We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Derg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derg Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Castlederg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
renfrewshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013 with family. The Derg Arms is a nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Comfy beds and nice décor. Good location in Castlederg.

Good pub grub in the restaurant!

Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee_Teamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Went for lunch with family on Saturday - service is so friendly, nothing seems to be too much bother. The menu is fairly limited and not very experimental in types of cuisine. At the same time quality was good and quantities were sufficient fo all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just back from northern Ireland and the Derg arms had a great week Mona and Sammy and all the staff were great hosts, the room was clean and fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was great.
l will be using this guest house again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmcdGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Derg Inn on a holiday weekend and although we were initially greeted by Olga and given a brief run down on the B&B aspects of this rambling complex, the holidays may have accounted for some obvious lack of attention to detail. Our room was not as clean as might be expected and was not made up, nor towels replaced during our two night stay. No breakfast menus were made available, and there was no one around when wanting to use the hotel's computer as had been offerred, nor on departure when wanting to settle our account or return our keys. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the pub had a lovely family feeling like a home a long way from our home in Australia. Best of all was the food. Beautifully presented and good value for money. We would certainly try the Derg Inn again as we feel the holiday weekend and wedding preparations may have impacted on their usual service standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Family run B&B, warm friendly welcome, Sammy & Mona together with their daughter Olga make you feel very welcome and at home. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good, Mona makes proper scrambled eggs and the steak I had for dinner one night was superb.
Sammy is a great host and raconteur, we hope to go back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Family run establishment offering great breakfast, personal service and comfortable accommodation.

This is our second stay and we would not hesitate to recommend.

Also good restaurant and bar facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone, N Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Love eating here, especially the early bird menu from 5pm-7pm. Great food, staff and atmosphere! Nothing is too much bother and Olga always greets you with a smile! Portions are plentiful and well presented, good home cooking. Desserts are a must have. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlederg
13.6 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
9.8 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
19.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
22.3 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derg Arms

Property: The Derg Arms
Address: 43 Main Street, Castlederg BT81 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Castlederg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castlederg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Derg Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the town center of Castlederg, The Derg Arms is a 2 Star rating B&B, Bar/Lounge with a Restaurant Family Run Business. With 2 Family Rooms, 3 Double Rooms and 5 Twin Rooms available. We are Family friendly with a large secure Garden to relax in, to having the Derg river and Derg Castle ruins only a stones throw away with a Children's Playground for all ages. Along with this there is also an outside Gym available to everyone We provide a range of Business Package deals. From large groups to extended stays. Details provided when requested. With our large lounge we provide space for Business/conference meetings with Lunch/Buffet or tea & coffee options available. With the addition of our coffee Shop Mona's Front where we provide Specialsied coffee's/teas, treats and also lunch, we have something for everyone. Within the bar area we have a pool table and darts, to sitting beside an open fire relaxing. (Smoking area available) We also have the Derg Valley Leisure Centre which is only a 5 minute walk from the B&B has recently undergone over £600,000 of refurbishment and offers state of the art facilities and services. We aim to fulfill every need for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Derg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing