We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Derg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derg Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Castlederg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Derg Inn on a holiday weekend and although we were initially greeted by Olga and given a brief run down on the B&B aspects of this rambling complex, the holidays may have accounted for some obvious lack of attention to detail. Our room was not as clean as might be expected and was not made up, nor towels replaced during our two night stay. No breakfast menus were made available, and there was no one around when wanting to use the hotel's computer as had been offerred, nor on departure when wanting to settle our account or return our keys. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the pub had a lovely family feeling like a home a long way from our home in Australia. Best of all was the food. Beautifully presented and good value for money. We would certainly try the Derg Inn again as we feel the holiday weekend and wedding preparations may have impacted on their usual service standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Family run B&B, warm friendly welcome, Sammy & Mona together with their daughter Olga make you feel very welcome and at home. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good, Mona makes proper scrambled eggs and the steak I had for dinner one night was superb.
Sammy is a great host and raconteur, we hope to go back soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Family run establishment offering great breakfast, personal service and comfortable accommodation.

This is our second stay and we would not hesitate to recommend.

Also good restaurant and bar facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Love eating here, especially the early bird menu from 5pm-7pm. Great food, staff and atmosphere! Nothing is too much bother and Olga always greets you with a smile! Portions are plentiful and well presented, good home cooking. Desserts are a must have. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank omh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Centrally located in Castlederg, the Derg Arms has a large restaurant, pub and b&b accomodation.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant - meals are priced in the region of £10 for main course. Food in the evening was good, very tasty and well-presented. Breakfast the next day also did not disappoint - ulster fry with the works, all cooked to order.

Our room was at the front of the building on the main street and there can be some noise from the various pubs nearby and traffic, but overall nice facilities with en suite. At £50 B&B for two, this was great value.

Sammy is a great host, and I would not hesitate to return and recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We happened upon the Derg Arms by chance - and are very pleased we did. The room was clean and warm. The welcome was excellent and this theme continued as all staff made us very welcome. Dinner in the restaurant and breakfast were both very good as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My family and I regularly visit Castlederg and although we do not stay at the derg arms we always have our meals there. The food is first class and always large portions if they havent got what u want on the menu they will go out of their way to sort it for u. Sammy and his staff are so friendly and always ready for a chat and full of information about the area. Definately dont go leave Castlederg without visiting or staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandraJ-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlederg
13.6 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
476 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardgort House
Ardgort House
#1 of 2 in Castlederg
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Hunting Lodge Hotel
The Hunting Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtownstewart
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derg Valley Apartments
Derg Valley Apartments
#1 of 2 in Castlederg
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derg Arms

Address: 43 Main Street, Castlederg BT81 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Castlederg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castlederg
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Derg Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the town center of Castlederg, The Derg Arms is a 2 Star rating B&B, Bar/Lounge with a Restaurant Family Run Business. With 2 Family Rooms, 3 Double Rooms and 5 Twin Rooms available. We are Family friendly with a large secure Garden to relax in, to having the Derg river and Derg Castle ruins only a stones throw away with a Children's Playground for all ages. Along with this there is also an outside Gym available to everyone We provide a range of Business Package deals. From large groups to extended stays. Details provided when requested. With our large lounge we provide space for Business/conference meetings with Lunch/Buffet or tea & coffee options available. With the addition of our coffee Shop Mona's Front where we provide Specialsied coffee's/teas, treats and also lunch, we have something for everyone. Within the bar area we have a pool table and darts, to sitting beside an open fire relaxing. (Smoking area available) We also have the Derg Valley Leisure Centre which is only a 5 minute walk from the B&B has recently undergone over £600,000 of refurbishment and offers state of the art facilities and services. We aim to fulfill every need for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Derg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing