We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy [--]!!!!!”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holy [--]!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

What a peaceful place to stay. The beach was amazing as well as the sunsets!!!! You can snorkel, Kayak float in the water or just drink on the beach!!!! You will need a car because there are no restaurants to walk to but they have kitchens for you to cook in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    66
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
59
186
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

"Oh my god" is what we both said when we saw our accommodations. We originally had an ocean view, but found out we had been upgraded to an ocean front at no charge when we arrived. Im sure the ocean view is amazing, but the ocean front was just mind blowing incredible. I couldnt imagine a more gorgeous arrangement. We had earlier stayed at a villa on a hill at St john with an amazing view of most of the islands and I think this blows it away. The suite was great, the beach is incredible with decent snorkeling 20 ft off shore and the view is awesome. Now there are a few cons, such as mosquitos (which some with any beach front place), wifi a bit spotty, no restaurant/bar onsite, bed was actually 2 fulls pushed together, and the light on the ac was a bit bright, though none of these had any impact on our enjoyment. The only thing I would recommend the staff change is the bed situation, seems it would be easy to put in an actual queen or king, and I am guessing that is the case in most of the other rooms. Still, all around the place is incredible, amazing location, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, I would def go back in a heartbeat and we were both pretty sad about having to leave. I highly recommend, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: beach front, worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tristan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Mango Bay is so incredibly beautiful! We love kayaking and snorkeling there but we also enjoy just sitting on the comfy chairs on the covered patio. it's so relaxing to watch the gentle waters lapping on the shore. Gino and his wonderful staff make us feel at home. Our favorite thing of all is kayaking out to the little sand spit, beaching the kayaks and snorkeling off the shore. It's also fun to kayak to Savannah Beach. Since I have back issues I also appreciate the comfortable mattress toppers on the beds that assure a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sjmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayBVI, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hello Sjmajor! We are very happy to know that you have found a second us with us at Mango Bay Resort. Our hard work definitely pays off when we read great reviews such as yours. We hope to see you soon!

- Mango Bay Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

First, let me say that the resort is very nice, and one of the few places on the island where you can have a villa on the sand without the need to climb 100 stairs up and down to reach the beach. The units are spacious and well equipped, the landscaping is lush and beautiful. You may rarely see your neighbors, but you tend to hear them since most of the rooms have French doors with nets, and there is no sound insulation. Gino, the manager, is very helpful and welcoming, too. However, we rented the place because it was on Mahoe Bay - a place where we read there was a spectacular reef accessible right from the beach. The reef is vast and starts right off the beach - that is true. Except that it is dead!!! On the first day we went snorkeling and explored it far and wide, we saw maybe 20 fish TOTAL. No sea urchins either. The reef looks like it is covered with ashes, with very few living corals rising like ghosts amidst the graveyard. This was a great disappointment, and the reason why we won't be back for sure.

However, fortunately, there are other places on the island where views are spectacular (the Baths, in particular), and snorkeling is decent. You may also want to go on a full day snorkeling trip to Norman island and the Caves for a really great snorkeling experience.

You DO need to have a rental car for the whole stay on the island because even though they say that this is a tiny island, and everything is nearby, we never drove less than 10 minutes to a restaurant, an attraction, a ferry, a grocery store, or a beach with reasonably good snorkeling. You cannot walk anywhere. Driving on the wrong side of the road proved to be not bad at all. We rented from L&S rentals, and they accompanied us from the ferry terminal all the way to the resort to show us the way - very friendly service.

A word of caution on getting to Virgin Gorda: if you fly into St. Thomas, by all means try to catch a direct ferry to Virgin Gorda, and DON'T go through Tortolla unless you want to feel like you are in a herd of cattle, and are treated likewise. Ferries from St. Thomas are often running late, so if you are not sure whether you missed your ferry, but it is a little past their departure time, don't trust your taxi driver (ours lied, and cost us about $120 extra in travel fees, about 4 extra hours of travel and enormous stress), and check for yourself if the ferry has left. People on Virgin Gorda can generally be trusted, but St. Thomas is a whole different story.

One other thing which was odd to us: there is NO local produce on the island. No locally grown tropical fruit whatsoever. We were told that this is because British Virgin Islands are an offshore heaven, and the local population has great income from 850,000 off-shore companies registered there, and is not inclined to work hard on anything (farming included). We were also told that even the "catch of the day" in any local restaurant was likely delivered there frozen from the US. Locals don't even bother to fish. We did not see any fishing boats anywhere for sure, and the odd thing was that there were NO SEAGULLS anywhere - just a few pelicans.

Overall, we don't regret going there - the views were spectacular! But we see no reason to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Oh2BTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayBVI, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hello Oh2Btravelling! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our property and surroundings. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the snorkeling experience you were seeking. If you ever come back allow us to arrange for a proper scuba and snorkeling experience where you can see everything from beautiful turtles to colorful fish. We hope to see you soon!

- Mango Bay Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was our second time at Mango Bay. Even better than last year. We stayed for 2 weeks. Gino, the manager, handled all our requests with a smile. Very accommodating. The beach lounge chairs and water mats had been replaced with new ones. Our one bedroom unit was wonderful, staff kept the rooms immaculate with lots of fresh towels and fresh flowers. The beautiful beach and easy snorkeling access and the lush grounds more than makes up for the lack of a restaurant or gym.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sharon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayBVI, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hello Sharon,

It sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay with us and we are HAPPY to hear that!
Hopefully, we will see you for a third time and many more after that. Thank you for taking the time to review Mango Bay Resort.

Warm regards,

-Mango Bay Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We arrived to our combined 3-BR unit (2 combined units) after dark, but staff waited for our late arrival. We were blown away from the beauty and spaciousness of our unit. The unit and the grounds seemed surreal right from the start, like we were visiting one of those resorts you've only seen pictures of in travel magazines.

In the morning, we saw the full beauty of the resort. The beach was right off a postcard. The gardens clean and filled with flora and palms. The rooms themselves light and airy and spacious.

The folks from Mango Bay met all of our requests and had all of our notes down; expected arrival time, twin beds set up, etc.

As far as Virgin Gorda, one of the most beautiful, remote, relaxed, beautiful places I've ever been. We'll be back, and we'll be sure to stay at MBR.

Room Tip: Garden View Rooms are a great deal; while I'd love to stay on the beach, you are just a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argentina
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We arrived at Virgin Gorda from Tortola by ferry. We take the car we booked via Mango Bay, and went in search of the hotel.

Describe the Mango Bay Resort is a bit complicated. No lobby, no pool, no restaurant, no breakfast served, and there is one old CRT TV that did not work so well, even the suites have no doors.

However, it is one of the best places we've ever stayed. Our cottage, with sea view, was more than comfortable, nicely furnished, everything in perfect order and cleanliness. The only drawback, which is not the fault of the hotel, is the fierce struggle against mosquitoes, which do not let up.

Speaking of the beach and the sea does not make sense, few places can be at their level. The calm and clear cristal water allow spend hours snorkeling or just walking around to get some tan.

Virgin Gorda is a tiny island in the middle of the Caribbean Sea, which is accessible only by water. As there are few people and little tourism, there are few hotels and few restaurants. I recommend dinner at Giorgio and The Rock, have very good food and not expensive. Instead let us down Chez Bamboo.

A must see is The Baths, a rock formation on the seashore seems to another planet. The interior of the island it´s wanderfull, with well manteined roads going up and down, with magnificents views of Caribbean Sea and surrounding islands.

Special mention to Gino, who greeted us with kindness and courtesy, and always ready for any question that occurred.

To conclude, I wish that no one is really interested in going to this remote corner of the Caribbean, it’s so beautiful, quiet, sunny and off the beaten track, so please don’t go. Would be a shame that somoebody ruins so beautiful place left of this world. At least until I get back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank migreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
2.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
185 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
19.4 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing