We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great breakfast buffet, but watch you charges in the grocery store”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was great. the omelet bar was wonderful, and the staff is very friendly. about $25/person. Later we shopped for groceries in the store. We charged $50, but they submitted the charge as $200. Waiting to hear from my CC company about the dispute. Price of the groceries are crazy- $12 for a bag of potato chips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Bitter End Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

BEYC is stunning. If you are coming for R&R, or water sports, prepare to be pleased. Service in the restaurant, however, is painfully slow (even for "island time"), and the stores were not stocked with an assortment of sizes (we were told they stock up in February - - too late for the tall folks back home who we hoped to surprise w/ a T). That said, the food was well prepared when it arrived, and what merchandise they had was of good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler-md-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

BEYC is gorgeous. Great sailing, helpful staff, and the beachfront cottages where we stayed were excellent. I titled this review in connection with how I guess things go at meals on a big ship. It is crowded, there is a lot of good food, but the service is mixed to be charitable. Order a drink and get ready to wait 20-30 mins. Some people may chalk this up to "Caribbean time"' but given the price and as compared to say Caneel Bay, we were frustrated at times. (On a couple of occasions we ordered wine when we sat down for dinner only to have the bottle arrive during dessert...this sort of captures it.). Also, this is a very big kite boarding place, but the only hitch was all the lesson slots were taken when we arrived for a week! (I would add btw, and separate from the kite "issue"', that the sailing stuff could not have been more engaging or helpful.)

I guess I would recommend (a) going during a shoulder season and (b) avoid getting a cabin on the hill as they are off in the boonies. Finally, they have a very well provisioned little store right there which is reasonably priced (but not a steal).

Room Tip: See above commentary
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We just did our fifth visit the the Bitter End Yacht Club with our three children ages 13-20. You can get a better location for a resort. Our favorite aspect about the resort is the incredible water sports and activities that are included if you stay for there for seven nights. Every day we are either sailing, scuba diving or doing an boat excursion to another beautiful destinations in the BVIs. The sailing staff and the scuba diver staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. We love how the suites blend in with the surroundings with your own outside decks and hammocks. The resort is very comfortable and casual - a bit rustic. The food is OK but it is always fresh and a good selection. If you are a sailor or boating type of person who think you are in heaven! By husband loves to watch all the boat activity in the harbor.

Room Tip: We prefer the suites located across from Saba rock since this area of the resort gets consistent win...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhound355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The main selling points are for this hotel is that it is water themed and it friendly for children based families. The hotel resort is provides as much activities as possible so you can as much as you want or little. On the Monday they have a cocktail evening which gives you a chance to meet up with old friends or meet new friends. The hotel has its own fleet of boats which you can charter out for a day or for a couple of days and do your own thing. The staff and th hotel are amazing and would love to go back.... fingers crossed i win the lottery

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell_164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you are looking for paradise the Bitter End Yacht Club is it! The resort is amazing, with beautiful beaches and snorkeling, truly the most beautfiul place I have ever been! There is so much to do, renting sailboats, tours and wonderful dining options. We ate at the resort and also enjoyed the nightly movies they showed for kid's and they even provide free popcorn! The service is exceptional, and the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and accomodate anything you need. Wonderful "Must stop" when sailing or visiting the BVI!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriembrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was one of the many things that we saw as a must-do in the BVI. It was pretty busy but there were plenty of mooring balls so that wasn't an issue.We didn't stay in the rooms as we slept on the yacht, but we did have lunch, dinner, shopped, went to the beach and pool. It's not the cheapest place to moor up in the BVI, but it's certainly worth it. The food was excellent, good atmosphere in the Crawl Pub and all of the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The views are excellent from the Grill and you immediately feel relaxed. Although we didn't participate there are a lot of water sports activities to choose from here - you need to be aware of this when you approach either the marina or moorings as people are learning to sail dinghy's, canoe, kite surf etc and a lot of them don't have much control over where they're going. The views from the resort are gorgeous, but then that's no so unique in the BVI ; )

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
189 reviews
13.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range: £387 - £980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club British Virgin Islands/Virgin Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing