We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village Cafe a wonderful spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Cafe

The Village Cafe
Ranked #26 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Village Cafe a wonderful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We stopped by the Cafe on our way back from Gun Creek. Met Ratty the bartender who took great care of us. Food & drinks were great, but best part was how folks at the bar made us feel so welcome. They had a cricket match on the TV and helped us understand the game. The Village Cafe is a must stop when visiting Spanish Town on Virgin Gorda.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kingsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We rented a fantastic condo at VG Village, and after a long day of planes and ferries, stumbled into this place - we were absolutely shocked at the quality and taste of the food! I'm not sure why, but we typically don't expect much from pool side dining spots, but this was fantastic. We ended up eating lunch and another dinner here through the week - along with many, many drinks at the bar. All around excellent - perfect if you're staying on property, but also centrally located between the valley and north sound.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank timboAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunnison,co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I have dined here on several occcasions during different visit to the Island, never to be disappointed by the dining experience!! The food and service is excellent , we've only gone for dinner . The service is exceptional , Doreen is a treasure as well as all of the other workers. The atmosphere is so beautiful and relaxing. Since we don't rent a car while vacationing walking there at night wasn't an option so we called remembering on a past visit they offered to come pick us up , not to disappoint they provoded that service again.They seem to share the task of leaving their duties to cater to driving us. I would highly recommend this beautiful dining experience. We'll go back again in April and perhaps try lunch if we can drag ourselves away form the beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant for a reasonably priced meal on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Atlhough Coco Maya, a new restaurant on Virgin Gorda, is the top rated spot with EXCELLENT FOOD, and beachfront tables and sofas on the beach with gas lit firepits, our recommendation if the Village Cafe! It is a beautiful spot with reasonably priced, super delicious meals and ALL AT A REASONABLE PRICE!! Doreen is a doll with a beautiful, happy smile and soft and gentle voice... while Aldane is quite the character! A 'retired' pro=soccer player, he still has all the right moves! A beautiful outdoor setting (they do have indoor too in case of rain or for a private party), they offer amazing lunches at lowish prices, and dinner is served as a 5 Star Restaurant would handle it. Quite, beautiful and a wonderful staff... THIS IS NOT TO BE MISSED! We had lunch here 3 times during our week on Virgin Gorda, along with 2 dinners. You may drop about $40 on a great dinner (the Lobster pasta dis is AMAZING... must have a WHOLE lobster cut up in that dish...and so TENDER!), but that's still lower than the average price of about $75 for a dinner at Coco Maya. Coco Maya is an amazing spot... not to be missed for dinner...but for overall value and great food, The Village Cafe is the spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynandDonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Good Food. Doreen and Aldane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

made it special. Located around a pool this is our 2nd favorite spot on the island. Aldane makes great drinks and Doreen about as sweet as you can find.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
 

Been to The Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing