We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most beautiful villa in all of the Virgin...”
On the Rocks - night view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the Rocks - night view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
On the Rocks - night view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin G
1 review
“The most beautiful villa in all of the Virgin Islands!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in July 2015

On the Rocks Villa was by far the best villa/vacation rental I have ever stayed in. The property is just perfect. The villa is beautifully decorated and has modern appliances and features but will an island feel. You have everything you need in this villa including a gorgeous pool, beautiful views and you are just steps away from the beach. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is very nice! One of my favorite parts of the villa is the amazing outdoor showers. All of the showers are connected to the villa but they are either completely or partially outside. They are fantastic!
The owners are the super nice and welcoming and booking with them was a breeze.
Hands down my favorite vacation spot and will be booking another trip very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor showers
Liked least: Nothing the place is flawless
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb P
1 review
“Spectacular Getaway”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at On the Rocks five years ago and were anxious to return. And are we ever glad we did! It was as spectacular the second time as we experienced the first. The villa, location, luxury amenities, and attention to detail were once again ideal. And the short walk to what felt like our own private beach is an added plus. Lots of fun pictures on the beach and at The Baths.
Thank you to Bernadette for her boundless energy to ensure all arrangements were ideally made; to Chef Mimi for an exquisite meal; to Isola for housekeeping service better than any major resort; to Captain Bennu for speedy boat transportation from St. Thomas to Virgin Gorda and our return as well as for a special evening cruise to Saba Rock. And a huge thank you to Bob and Lisa for assembling such a talented, committed team to ensure that their guests have the best experience in their beautiful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
HI Deb,
Thank you so much and we are so happy you had a wonderful stay at On the Rocks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuckyandC...
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

To begin - Bernadette George, the property manager, was great to work with. She was very responsive to questions about the property, the island, travel and restaurants. We would rent from her anytime.

Getting there - We were four couples. Two flew from San Juan via Air Sunshine (30 minutes in an 8 passenger, twin prop plane). The other two couples flew from St. Thomas (15 minutes - the same type of plane). Keep in contact with the airline, they moved our return flight up an hour and had we not contacted them the day before, we would not have known.

Arrival - Bernadette met us at the air strip along with the car rental agent from L&S rentals. We could not be more pleased with L&S. The two SUVs we rented were new models and very clean ($60 per day each including taxes and insurance). Steering wheel was on the left although British rules of the road apply. Bernadette then escorted us to the grocery store and the villa. At the villa she provided a thorough walk-thru and a "welcome" surprise of some appetizers and fruit punch.

The villa - it is as advertised and depicted in on-line photographs. The location was very convenient to the main part of the island, the airports, The Baths, beaches and restaurants. Prior to our arrival, we drew lots for bedroom assignments. Each bedroom has its own advantages and each of the four couples enjoyed their rooms. The bedrooms include all amenities needed, hair dryer, robes, safe, TV and private outdoor shower. The main house is fully equipped in terms of TV, stereo speakers for iPod, the kitchen has everything one would want including ice maker, coffee grinder, and latte maker. Wifi is available in the main house and patio but, not the bedrooms. The indoor dining table easily accommodates 8 with the leafs folded our. The outdoor deck includes a table for 6 with umbrella and plenty of lounge and deck chairs for everyone. The outdoor furniture is light weight and easy to more around to set up conversation areas on the upper deck or around the dipping pool. There are 8 sets of snorkeling equipment, 8 beach chairs, four beach umbrellas and plenty of beach/pool towels. Isola, the housekeeper, is there Monday thru Friday from 10AM to 4PM to clean the villa. She was very helpful, quiet and unobtrusive. There are mosquitos and some guests have left their spray (as we did) so there was plenty on hand. We did not find them to be a distraction and only mention it as a heads up. During our stay, Bernadette contacted us almost daily and the owner from the US called to insure we were enjoying our stay. It should be noted that early in the stay we found a couple of items needing attention. Bernadette responded and resolved them immediately.

Meals - Groceries are available at Buck's in the yacht harbor. We purchased breakfast and life lunch items as well as hard liquor, wine and beer. The wine and liquor selections are limited and pricey, as you would expect on an island. We had arranged for a local lady to cook for us three nights of the stay. Unfortunately, she has asked that her name not be mentioned as she has a very busy schedule. The meals she prepared were very flavorful, fresh and was enough for lunch the next day. The going rate appears to be between $50 and $70 per person per meal and included purchase of the ingredients (salad, two meat/fish entrees, vegetables, rice Johnny Cakes and a dessert), the preparation and clean-up. It was more that worth it not to have to drive home in the dark on unfamiliar roads after a little wine and we could relax and enjoy the villa. We also enjoyed eating at The Mermaid (good); The Bath and Turtle Rendezvous Bar in the yacht harbor (good); the Pavilion At Little Dix Bay (very good - pricey); CocoMaya (excellent); and the Rock Cafe (very good). We have reviewed most of the restaurants separately in T/A.

Things to do - You definitely need a car to get around the island but you can navigate from one side to the other in less that 45 minutes. We enjoyed the beach at our villa and Spring Bay a short walk along the beach. The best snorkeling we found was at Spring Bay and Savannah Bay (15 minute drive and no facilities). In general, we did not find the snorkeling to be that great in terms of viewing sea life - could have been several factors accounting for that. We went to the copper mine, Leverick Bay, Hog Heaven (to windy - did not eat the reported great ribs) and The Baths. The Top of the Baths is a great place for lunch or a cold drink. Several of our group enjoyed the hike from The Baths to Devils Bay. It is not for those with a bad back or claustrophobia as there are several areas between boulders that are low and narrow. Our group seemed to mostly enjoy quietly relaxing at the villa. The lounges, hammock and dipping pool were well utilized.

In summary - we really enjoyed the island, its people (some of the friendliest on any island we have visited) and we always felt very safe. We did not have a bad meal on the island and the villa and its management were terrific - we would not hesitate to recommend a stay at OTR.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJRK
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
“Vacation like a Rock Star!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Let me begin by saying I'm a die-hard Hawaii fan, Kauai to be precise. My friends were curious to see how On The Rocks, Virgin Gorda, would measure up to my impossible standards. Well, in four words, I was blown away. I am utterly in love with this place and all that it has to offer. I have a great deal of trouble relaxing and unwinding on vacation, but On The Rocks was the most relaxing vacation I've ever had. The house is stunning without being pretentious and there is no amenity overlooked. The bedroom suites are magical. The outdoor showers are a delight. The views are out of this world and the pool is perfect. We kayaked, swam, snorkeled, hiked, ate fabulous food, got massaged, boated to neighboring islands, and generally felt like adults at summer camp. I've been fortunate enough to visit On The Rocks twice, and I will return as often and as soon as I can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is perfectly situated, the views are stunning and the bedroom suites make you feel like royalty.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workhardp...
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Incredible Villa Only Surpassed by Exquisite Snorkeling”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Avid snorkelers will have a tough decision between the beautiful integration of earth-meets-architecture of On the Rocks, and the endless hours of snorkeling off of Valley Trunk Bay where I encountered Sea Turtles, Trunk Fish, Snappers, Flounder, Squid, an enormous Scrawled Tile Fish and an incredibly amusing school of Tang with an "ugly duckling" Trumpet Fish nestled among them trying to "blend in" among hundreds of others. I had an easy time snorkeling between The Crawl, Spring Bay and The Baths to the left, as well as a fun stretch to the right as you approach one of the most amazing beaches you will see. Although we ventured by boat to the Norman Caves and The Indians (well worth it), I was otherwise content exploring all the rocks and caves right off of The Bay. The pictures of the villa are accurate. Bernadette and Agatha are delightful. The owners were thoughtful in their perfect vacation creation, and everyone on Virgin Gorda was simply amazing. Make certain to visit The Mermaid for ribs on Sunday, Chez Bamboo and Coco Maya. Bath and Turtle was perfect for delivery to the villa. Great pizzas and menu. Hog Heaven and Saba Rock are must do's. B&B Rentals and Captain Wayne were a perfect combo for Jost Van Dyke excursion. We found Anagada missable, (the reef is dying) but perfect-beach-seekers will love it. If you go, split a whole lobster between two people. The Anagada lobster is incredible. Ribs will blow you away wherever you go. The best I have eaten. Very Minor Drawbacks: Groceries were hard to come by. No bananas, yogurt, half and half, food, LOL! Very different from Tortola. This issue is very time sensitive…the food may rock at other times. I would try Rosie's Market. We found very little at Buck's. Wine was cheap and tasted terrible or it was 500% cost ($120 for Sonoma Cutrer at Coco Maya). You get five flavors of beer NONE of which are ales (Red Hook, Heineken, Corona), but we never made it to the liquor store, so try there. American Express is not welcome. Perhaps you can do some advance research and solve these tiny problems before you arrive. Otherwise, be prepared for a trip of a lifetime! THIS WAS UNFORGETTABLE!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty of the villa and the snorkeling
Liked least: Provisioning the villa. Long hike up from car to kitchen.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gldnpuppe...
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Boy....Did we ever get lucky!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the first year our Caribbean vacation included three other couples..some of which my husband and I had not ever met. So you can imagine the daunting task of finding a house large enough and one in which everyone would be happy and have their own space. A couple of us worked tirelessly on checking out each and every villa on the island via the net, to find just the perfect house. Even though we were familiar with other Caribbean islands, none of us had ever visited Virgin Gorda before. We didn't even have a clue as to where to start or which side of the island would be best. Well...Lady Luck must have been sitting directly on our shoulders the day we came across On The Rocks! From the time we first found it, we felt strongly that it was the house we had been searching for.

My sister-in-law was the one that made contact directly with the owners through VRBO. We were so pleased to hear that it was available the week we were going to be there.... we immediately got it booked before anyone else could! :) All the planning from that time forward became easy. We worked directly through the property manager to set up whatever we needed. She was also so helpful answering any and all our questions...whether it was about the house, restaurants, car rentals or the island in general and always got right back to us. She was incredible to work with. We felt we had the inside track to the island and we were ready to go!

Upon arriving on the island, the property manager was at the airport to greet us and take us directly to the house. When we arrived, we were blown away with the house and the amount of land around it. From the time we ascended the beautiful stone pathway up to the Great House, with all the tropical plants and conch shells....we were already in love. The PM took us all throughout the house to make sure we were acquainted with everything. We were shown all four bedrooms/bathrooms, which were located in three separate buildings. The first bedroom was right off the Great House with a private outdoor shower. That was our room and it was wonderful! The second and third bedrooms were overlooking the pool in the second building...both with open showers. The last bedroom and private outdoor shower was in the third building by itself. It was perfect. All of the rooms were furnished so beautifully and were all set up with King beds. The beds themselves were very comfortable with top of the line linens and coverlets. It made all of us feel very special. We all had our own little Caribbean hideaways, with all the privacy we desired. Everyone was happy.

The Great House had beautifully decorated decor with a living and dinning area, along with a fully stocked kitchen (we did make a contribution to the house of a blue bottle opener :) ). The kitchen had a large stainless refrigerator, lots of counter space and a great gas stove, which made cooking so easy for this size group. Around the corner was a small bar with a separate ice-maker...which kept us supplied with plenty of ice whenever we needed it. In the dinning area, there was even a Bose sound system you could plug your i-pod into and have music all around the Great House/pool area. That was a very nice touch, as we used it all the time. There was also an outdoor grill...with a light for night cooking along with a hammock to enjoy....among the boulders right outside the Great House. The pool area was also very nice and private from the neighbors, thanks to a large boulder and vegetation. Because of the vegetation surrounding the pool itself, you had a choice as to whether you wanted to sit in the sun or the shade..which was also nice. The pool even had a small waterfall, which was pleasant to hear. Lighting all around the house was so nice at night and really helped create a mood at the end of each day. It seems we always ate on the outside table either watching the incredible sunsets each night or greeting the sunrise early in the morning. The patio area became the place to hang out.

The other spectacular part of this house and property were the huge boulders that the house was actually built around. You have these boulders throughout the area between the buildings as well as around the patio and pool areas....but you also have one in the Great House. They just add to the special aspects of this incredible house! Even though the outdoor lighting around the patio area is good, you still have to make sure you watch where you walk...or you will stub a toe (as several of us ended up doing!) :) The entire house also had WiFi/internet, so we could all stay connected to those back home.

The location of this house was so perfect. A 100 yard easy walk down to the beach was great and most of the time we had it completely to ourselves. Couldn't ask for better than that! You could also walk in either direction and be on another completely different beach....with great snorkeling and suntanning on any of them. The neighborhood where the house was located was also a quiet and private one. It was rare you ever came across any other cars on the small road coming in. It ended up being the perfect location for us when we needed to head out...whether going out to eat or simply heading to the grocery store. Everything was close and we were probably only a half mile from The Baths.

Again...I can't stress enough just how helpful and wonderful both the owner and the PM were. In fact, everyone that came to the house, from the pool girl to our housekeeper, were wonderful to be around. They were never intrusive..did a great job and also answered quite a few of our questions.

After being on the island for a week and seeing the entire island, we do in fact feel we were incredibly lucky to have found and chosen On The Rocks as our home-away from home for that week. No other area on the island can compare!

Our entire group has voiced an interest in not only returning to Virgin Gorda...but also returning to On The Rocks. Living at On The Rocks for a week was pure heaven!!!

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home! Hopefully we will see you again in 2014!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful house, location, sunsets...and close proximity to the beach.
Liked least: We all hated to leave it, but we will be back! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;