We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for us next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wait for us next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

A friend recommended the Bitter End and we could not be more thankful. The place is spectacular: blue skies, puffy clouds and water so pristine we saw a lot of the marine life without even getting wet! The hotel is constituted by a series of cottages along the beachfront, the decoration of these is very tasteful and comfortable and each has a hammock to enjoy an afternoon nap, read, etc. The food is great and you have several option if you get tired of great seafood. The crowd is mainly families, sailing people and couples so you will be able to avoid loud, partying kids. And you have a variety of sailcraft you can use for free. The service is attentive and pleasant and if you get bored of paradise, there are several other places close by. I really liked Saba Rock, where I have had the best Painkillers I have ever tried!
If you are looking for a relaxed vacation in a beautiful setting and with many sailing activities as options + good food, this is your place. Converesely, do not come here if you are looking for huges beaches, party crowd or you are not an early morning person (breakfast is served only from 8 to 10 AM).

Room Tip: Rooms in the south part are 'sea level'. For some in the north part you have to be a ountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    100
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
174
175
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We recently returned from our third trip to the BEYC and it was the best one yet! The staff are the friendliest and most helpful folks EVER and the general manager is very present and asks for feedback on everything. The water sports staff are great too - especially Kinto who makes every trip a great time. We stayed in a non-view beachfront villa this time and we didn't miss the view at all since we were a 1 minute walk from the beach, and the price differential made up for our tree view. We've travelled to Virgin Gorda many times now, so feel free to message me with questions.

Room Tip: Some folks complain about the North Sound suites because they are built on a hill and have many step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were welcomed with a fruit basket and bottle of rum in our beachfront cottage. This is an excellent place for water lovers, foodies and those looking to be pampered. The chef prepares several entrees all of which we were allowed a taste and all of the top cuts of meats, fish and poultry perfectly prepared. One can stay on property or get a kayak or speed boat and explore the beaches, which is what we did. Can't wait to return. Hello to all the wonderful staff, thank you for a great week.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahvolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

The BEYC is simply fantastic. Coming over the top of Gorda Peak from Spanish Town, you get a glimpse of this secluded paradise in paradise. The Bitter End is situated on the far side of the North Sound and is surrounded by little islets that almost enclose the bay. The property is breathtaking and there are palm huts with lounge chairs or hammocks for pure relaxation while listening to the waves lap on the shore. For those looking for more excitement, they have ample water activities including sailing, diving, and windsurfing. Also be sure to check out the Crawl Pub for happy hour. The restaurant is great. Eat excellently prepared food on the water in the open air. The only downside I can think of is the that the rooms need renovating, but you shouldn't be spending too much time in there anyway. In conclusion, the Bitter End Yacht Club is a true Caribbean vacation retreat, isolated from the urbanization and modernizing world.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALocalNamedWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our first visit to this rustic resort was wonderful. My two girls 8 and 10, and my wife and I all enjoyed every moment. The area is pristine and gorgeous, the rooms very comfortable, and service for the most part very good. I am a foody and found the selection and quality way above any other all inclusive I have been to. The main resaturant is open air and very relaxing.
Water sports galor. several exceptional staff members and the GM is very visible,caring and involved day to day. You can tell he loves his job.
The upgraded suites are really beautiful and we are considering for next year if our budget allows.
Once you are there it is easy to understand why they achieve a high level of repeat business. In 51 weeks we plan on getting back.
Note: There is a new air service that will take you from St Thomas directly to resort via pontoon plane( in season). Although we missed out on this, it is affordable and will get you there much more quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a great time at the Bitter End. At first it took a while to get used to the distances between things (especially after sleeping on a yacht for a week) but once we had worked out the golf buggy taxi service which is on call when needed this wasn't a problem.

The whole place has a very relaxed and friendly feel and the management clearly is active in encouraging this ethos. The staff were unanimously friendly - especially with our four children who got rather spoilt by all the attention! All rooms are left unlocked and no keys are provided. We were told there were safe deposit boxes but these were rarely used. We decided to be trusting and do the same which felt liberating and of course all our belongings stayed where we left them.

The sailing/sports staff were easy to talk to and happy to accommodate whatever we wanted. The children (aged 6 and 8) did sailing lessons and were keen to go back for more and my husband loved being able to take out any of their fleet of dingus when he felt like it as well as competing in some friendly races.

The food was good, if not great but as much of it was served buffet style it meant it was easy to accommodate the simple tastes of our children and also choose the portion sizes that suited us.

Our room was a little dated but spacious and clean and we loved the low key/low tech feel. For us the whole point of being in the Caribbean was not to pick up a phone or tv remote for a week.

I had an Ayurvedic massage in the spa which I would say was one of the best massages I have ever had. Again the spa is simple and a little dated but totally charming.

By the time we left we had all made a number of friends (most of the guests were North American and as a result happy to talk to strangers unlike us more repressed Brits!) and were pondering when we could next go back for a stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Prickly Pear Island get a better sea breeze than the others and are more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have visited BEYC 7 times now, over the last 20 years, and it just keeps getting better. If you want to relax in a beautiful spot, with great food, friendly service and the laid-back island vibe...there's surely a hammock or lounge chair waiting for you. Even better though, is if your preference is to engage in an active and fun vacation...snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, paddleboarding...if you are a water sports enthusiast, this place needs to be on your "bucket list."

Most recently, I have been visiting Bitter End with my (formerly) landlubber husband and kids. My husband has embraced windsurfing and made tremendous progress under the patient attention of the knowledgeable and friendly Water Sports Staff. He is a landlubber no more! My children, likewise, have joined the Water Sports fan club, truly enjoying the Kids' Camp offerings and gaining independence in use of the vast fleet of beach toys (boats and boards) available there.

For a busy mom like myself, this place is a true vacation. No cooking to do! No laundry! I get to go play too! The friendly and knowledgeable staff, from highest management on down, truly care about and engage with the resort guests and make sure that there are "no worries," and that no need goes unmet.

Looking forward to visit number 8, which is already on the family calendar!

Room Tip: Beachfront villas offer an excellent view of kiteboarding. North Sound Suites are a bit of an uphil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCM_1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
23.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Property: Bitter End Yacht Club
Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club British Virgin Islands/Virgin Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing