. This was our 2nd stay. We were lucky enough to have the Ocean Front suite #14, where we were literally 5 steps from the water. The accomodations were modern, immaculately clean, and well ventilated. The air conditioning was so cold in the bedroom that we nearly froze the first night (fine with me!) -- although we really didn't even need it on, we just like sleeping in cold air. The weather was lovely, always a nice breeze. We saw a sea turtle and lots of marine life while snorkeling right off the beach from our villa. Mango Bay once again captured our hearts and solidified our future return. It is so wonderful to be on a secluded, quiet, and breath-taking beach in the BVIs. Mango Bay is perfect!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front #14 and Ocean view #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FELSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My parents and husband and I stayed at Mango Bay last Spring. We had been to Virgin Gorda a few times before so were familiar with the island. We decided on a last minute trip to Virgin Gorda from St. Thomas and could not have been happier with our decision. We have traveled to many different islands and stayed in a variety of accommodations, and Mango Bay is by far amongst the top. From Gino's hospitality to the amazing beachfront location, Mango Bay is a true gem.
We stayed in a two bedroom that was less than 2 minute walk to the beach. Everything was extremely clean and we loved the outdoor kitchen. As others have said, there are no restaurants on site, but several are within a short drive away. We rented a car during our stay from L & S rentals, which was so reasonable and convenient. The company will drop off and pick up the car wherever you are on island. We absolutely loved exploring the many secluded beaches on the island and taking the free ferry over to the Bitter End Yacht Club for happy hour. I do have to say though that the beach right in front of the hotel is one of the most gorgeous I have seen and you basically have it all to yourself. The resort offers complimentary kayaks, snorkeling equipment, and floats. We really enjoyed snorkeling right in front of the beach, and although there were not a ton of fish, we did see three turtles! The only negative we experienced during our stay was the abundance of mosquitos on the patio. We would definitely recommend bringing bug spray and not leaving the slider open the so the bugs do not come inside.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Mango Bay and would recommend for anyone looking for a quiet and beautiful place to vacation. We look forward to heading back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank llitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing