We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation, magnificent beach, awesome place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We went for our anniversary and had several amazing nights and swam to the Baths at sunrise and had them to ourselves! the Staff here could not have been nicer! I can't wait to get a trip with some friends and come back! Absolutely loved this place.

Room Tip: Each bungalow is built on stilts amongst the boulders. Not sure there is a bad one unless you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes is a group of one, two and three bedroom wood houses clustered in a vast space along with magnificent boulders. The latter, along with the tropical landscape, gives the place a lovely setting. There are 21 rooms, situated in a way that all enjoy privacy. We stayed at a one bedroom house called Cedar. From its deck there is beautiful view of Tortola and other close by islands. This side of the island is drier than the rest. VG is an arid island. After 10AM, without A/C (which comes at an additional charge) is not so comfortable to stay in the house. But with beautiful beaches around, who wants to just stay put? The houses are equipped with the basics you will need for a comfortable stay. There is a safe for valuables in the house, as well. They offer daily maid service and a water gallon. Outside each house there is a BBQ set up, they provide beach towels and chairs. They also rent snorkel equipment at a very reasonable rate. In a public room, next to the office, you can find the TV, games, books and Wi-Fi at an extra charge ($2.00 for 30 mins.). Outside there is a veranda with chairs, telephone for local and international calls and an additional table for Laptop. On the other side of the office there a small commissary where you can obtain snacks, drinks, cookies and other items saving you a trip to the grocery store. It runs strictly by the “honour system”. Each house has an assigned tablet where you write down the items you have taken. You’ll pay for them at the end of your stay. The same system applies for the Wi-Fi. You log down your usage time and will be added to your bill. It is so refreshing to have this still in the Caribbean; honor and trust to go by. The houses are very well maintained. They are kept clean. The grounds are also very well kept in spite of the arid soil and hot dry summer. Pathways are illuminated with solar lights.
The shower and hot water were a bit sketchy. They only provide soap bars; no other toiletries like shampoo, conditioner and/ or body lotion. We could not find “Vape” refill tablets for mosquitoes or any other type of repellent. There are gaps in some screens and door which allow mosquitoes to get in. Besides, there is no screen on the front door, which allows them to gain access when you come into the house. The main road divides the property with houses on both sides. Even the houses by the beach are not on the beach. Access to the beach is at walking distance. This was unexpected, but not a problem. We drove to the beach. If you don’t have a car, it could pose a problem to carry a cooler, snorkeling gear and other items to the beach. It would be a great addition to the property if they had a common swimming. We recommend Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes, to independent travelers, who like space and comfort in a natural Caribbean setting, looking to interact with Nature, in a peaceful and quite environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Ae were originally booked to stay at Casa Luna at Guavaberry Spring Villas, but, we were upgraded to the Casa Rosalta due to some construction. What a fabulous place. We had our own swimming pool, multiple decks and separate sleeping quarters along with a full kitchen. The staff were wonderful and they took great care of us. The place was well stocked and very clean. A little leary of outdoor showers, but in fact they are very secluded and allow for privacy. We were a short walk to Spring Bay, the best beach on the island. The Baths are close, which are fantastic! Virgin Gorda is a great place to vacation. Everyone is so friendly! Will go back in a heartbeat!

Only thing to mention is the roosters crow very, very early in the morning. We got used to it as the week went on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you are going to Virgin Gorda and you are not interested in the fast lane, Guavaberry is the only place to stay! I have been to Virgin Gorda at least 5 times and I would never stay anywhere else. The cottages are spacious, the service is great. There is not a "staff", you get the personal touch. The owner,Tina, is always there and makes sure you have everything that you need. The private beach is the best. The commissary is stocked so you don't have to drive a mile to get a snack, dinner or sun tan lotion. Every cottage has a great balcony with a view of the bay. The Guavaberry welcome booklet says that you should lock up the doors at all times but I have never had any problem. Sometimes the mosquitoes are a pain because the cottages are tucked into the rocks but it depends upon the time of year. We love Guavaberry and cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Fitness center would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theredhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We just got back from a short trip to Virgin Gorda last week. We contemplated different options in Virgin Gorda but we're so glad we chose Guavaberry.

-Location is excellent. The Baths are within walking distance (less than 1/2 mile) which was great especially since there isn't a lot of parking there. We loved that we could walk there and it was a nice, quiet (although fully in the sun) walk. You can also walk to some popular restaurants (Rock Cafe, Coco Maya). It's about a 20 min (max) walk but not bad at all. Honestly you could probably walk all the way into Spanish Town if you're used to walking like we are. On our first day we wondered why we had even bothered renting a car.

-Services were excellent. They offer a commissary with groceries, they have snorkel equipment for rent for $3.50/day, the staff was helpful in recommendations. They have almost all the menus of restaurants in their office.

-Houses were cute and spacious. We stayed in Gardenia and it was lots of space for the two of us. We paid extra for A/C which we didn't use (which is a big deal since my husband usually needs it on all the time). Our deck was very private because rocks were sheltering it. We had a nice view in the distance of the sea. Everything was really clean and nice. There were some ants on occasion but nothing crazy. Also the roosters were nice enough to wake us at 6:30 or so on a daily basis. We got used to it though and think maybe it's a good thing anyway since it makes you get an early start!

-Spring Bay beach was really great. Very private and often we were the only ones on it. There were plenty of chairs and some beach toys/floats. In walking distance to the right was a rocky area with great snorkeling called Little Trunk Bay. We would never think to look there in a shallow swimming area but we saw a ton of fish. There was decent snorkeling at Spring Bay also but it was deeper. The beach is walkable but there is parking if you don't want to walk with all your stuff.

-They have showers and bathrooms to use if you are checking out late. We LOVED this. Our ferry didn't leave until 3pm and we had the whole day on the beach and we were able to shower before we left. That was really great.

-They arranged our rental car. The company dropped it off and picked it up and we basically had to do nothing. If we went again, we probably would only rent a car a day or so to explore the Northern part of the island since Guavaberry is so close to everything else.

Only a few things we did not like:

-Paying $2/30 min of WiFi in the office seems a little like a rip off. We did not use it. We took advantage of free Wifi in many restaurants (Top of the Baths, Coco Maya).

-No one recommended we go to any local places for eating. They really pushed the touristy ones. We went to Rock Cafe our first night and were underwhelmed. We did our own research on Tripadvisor after that. Coconut Junction was without a doubt the best meal we had and when I asked about it the woman was like, "well it's a local place and the food is good." No the food is SUPERB.

We would definitely definitely stay again and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room as close as possible to the beach to make walking there easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laina990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am late in writing this review from our trip in March, 2013. We absolutely loved Guavaberry. The units are cozy and minimal, but perfect for our needs. We stayed in a two bedroom unit up on the hill across the street from the office. It was quiet, except for the occasional goat or roster. On our last night, the folks in the unit next to ours were a little noisy on their deck, but they didn't stay up too late. The view was spectacular, and the beach is to die for. We drove to the beach most days just because we didn't want to carry all of our snorkeling gear. But, the beach was an easy five minute walk from our cottage. The snorkeling was fantastic, both to the right and to the left of spring bay. Either way, you can't go wrong. Be careful during high season if your swim to the left and watch for dingy traffic. Better yet, go early or go late and avoid the traffic all together. The beach really is paradise, with chairs in the shade and solitude.

We are returning to Guavaberry in July and we can't wait.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent 3 days here in April and LOVED it. I agree with those reviews that had wonderful things to say about this place, so I won't be redundant and will just add "dittos." Tina was very helpful and her suggestions of places to enjoy lunch and dinners were spot on. "Mermaids on the Beach" and Hog Heaven for lunch and another place close by which was built among the boulders (forget the name) had decent food and even better ambiance and the Top of the Baths for dinner. We were concerned that the Baths restaurant would be too "touristy" for our tastes, but we worried for naught. The food was quite good, fairly priced and the views were awesome.

We had read that the snorkeling was good at Spring Bay, but it is several levels above just "good." The water was so clear it was like snorkeling in a swimming pool (more like huge aquarium?) and you could see for nearly 200 feet until the water gently faded into a beautiful blue. From the beach you see some prehistoric rocks above the water line, but as you snorkel out to them you quickly realize that there is much more rock under water, sometimes even 20 feet worth, and it is coral reef ecosystem complete with the beautiful reef fish, many of which we are quite familiar with as we had a coral reef tank not long ago. (There goes a $69.99 Naso Tang swimming past, etc......) Just amazingly beautiful to see. We even saw a sea turtle swim past.

Spring Bay is a private beautiful beach (it actually isn't, but essentially is) for Guavaberry guests. Plenty of shade, plenty of sun and plenty of beauty to enjoy. It is a short swim and you can be at the Bath's themselves, if you so desire.

Our room was the "Guavaberry" which is located up the hill across the street from the office and the "downhill" villas. You can walk to the Baths and Spring Bay from either location, but the downhill is much easier and closer. We rented a car and were very glad that we did, since we were located at the highest point of the property. It is a short drive to the Spring Bay and there is plenty of parking at the entrance to the beach. We also drove all over the island to enjoy the numerous beautiful vantage points, and sample snorkeling elsewhere. (Nothing was as good as Spring Bay, however)

They have a "grocery store" next to the office which is open 24-7 and on the honor system. The prices were pleasantly reasonable and the selection surprisingly large, considering. Seemed like a first class operation, all around.

We paid extra for the benefit of having AC in the room, since I perspire easier than most, but never actually used it. It was warm outside, but the cross breeze through the villa was so comfortable that using the AC would have actually detracted from the amazing experience you feel being nestled among the huge boulders high up on a hill. The sounds of the birds waking up approached those we enjoyed while waking up in the Costa Rica rainforest.....not quite, but still nice. Next time we'll skip paying the AC premium.

This place is another example of why we use Trip Advisor and glad that we do. The high praise for this place is well deserved. The rooms here are quite nice, and with fully equipped kitchens but, as another reviewer posted, if you are looking for classic 5 star resort with room service, manicured grounds and a spa, this is not your place. As for us, we cannot wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: if you stay higher up you may enjoy your stay more if you rent a car to get to Spring Bay, plus you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
0.9 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
22.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
190 reviews
6.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
306 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes

Address: Spring Bay, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £99 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Hotel Virgin Gorda
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing