We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing in the BVI...great stop over!”
Review of Saba Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saba Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful and helpful service. Very friendly with great food and drinks . Comfortable deck seating in the bar. No rush or hurries. Relaxed and visited with friends. Delightful breeze. Good to spend time ashore and enjoy the views. We will be back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jill_ATL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us.
Hope to see you back in the future!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went to Saba Rock for lunch, it's truly idyllic. The restaurant is clean and nicely done and you can relax on the hammocks on the small beach after lunch. It's stunning. The food in the restaurant was of a good quality for the BVI. But it was a shame that our waitress was so rude, my Father-in-law asked for some more water and she growled at him 'what kind of water?', and when he went to pay her he said thank you as he paid, she did not even look him in the eye, so he said thank you again before actually giving her the money at which point she eventually said 'you're welcome'. World-class setting, but definitely not world class service. Just asking for a bit of eye contact and a smile!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tamsin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are very sorry that this happened to you. We apologize for this incident and we work hard to give the best and select our staff carefully. Our staff is friendly and smiley and we are more than sure that this was an isolated incident. We hope to see you back again, again our apologies.
Our kind regards
SR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

SABA ROCK , what a stay, what a cool place, what a nice event for are romantic 2 nights. R disappointment is that we didn't stay they r full week on Saba Rock, Virgin Gorda, BVI. The Bar , the rooms and the service was outstanding. If you as a couple want a unique get away this is the PLACE.
The free water taxi makes stay their convenient. I will say the following.... stay at Saba Rock you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are very glad that you had a great experience!
We hope to see you back at Saba Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Saba Rock Resort is the most unique vacation spot I have encountered. A very small island just off the main part of Virgin Gorda surrounded by incredible beauty. There are only 9 rooms, a good restaurant and bar. Very quiet and peaceful during the mornings due to the small number of guests; at lunch and dinner times, restaurant and bar and other "public" areas can become crowded and noisy due to the many people who arrive by small boats from yachts moored in the North Sound and from other small islands - does create a festive and fun atmosphere, though. The rooms are very comfortable, not luxurious, but well-appointed and currently undergoing renovation. Our room - Dominica - had a queen bed plus two twin beds in a large room that overlooked the beautiful harbor. Coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, air conditioning, comfortable beds. The complimentary water taxi is available for short trips to nearby islands but it is often hard to leave this lovely sanctuary. (For cat lovers, Morgan is the resident island kitty - shy but very sweet). Only deficiency - rooms do not have safes so creates issue of what to do with valuables - this is a very expensive part of the world so cannot be traveled to without significant amount of cash/credit cards

Room Tip: Choose a room in the block of 5 which all have balconies facing the harbor. Two largest rooms - St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank for writing such a beautiful review. You really captured with your excellent words our ambience and location.

Our warm regards,

Saba Rock Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Took the ferry over for dinner. Our waitress had that "I really don't want to be here" kind of attitudes. Food was good, not great. Catch of the day was overcooked (2 of our 8 top ordered). Both found the Yahoo inedible. When we brought this to our servers's attention, she brought the manager over and he did comp the one meal (for the person who initiated the complaint), but not the other diner who ordered the same thing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dfwmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review. We really appreciate your feedback!

Warm regards from Saba Rock Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We returned to Saba on Jan 01 for a 4 night stay. They were extremely busy for the Holidays, but they still gave us great service for dinner. They actually served over 300 dinners for the next 2 nights. Fresh fish was excellent and service was good, especially since they were so busy. We noticed that the grounds have been upgraded, and a beautiful new large deck for reading or sunning was added. This large multi level deck looks NE. and is suspending over the water. All the rooms are being redecorated and look fantastic. A really nice improvement, plus beautiful stone work is being done everywhere.
Breakfast is simple, but good. Fresh fruit, muffins, breads, yogurt, good coffee.
We enjoyed it so much we booked for a week next early Jan.
Ben & Sue

Room Tip: There are 2 larger 2 bedroom units at ea. end, both are very large and very nice views. Single room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BENWILDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello BENWILDE,

Thank you for taking your time on this review. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you soon again. Have a great day!

Warm regards from Saba Rock Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If visiting the BVI, Saba Rock is a "Must Stop!" Each time we have been in the BVI, we have made this part of our itinerary! The views are amazing, as well as some of the most beautful gardens on this property in the caribbean. Make sure after a drink, you walk around the island and take advantage of the picture perfect photo opportunities! Also, the fish feeding at 5pm is fun to see, as the giant Tarpon go crazy and they let people join in the fun! The staff is friendly and accomodating especially to kid's. Amazing, and wonderful spot, do not miss out!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carriembrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Saba Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hello carriembrandt


Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of our property. We are sure that many visitors will benefit from it. We hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards from Saba Rock Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
17.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
191 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
13.0 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saba Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saba Rock Resort

Address: North Sound, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: £113 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Saba Rock Hotel British Virgin Islands
Saba Rock Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing