We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing Again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I just returned (in the last 45 minutes) from our 11th trip to Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes. We split our time between a GSB Home and one of the "Deluxe Villas" managed by the GSB Vacation Homes. We are already booked for next year and hoping to return sooner.

It is such a unique place it is hard to put into words. GSB Vacation Homes has the only private road access to the beach at Spring Bay, that only can produce an "enough said" for many travelers :)

The location is stunning, homes built among the boulders at the famous "Baths" area of Virgin Gorda. The owner Tina, and assistant Valerie are consummate professionals, whose services rival those of the best concierge's at any of the world's best hotels.

The GSB Vacation Homes are cottages built around the boulders, with eat in kitchens, showers/bathrooms, maid service and decks with astounding views of the Sir Frances Drake Channel. There is a "honor system" fully stocked commissary with everything you might need for a great meal and more on site, with 24 hour WiFi (the WiFi fee is high, but service is very limited in general on the island). Many vacationers seem to never leave the Guavaberry "compound" as it is only necessary if you would like to eat at local restaurants or visit other beaches on the island.

The "Deluxe Villas" all offer different amenities and configurations. We have been returning to the same house for a decade now and feel like it is our home away from home.

For anyone who has not visited the BVI, the beach at Guavaberry is the best in the entire island chain. There are generally 10-20 Guavaberry guests on the beach each day and some random people from boats moored at the "Baths" and Spring Bay. The boating "crowd" (10-20 people at a time) can be a bit annoying, as they generally seem to be first time sailors (many sail boat renters seem to never put up a sail and run under motor at all times) and disregard good boating sense and manners at times.

Beach chairs and towels are provided, full gear for snorkeling can be rented at the commissary.

The place is simply amazing! In the last 2 years a great new restaurant has opened on the island "Coco Maya" and is a stones throw for Guavaberry. We had 3 fabulous meals there this stay. Compliments to Chef "Stevie" and his team.

We have met so many interesting people at Guavaberry from many walks of life.

It is a the best place we have found for a quiet relaxing vacation. It is not for everyone, there is no "nightlife" to speak of, Virgin Gorda is difficult to reach, the restaurant and food options are a bit lacking and the food prices are VERY high, but if you are looking for a relaxing vacation in a mind numbingly beautiful location, this is your place!

Room Tip: take a cottage away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drummernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our third visit to Virgin Gorda and the second time we've stayed at Guavaberry Springs Bay itself (the other happened to be at a magnificent property up the road now managed by GSB). The place is virtually unchanged from thirty-some years ago -- and it suited us even more perfectly than we recalled,

The little one-bedroom houses perched on stilts are so well laid out that each has an ocean view and almost complete privacy from the other cottages. Layout is simple and very well planned: the llving room/kitchen area has ample space for reading and relaxing, the deck invites morning breakfasts and even dinners in, the bedroom and bath are small but very adequate. The landscaping is excellent and the houses are carefully maintained.

The Commissary had a better wine selection than any of three groceries we visited, and some interesting main courses as well as frozen pizza, snack food, Dove Bars and other indulgences. Tina and her ladies run a great operation...and snorkeling at their beach really is better than at the Baths (though Savannah Bay proved best this trip).

Room Tip: We stayed in Cedar this year, initially disappointed we couldn't reserve our original Oleander...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsR-705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Few things in life get better with age. Guavaberry Springs in the exception. 25 years ago we got married @ Drakes Anchorage (No longer a inn and island now owned by Sr. Richard Branson). We spent some of our honeymoon at Guavaberry and loved it. We just returned home from a 9 day visit for our 25th anniversary. Guavaberry has not changed. It is charming, but, not for everyone. No TV,or phones and no room service. AC is a option that we did not want. Quiet, relaxing, fab beach. Just charming as ever. It even has a well stocked provisioning store. Everyone is friendly and so helpful.
Oh and did I mention the great resort dogs and roosters? Yup, it has it all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My brother and I shared this magnificent property for a week. The place is more of a complex than a house, with a large main building surrounded by several sleeping cottages. The buildings and connecting decks are build on and around the giant boulders typical of Spring Bay and The Baths. The overall effect is like living in a cool and shady treehouse. Lizards abound, the view of Sir Francis Drake sound is expansive, and the private pool gives a sense of luxury to the place. A refreshing breeze comes up from the sea and makes the ambiance delightful. The property was very clean and well-maintained, and there was an efficient daily cleaning service. The kitchen was well-equipped and functional. The beach associated with the property is small but very nice and not at all crowded. We were often there with only a handful of people. It is an easy walk to another equally beautiful beach if you are in the mood for a change. The enormous boulders lend visual interest and majesty to the beach. There is great snorkeling right off the beach. There is a large selection of snorkeling equipment available for the use of the guests. The commissary is well-stocked, convenient, and reasonably-priced. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our stay was supremely relaxing. I would come here again in a heartbeat.

There can be a bit of noise from Spanishtown (e.g. soccer game, street party); this was not very bothersome and occurred only occasionally.

Room Tip: One of the associated cottages has a small kitchen; the others are primarily sleeping quarters. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have been going to Virgin Gorda for aprox 18 years now. We stay at Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes. It is PERFECT!!! there are 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages scattered around a large piece of property. The boulders are HUGE and the grounds are beautiful. Everything is taken care of daily and IF there is any issue/problem, you can trust that it is taken care of IMMEDIATELY! This is a well run business. It is like "coming home" from the moment you arrive. Tina, Michele and Valerie take care of your every need. The dogs are always happy to see you, follow you to the beach or to your cottage. The cottages are very clean, well equipped with all one needs, from a cooler, blender, ice pack, beach towels and a fully equipped kitchen.
Spring bay beach is THE NICEST beach we have ever been to. The sand, water and snorkeling cannot be beat! Comfortable chairs are supplied for all guests and there are a few picnic tables there too to use. It is a quick swim to THE BATHS or a short walk there. The top of the Baths restaurant is very nice, little shops MAD DOG is right along the way. Edith, at MAD DOG - serves THE best BLT's, bushwacker and so many other great items. Go in with your sandy feet and relax. Open air place and nothing is rushed.
We also went to one of the "newer" restaurtants called COCOMAYA and it was awesome. What a spot! right on the beach, comfy chairs, a fire burning, swings at the bar, sushi, tapas and great drinks....all while the waves are feet away from you.
The Rock Café has THE BEST pizza. Eat inside and enjoy the piano bar, some nights it is Karaoke OR go sit a table outside amongst the huge boulders.
I could go on and on, but I think I have made my point. SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!!
GUAVABERRY SPRING BAY VACATION HOMES WILL NOT LET YOU DOWN!!!!! experience it for yourself and you WILL be back!!!!

Room Tip: ALL of the cottages have an ocean view and each cottage has something special about it. You will NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottatravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place was an amazing find. My husband and I stayed here after our charter to relax. We had planned on renting a car but really found no reason to do anything else but relax! The villas are quite large and all have huge decks, full kitchens and were very clean. The ladies who work in the office are all so wonderful and helpful. The office is full of menus for all the restaurants, plenty of snorkeling gear and computers for internet access (wireless available for a fee as well). There is a small grocery and although we planned on eating out, we found everything we needed here and ate a few meals in our villa. The beach is amazing as well with direct access from Guavaberry and beach chairs for guests. We walked every where we wanted to which included The Baths and into Spanish Town. Taxi's to/from town are $4 per person if you prefer a ride. I love that everything is on the honor system which just gives it a very small, personal feeling. We had an early departure and Guavaberry arranged a taxi for us the night before and he was on time and reliable. Absolutely the best value on Virgin Gorda.

Room Tip: We liked our room 'on the hill' for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a find!!! Stayed at Fishers Cove for the first 2 nights before discovering this little gem and so wished we had found it sooner! Not only is the snorkeling better than at the Baths (a short walk up the road anyway), the remote location ensures a smaller crowd. It was ideal!!! We stayed in a 2-bedroom that had everything you could want and more. Came across some of nature's creatures, but harmless and unavoidable in this area of lush trees and fauna. I felt like I was living in a tree house with a huge wrap-around deck. Tina was wonderful and accommodating - gave us an early check-in and late check-out. We will most definitely be back and recommend this place to all of our friends. The commissary is pretty cool, but bring some extra ice and water with you.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a/c - it gets pretty hot and humid there even in November.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyinLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
0.9 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
6.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#3 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
305 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gordian Terrace
Gordian Terrace
#2 of 3 in Virgin Gorda
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes

Address: Spring Bay, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £94 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Hotel Virgin Gorda
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing