We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Mango Bay”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in a Garden Studio at Mango Bay and loved it. We enjoyed being close to the beach with good snorkeling and the free use of kayaks. One day we kayaked over to Savannah Bay. The beach was great, and the snorkeling was even better than Maho Bay . We enjoyed our kitchenette. We were able to prepare breakfast and easy meals in the room. The studio was spacious and nicely furnished. We will definitey stay there again when we visit Virgin Gorda.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks a lot for your review, we hope we will see you soon again.
Have a lovely day!
Kind regards,
Mango Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well appointed villas, great sunsets, excellent snorkelling right off the beach. No Pool, restaurant or central area. Our family group rented several villas, and the lack of distractions meant that we spent a lot of quality time together, cooking meals and hanging out. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSalsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Mango Bay as the rest of your group did. It is unfortunate that you were not informed by the person that booked for the entire group that we do not have a restaurant on site. Although handy, it would bring more traffic and outside guests; our guests come to us precisely seeking the peacefulness of this area that being only 2 miles away from town is secluded and tucked away from the noise and crowds. We also have safes in all rooms and provide keys for locking the doors upon request for whoever feels that needs them. We do apologise if you were not treated with politeness, we pride ourselves of our excellent service and this should not have happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

After watching my husband get electrocuted by a lamp, I figured it was time to login and write a review. Pros: Great beach, nice villas with OK furnishings. Cons: Disorganized checkin (at least for a big group), dark rooms, no food on premise, doors that don't lock, unreliable internet. Today was a tipping point for me. While speaking to the woman at the front desk about snorkels, I was snapped at and told, "I know what I'm doing" while receiving a death stare.

All in all a relatively nice location with lodging that needs a facelift. If you're going to pay high season prices, go to Little Dix.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie2891743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mango Bay for a week, while having 13 other family members join in at various times in various rooms. Both my wife and I, plus the rest of our party, have spent a good amount of time in the US and British Virgin Islands, so we're pretty well versed in what to expect.

The Villas are beautiful, they're secluded, quiet, and very close to the water/beach. The villas are setup with an open approach, sliding screen doors, fans and windows, that create a great breeze and great view. Like others have said, please make sure you have some Deet lotion or spray, as you're going on the water front in a very luscious damp area, mosquito's and knowseemums can be an issue. If you prepare properly they won't be an issue.

Gino and his crew are great! They made sure every party in our group was taken care of; from our first greeting to the use of the kayaks (5 on hand), to advice on events during our stay. The cleaning service was very cordial, pleasant and did a great job of keeping us clean and stocked on everything we needed!

Our unit (and all others I believe) had a full kitchen and patio that included a grill. I cannot stress how great this is for a vacation. While it's great to get out and hit the local restaurants, it's very nice to sit back and have a nice cookout at the ocean. We couldn't have asked for a better location for our stay!

The beach, the water and the reefs, along with the great service, excellent prices and outstanding views made Mango Bay a place we'll be visiting again in our future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beonedrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear beonedrine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very thankful and happy to read that you had a great time. We hope to see you again, have a lovely day and warm regards from Mango Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mango Bay in early November 13 and had an amazing time in Virgin Gorda. This was our last island after Tortola and Anegada and we found Virgin Gorda to be our favorite. If my husband were to write this review, he would rate it as Average or even Poor, but I didn't think the resort was that bad. Although the mosquitoes were relentless and there were many holes in the window screens, I still liked our room with its view of the ocean and a few seconds walk to the beach. Yes, the rooms are a little outdated and it felt like were were staying at a resort that had its hay day in the late 80s, but the rooms were quite large, the kitchen and bathrooms very nice, and the bed quite comfortable. Overall I would recommend Mango Bay.

We love snorkeling and found the beach right off the hotel full of beautiful sea life with many colorful reefs and even some beautiful turtles. Of course the Baths are a must when on Virgin Gorda. Snorkeling there is really something special, but the crowds of tourists coming off the boats are annoying and often obnoxious.

Room Tip: Bring lots of bug spray. Mosquitoes are numerous and very annoying when trying to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malgosia_Gosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with our units. We strive to maintain all of them updated and in perfect working condition. Our staff is constantly monitoring specifically the screened doors and windows to make sure they are in good shape or repair them which is a very simple operation. We obviously failed doing this for you and we apologise. Thank you for still thinking of recommending Mango Bay Resort. Please rest assured that whoever you refer will be pleased with our resort units and beach.
Kind regards,
Mango Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in a beachfront cottage for a week this past November for our first stay on Virgin Gorda. There were very few people there and at times we had the beach to ourselves. The Mahoe Bay location is beautiful and the cottage is well equipped for most cooking. The cottage and grounds are well kept and very clean. Gino was very helpful and welcoming. We're looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The beach front cottages are extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234hoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear 1234hoff
Keene, New Hampshire,

Than you for your reviews. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

Have a Happy Holidays! Warm regards from Mango Bay Resort.

MBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This past November was the third time I went to the British Virgin Islands and the third time I stayed at the Mango Bay Resort. It is always a pleasure and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. At the resort they have kayaks and snorkel equipment at your disposal and the beach is just steps from the villas! I would recommend this Resort to anyone traveling there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationalZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello InternationalZ!

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience in our resort. As one of Virgin Gorda’s top seaside Caribbean resorts we strive to offer quality service at an exceptional location.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again to Mango Bay Resort.
Have a lovely day!
MB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
13.8 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
8.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £71 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing