We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ and Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BBQ and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Perched high above the North end of Virgin Gorda, this is the place for BBQ, ribs, or chicken. We've been twice for lunch in our two trips, and enjoyed it both times.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    196
    30
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had the ribs, and while they weren't as big as we are used to, they were pretty good. The view is awesome though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Priceless Views and very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were out on a dive boat and another couple on the boat started raving about this little restaurant that is perched up on top of this mountain island. You need to get a taxi and wind all the way to the top of Virgin Gorda. Once there you find a small patio restaurant that sits on the edge of the cliff and you have the most amazing views.

The food is mostly BBQ and very good. The drinks were excellent. The plantains were absolutely out of the world.

The owner is very sweet and hospitable and her husband owns a pig farm! this restaurant has a neighborhood feel and once your sit at the bar for a few minutes you feel like part of the community.
It they didn't have good food it would be worth the drive just for the view, but add good BBQ and you have a must visit spot for your next trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallastxusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view, very good food, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hog Heaven is one of those "off the beaten path" places that you either stumble upon by accident, or have made it a destination. In our case, it was a destination. We had been on a boat charter for a few days, had our share of fish meals and waterside dining. We wanted something different.

Hog Heaven delivered!

Hog Heaven sits atop a ridge line near the top of Virgin Gorda. To see it from the road, you'd think nothing of it. Very plain, unpretentious exterior bordering on small.

But, once you walk in, your senses go into overdrive... sight, smell, sound, taste.

The restaurant has a rear dinning area that overlooks Virgin Gorda Sound. Directly above Little Bay, your view encompasses views of the Atlantic to your left, Mosquito Island directly ahead, and Prickly Pear Island, Saba Rock and the Bitter End Yacht Club to the right.

The views are spectacular!

The food was incredible. The owner was very friendly and shared some interesting stories.

I can't remember what we ordered. But, I remember the flavors on everything was just right. Prices were reasonable. Drinks were cold.

I strongly recommend taking a taxi to/from. The roads here are not for amateurs. They are narrow in spots, very winding, and contain extreme hills that are unforgiving.

If you felt this review was helpful, please mark "helpful" below.

Enjoy you visit, make sure your camera has plenty of memory and a full battery charge.

Pros; view, flavor
cons: access getting there

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankInSWFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“On Top of the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The BQ ribs and drinks were excellent! Loved the surrounding views ~ felt like we were on top of the island

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Jeep777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing