We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Watersports and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for Watersports and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a week at the Bitter End Yacht Club on the Admirals Package. This is a resort has a very laid back attitude. It is not fancy, but when your room/cottage sits 80 ft up the hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you remember that this is a yacht club rather than fancy upscale resort. The rooms higher up on the hill rely on tradewinds and ceiling fan for cooling. Rooms lower on the hill have A/C. Food was good at both the main restaurant and the Pub. Most servers are good to great. But, we ended up with one that was less than poor. Needless to say, we did not see her on the island again. The boats and watersports equipment are well kept. Sunset sails and snorkeling trips were fantastic. The Diving company onsite runs a top-end operation. The dive masters were as much a valet on the boat as they were super-guides underwater. We never had to do any lifting of equipment. This is not a destination for anyone with mobility concerns and is not wheelchair accessible. Lots of walking and stair climbing.

Room Tip: The higher the better view. The trade off is climbing the M.C. Escher-style stairs to the top level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resqtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    100
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
174
178
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just returned from a week at The Bitter End resort on Virgin Gorda, BVI. There were eleven of our family, five granddaughters from 2 to 14 and six adults from 37 to 70! This was our fifth visit over the last 28 years and we are still thrilled with The Bitter End experience. While catering mostly to sail boaters ( a complete sailboat inventory of all sizes), they also have small Boston Whalers for guest use (at no charge). This is a very secure resort with attentive Kids Camp, PG movies at night, snorkel trips, day trips, 2 good restaurants (included with room), beautiful beaches, pool and spa. This is not a posh resort- it is for those of us who love salt water and everything to do in it. Rooms could us some "spiffing" up but still great! We will be back!!

Room Tip: We like the Premium Beachfront rooms but put our children in the North Sound suites because they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An all inclusive resort which is located in the quiet of the islands. There is no golf course, no jet skis, loud music, or shopping. If you love water sports, snorkeling, fine dining, and a laid-back friendly atmosphere, this is your place. The cottages are all located on a hillside over looking the North Sound. Instead of air conditioning, listen to the waves coming over the reef and sit on your porch enjoying the water views. Daily planned activities are perfect for everyone. We saw many family reunions and honeymoon couples enjoying the experience.

Room Tip: There are stairs to the cottages and several levels. If stairs are a problem, select a lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our third visit to BEYC. We appreciate the water sports variety and attentive staff. The options from mono hull day sailers to Hobie cats is excellent. Food is always great with variety. We select BEYC in part because of the rustic feel to the cottages but with the comforts and amenities all there. The organized snorkel and sailing trips are great and lots of fun.

There is plenty to do if you are outdoor and water oriented. If you want the hotel/resort scene by the pool and all the comforts of a traditional hotel, this is not your place.

If you want to dock or spend the night while sailing this is an ideal setting and location.

Room Tip: Cottages around N or South 16 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virgin gorda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It a beautiful place indeed . But the service of the marina sucks people at the marina were rude and polite is not in their dictionary . The reason that we dock here was because we needed energy but we couldn't get current because their generator it's so bad that it took almost 15 hours to be able to recharge , also the manager was nastiest person that I have meet in all the travels that I have done , she answer rude ignore when u were greeting her
If u had a question she didn't provide any help. I think that woman it's phisichly uncapable of smiling or being nice to anybody . First and last time I dock here. If u have another option to dock I highly suggested because bitter end is the best description for their dock employees. Incompetence and really nasty treatment.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carlos910r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently got married and my wife and I chose the Bitter End Yacht Club to spend our Honeymoon. Choosing the Bitter End Yacht Club (BEYC) was the perfect decision. The BEYC is the ultimate vacation destination for both couples and families. This resort has mastered the High End Luxury Hotel experience with the laid back feel. The staff could not have been nicer from the moment we arrived in the BVI. We stayed in a beach front cottage, which had spectacular views and was cozy and romantic. As foodies, we are very particular about our food. The menu at BEYC changes each night keeping us excited for our next meal. Our favorite meal of the week was the Tuesday night barbeque, which featured a pig roast, and Jerk chicken, a local favorite. After dinner a reggae band played getting the crowd in the island spirit. They even invited me up on stage to sing with them! Not being much of a sailor I told myself I had to take advantage of being in the sailing capital of the world. The staff so was nice and encouraging that by the end of the trip I was sailing a hobie cat on my own. The best part about the resort is that is not accessible by car so you are truly in an exclusive setting. Our week of taking the blue water excursions, hiking, attempting to wind surf and just spending time just relaxing on the beach could not have been better. We will certainly be making this an annual and or bi annual vacation for my family for the many years to come.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you decide to book a room that has AC. The winds to keep the rooms cool, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect week long vacation Memorial Day week. Bitter End Yacht Club is truly a special place in the perfect location surrounded by natural beauty. We had the admirals package in a beachfront cottage. The food was excellent and so were the excursions to the Indians, Norman Island, Jost Van Dyke, and Anegada. We loved sailing the multitude of different boats each day as well as the Boston whalers.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
23.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Property: Bitter End Yacht Club
Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club British Virgin Islands/Virgin Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing