We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Get Away”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Beautiful environmentally conscious resort with superb food and great staff. Loved my beachfront room with great views of the ocean and the Drake Channel and a wonderfully comfortable hammock. The included watersports were fantastic. I sailed, windsurfed, and SUPed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    100
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
178
181
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We moored by Bitter End Yacht Club for a night however the main facility was closed to the public due to a booking of the entire place when we were there so did not have a chance to have drinks or a meal there...it looked nice! The location is great and we enjoyed our overnight stay in the area, we ended up going to another restaurant in the area and also did some shopping at a few of the stores in North Sound.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Good location to relax. Overall the Bitter End YC is good - lot of activities, etc. We were on a sail boat and for the second year in a row the Bitter End was sold out to a group of about 40 people and closed, even the bar, to anyone else. People like us spend a lot of money and travel a lot if miles to get to the BVI and the Bitter End is always a destination. However, they are clearly not real interested in our business (and the many people like us). Go to Saba Rock instead - they actually appreciate the business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailBEYC, Director of Sales at Bitter End Yacht Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear RC P,
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy Bitter End Yacht Club during your visit to the British Virgin Islands in early December. From time to time, Bitter End does make itself available to family, social, and business groups for their sole enjoyment. In those rare instances, we are in regular contact with all the local charter companies so that their guests are fully aware of what is available at BEYC prior to departing for North Sound. We realize that there are a variety of choices in North Sound these days, and for nearly 40 years we have built a solid reputation of being extremely welcoming to visiting boaters. Prior to your next BVI visit, please feel free to reach out to us in advance, and we will take the utmost care of you.
All the Best,
John A. Glynn
V.P. Sales & Marketing
Bitter End Yacht Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed with my family for six days over Thanksgiving. The Bitter End, as promised, has an incredible array of boats, windsurfers, kayaks, dinghies and paddleboards. You almost never have to wait for just what you want. The North Sound is a perfect place to sail, sheltered from waves but a good steady breeze. There are lots of other activities at hand: a small beach area and swimming on the property, excursions for snorkeling and sightseeing, and a diving service. The service is great. The food is pretty good, but not great. It's perfect for people who want to be active and nirvana for sailors. Overall, it's a very good value considering the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This place is just amazing if you want to stay busy or just listen to the waves and watch the clouds move by.
The good;
The service by most is over the top. The activities shop has a couple of guys running at 140% over the top. They want to make sure you are over the top enjoying your stay. The poolside bar has a guy that who again is over the top. The place is managed and also arranges weddings by Mary Joe who is running at 150%, just extraordinary. The dive shop, again, in my 40 plus years of diving, is above and beyond in making sure you are having the best dive ever.
The scene is absolutely stunning. Sailboats in the harbor with the sun setting behind. A fairly mild surf in the bay for any water sport you can name (except jet ski's which would ruin the peace and quite). Fish jumping and turtles can be seen almost ever hour on the hour.
The rooms clean, "nice" and in good order. This is not luxury, but more of an upgraded cabinish feel. If you don't want a little warmth get an air-conditioned room. If you into relaxing, your patio is it, hammock and all. If you want sand at your feet, go to for a beach hammock or lounge chair. While some may complain that this property is way too spread out - others will say, it means you can enjoy your space and spot on the beach a million miles away from any crowds.
The so - so; (and this is being critical as when everything else is so great it is hard to call anything here so-so) A couple of the staff are just so-so - again hard when most the staff is running at 100% plus. The food was good to great, with a so-so meal slipping in now and then. The menu after a week started to wear a little thin. Again its hard to be critical when it is on average very good or better most the time.
The only bad I can come up with is the bed pedestal. The bed pedestal is 6" bigger on all sides than the mattress and has sharp corners on it. We all compared shin bruises caused from hitting the bed pedestal in the middle of the night.
Make sure you get the all exclusive package ( I think we had the Admirals package). The food without the package would be pricey, the boats rentals and other water fun seemed pricey also. With the package everything is included - boats, food, trips, ect. For me when it is all included it was great - fun and food at my beck and call. If I was pulling out the wallet for each dinner or sail boat rental - my ratings would be much lower especially in the area of value. I highly recommend the package.
We had a group there and it could not have been a nicer place for my daughters wedding, serviced by some of the best, with everyone having the time of the lives.

Room Tip: If you are not warm humid comfortable, get air conditioning. If you love your patio, pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhowbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th visit, so we knew what to expect. We stayed in a premium beachfront cottage - comfy bed, plenty of storage space, plenty of hot water, efficient air con and waking up to a fabulous view. We've always been a little disconcerted by the rooms having no locks, so we were pleased to see a safe, however it didn't work, and despite reporting this on day 1, it was never fixed.

Wifi is very limited - only a small area outside the main restaurant, but is better at the pub. Would be great if the resort managed to put wifi in all the rooms.

Food was good, improved from previous visits (thumbs up in particular for the fajitas and beef roti!), however still a little uninspiring on occasions, which would impact more for a longer stay. Service was generally good.

Used the beach rather than the pool as the latter had no shade if you wanted to use a lounger rather than sit at a table.

Sailing resources are fabulous - and this is matched by the location. The dive school (Sunchaser scuba) run by Ben and Kay is awesome.

This place does what it says on the tin, but you are responsible for making sure you have a good time - no-one will do it for you, and you have to be pro-active. If you're after pure luxury and being 'looked after', go somewhere else........

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allatseaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

One of the best trips we've taken! Just when the stress had reached a peak we found the Bitter End. Food was good, the water was beautiful and the guys from watersports took us under their wing and kept us entertained and out of trouble. While at the resort, we met new friends that we'll have for life and we're already looking forward to going back.

You guys are awesome!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with AC!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jotto73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
185 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Property: Bitter End Yacht Club
Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club British Virgin Islands/Virgin Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing