We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derg Arms, Castlederg”
Review of The Derg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derg Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Castlederg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Derg Arms and we look forward to going back next year.
The rooms are clean and bright, the restaurant is very good, breakfast is excellent.
The staff were extremely helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent value as well.
Paul & Jacqui Robinson

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauls-Triumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Our third visit and the personal attention and service remains as good as previous stays.

Good food and company. Pleasant rooms.

Breakfast cooked to order with options chosen the evening before.

Good parking facilities. And nice restaurant. Overall happy to recommend and will use again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Derg Arms for 5 nights on a recent fishing trip mid May. The Family who run the pub made our stay very memorable and made a fuss of us even though their daughters wedding was in the middle of our stay, nothing was too much.The fried Breakfast was FANTASTIC and set us up for the day, we didnt eat in the evening as we stayed out late on the rivers but they did offer to put together a late snack on our return. The rooms were clean and bright with comfortable beds, and clean towels every other day. The parking was good, and a good choice of shops were close by to pick up supplies , all in all a great location for the abundant fishing in the area. I would stay again at the Derg arms and still cant believe how good the service and food was for the price we paid, cant wait to go back . You won`t find better in the area.

Room Tip: we stayed to the rear which may be quieter than the rooms which over look the high street, but after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Derg Arms on a Sat night. All the staff were very friendly, The room was a good size and the breakfast was the best fry I have had for a very long time. We did not eat here in the evening but if the breakfast is anything to go by then I am sure the rest of the food on offer is very good. Lovely open fire in the front bar. Only down side for us was that we were not expecting the back bar area to become a kind of night club. The place began to fill with teenagers and sadly we are too old for that type of music now! Thankfully our room was far enough away not to be kept awake by the music. Would recommend as a stopover for anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awardnominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013 with family. The Derg Arms is a nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Comfy beds and nice décor. Good location in Castlederg.

Good pub grub in the restaurant!

Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wee_Teamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Went for lunch with family on Saturday - service is so friendly, nothing seems to be too much bother. The menu is fairly limited and not very experimental in types of cuisine. At the same time quality was good and quantities were sufficient fo all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just back from northern Ireland and the Derg arms had a great week Mona and Sammy and all the staff were great hosts, the room was clean and fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was great.
l will be using this guest house again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmcdGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlederg
13.6 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
476 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardgort House
Ardgort House
#1 of 2 in Castlederg
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Hunting Lodge Hotel
The Hunting Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtownstewart
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derg Valley Apartments
Derg Valley Apartments
#1 of 2 in Castlederg
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derg Arms

Address: 43 Main Street, Castlederg BT81 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Castlederg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castlederg
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Derg Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the town center of Castlederg, The Derg Arms is a 2 Star rating B&B, Bar/Lounge with a Restaurant Family Run Business. With 2 Family Rooms, 3 Double Rooms and 5 Twin Rooms available. We are Family friendly with a large secure Garden to relax in, to having the Derg river and Derg Castle ruins only a stones throw away with a Children's Playground for all ages. Along with this there is also an outside Gym available to everyone We provide a range of Business Package deals. From large groups to extended stays. Details provided when requested. With our large lounge we provide space for Business/conference meetings with Lunch/Buffet or tea & coffee options available. With the addition of our coffee Shop Mona's Front where we provide Specialsied coffee's/teas, treats and also lunch, we have something for everyone. Within the bar area we have a pool table and darts, to sitting beside an open fire relaxing. (Smoking area available) We also have the Derg Valley Leisure Centre which is only a 5 minute walk from the B&B has recently undergone over £600,000 of refurbishment and offers state of the art facilities and services. We aim to fulfill every need for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Derg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing