We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great resort, but getting overbuilt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still a great resort, but getting overbuilt”
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We've visited the BEYC 4 times over the past 20 years. Our most recent visits were in 2006 and 2004. The rooms, the view and sailing choices are excellent. It has been sad to see the reduction in beach space as the resort continues to develop. The food is not bad, but not 5 star either. It is still a nice place for families who like alot of sailing and other excursions.

  • Liked — the rooms and the views
  • Disliked — the food and the development on the beadh
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank woodzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    100
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
177
181
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My wife and I did our honeymoon there and it was perfect,,,the rooms on the couples-only side of the island were neat little cabin type rooms, very rustic, but nice and cozy, the food was ok, some of the staff were excellent, others could have tried a little harder, but we were on our honeymoon, so it was good.
We did a 10 day trip (bought an extra day on the 9 day package) and did 3 nights in one of the Freedom sail boats. The wife had almost zero sailing experience and I had never skippered a boat before but had been “crew” on a dozen or so day trips with different sized boats,,I admit I was nervous, but the freedoms are not high performance boats, very east to sail, the wind in November was good enough to sail, but we did a bit of motoring as well, had so much fun just showing up and dropping the anchor where ever we liked, we planned day trips and did scuba trips from the boat,,it was awesome, definitely recommend doing some time on shore and some time on a boat..
We saw families with kids who liked Bitter end too. They had counselors who were running activities for the kids, so it seemed to be family friendly as well,,,it was good they had families on one side of the property and couples only on the other side…

Stayed November 2003
Helpful?
4 Thank ruusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My husband and I just returned yesterday from a 7 night stay. What a wonderful place to stay. Our accomodations, while not luxurious, were extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. And it is true...the showers are fabulously large!

We love all water sports so we were extremely happy to be able to use all of the boats and join the snorkel trips that were offered. Extremely gracious hosts. The sailing staff are great! The sailing lessons were extremely informative and helpful.

Food: Not one bad meal served at this resort. While it may be an all-inclusive for some, it is not all inclusive food. THe food was extremely fresh, the homebaked bread to die for and the key lime pie, one of the best we have ever had and we travel ALOT.

All in all a great place to rest for a week or two. An even better place had we had our children with us. Thanks to everyone at the Bitter End who made our week so much fun......

  • Liked — The location and the amenities offered
  • Disliked — Nothing...
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank packedtogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay area
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Having three teenagers we all felt that we picked the perfect place. The Bitter End was great! Before we decided to go there we looked into the other resorts on the island and also the house rentals, but they all lacked the boat excursions and snorkle trips.Going all the way to the BVI we wanted to be out on the water and that is what we were able to do. We took day trips to the Baths, to Norman Island, Cooper Island and Anegada and we also did local snorkling trips and they were so fun. The guys that run the boats are very helpful and nice. The snorkling was great, the water was so warm and the beaches were beautiful. We have been to Hawaii many times but this water was so clear and the colors were like nothing we've seen. Having all of these boat and snorkle trips included in our package for the five of us was a great deal. Plus, the resort itself is a fun and relaxing place. We stayed in the North Sound Suite with the A/C which was needed in June and even with a roll away we had plenty of space in our room, a great view, and the best shower (it's like a separate room.) It was quiet there, all we could hear were the birds. The refrigerator is stocked with soda and water (no charge). We could walk or call for the taxi (large golf cart) and he would be waiting for us before we could all get up the stairs to the road. It was a great service. The food was better than we thought it would be. There was an incredible selection and a beautiful spot to sit and eat. On the boat excursions they had BBQ's with fish, chicken, hamburgers and hot dogs with salads and desserts. More than we expected. The kids were always happy-- there were plenty of choices. We did some hiking and just relaxed at the beach and by the pool. It is a beautiful spot. The month of June was a warm (sometimes hot) time to go but there were less people (only 15 on our Norman Island trip.)
We loved our vacation at the Bitter End. It was a great place to all be togther.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and view
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank N0rCalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

We just returned from an 8 day stay for our 10th anniversary, having also come here for our honeymoon. I think one needs to understand the resort before coming in order to enjoy it.

Apart from the sunburn, we had a great time. We did two excursions and a local reef trip. One day I did the resort SCUBA diving course which was amazing while my husband took the free sailing course in the morning and then the second class in the afternoon. The next day he was able to take us out on the Hobie Wave. We also took kayaks one day and a whaler another day for more exploration around the Sound. While snorkeling and diving we saw amazing schools of fish, turtles, sting rays, lobster, coral, and squid.

One of the reasons we chose BEYC over other places in the area (Biras Creek, Little Dix, etc) was that we wanted a more informal area. We could wear t-shirts, shorts, and sandals to all meals. And while there were many families present, we were never really bothered by the kids. There are scheduled activities every day, but no one is going to pester you to do anything. You have to go to the watersports center to sign up.

And now for the honest evaluation:

Rooms
Both times we stayed in the North Sound Suites with the air conditioning. The first time, we were low on the hill, so the location didn't seem a problem. It is a little less than .5 mile from this area to the restaurant, so it was just a pleasant walk to and from the area. This time, we were almost at the top of the hill. The hike down wasn't bad, but coming back up was a chore. We would plan our treks down to minimize having to return to our room. By the end of the trip, though, we frequently just took the taxi back up. The room itself was fine. The view off the balcony was amazing. The bed was comfortable, though the pillows were way too thick for my liking.

Food
We were on the meal plan, so took almost all our meals at the restaurant. Don't be misled by claims of the resort having 3 restaurants. The week we were there, the Carvery was never open, so all dinners were at the Clubhouse. There is the Pub, but that is not included in the meal plan. The food at the Clubhouse is fine, but the menu doesn't change (though they do have different theme nights which are buffets with different entrees). So by the end of the trip, having sampled everything, we just ate at the Pub. Service, while friendly, is incredibly slow. We waited 30 minutes at the Clubhouse for grilled cheese sandwiches one lunch, and our pizzas at the Pub took over 50 minutes (and there was only one other table occupied when we ordered, so it wasn't due to being overly busy).

Beaches
As others have said, the beaches aren't great. The sand (at least near the North Sound Suites) is pebbly, and the ocean floor is covered in grass. We had water shoes, though, so neither of these things really bothered us. And there was never any one else at this beach. The beach by the Clubhouse looked a little nicer, and seemed more popular. That is, maybe 1/3 of the lounges were occupied.

Excursions
We went on 2 excursions, both on the Corinthian. 10 years ago, we went on one on the Paranda, but the lack of indoor seating made us prefer the Corinthian this time. The actual trip may or may not be what is described on the daily information sheet. One trip was entitled "Best of Virgin Gorda" and was supposed to visit the Baths, Fallen Jerusalem, Savannah Bay, and more. It ended up being Devil's Bay, Spanish Town, and Nail Bay. Another trip was to Norman Island which was supposed to be The Caves, The Indians, Pelican Island, and The Bight. We actually went to The Caves, Kelly's Cove, tried to do the Rhone but it was too choppy, and then The Chimney off Great Dog. If you just want a pure snorkeling trip, go on the local reef trips. The excursion is as much about just seeing more of the island chain as it is doing some snorkeling.

If all of this seems a bit negative, it is just to try to give a more realistic view of the resort than the pretty pictures on the website show. We did have a great vacation, but I don't think the resort is for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank eloracm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ynez, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

If you love the beach or laying on a sunny deck...you should not stay at Bitter End. All the rooms were on the North side of the island in complete shade throughout the day. The rooms are old and surrounded by jungle. They do have views of the channel water.
As for beaches on the resort, they are pretty skimpy with rough sand and vegetation debris. Except for the beach right in front of the restaurant, the shallow water is full of eel-grass.
If you want beautiful beaches, and want them all to yourself, you can take a skiff or hobie and within 10 minutes be on an idyllic white sand beach.
We found the snorkeling off any of the nearby beaches to be less than desirable, but enjoyed the afternoon snorkle trip to the reef, even though the ocean was rough and we couldn't safely swim into the shallower water where the best snorkeling would have been. Actually, the water was pretty rough the whole time we were there (1 week), which prevented us from visiting The Baths from the day-trip snorkeling boat. Instead, we we delivered to the town's dock where we had a choice of visiting air-conditioned shops or getting a drink in an open air bar. The lunch served onboard the boat was good and the fish they barbequed was the best we had the entire week.
I would say, if you're looking for a great spot to sail, or take lessons in any watersport, Bitter End is your kind of resort. But as for beach-goers, snorkelers, time in the sun with a good book kind of people...this is not where you want to be.

  • Liked — The sunny end of the resort with the pool.
  • Disliked — The depressing old decrepit rooms with absolutely NO
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sunny-Soleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed at BEYC for our honeymoon in January of 2000. We were in one of the villas. The views of the Caribbean were spectacular and I loved just relaxing and reading on the hammock. We came to Virgin Gorda after spending a week in a villa on St. John. Afterwards, we both decided we prefered the villa over BEYC but BEYC was still a unique experience we will never forget. We learned all about sailing and did some scuba diving. Both experiences are very memorable. We did spend some time on the beach which I found to be okay but like past reviewers have said, the beaches aren't the most amazing the Carribean has to offer and swimming is not ideal here (we didn't even know there was a pool until the end of our trip because we were at the other end of the resort and never thought to really check into it further). The food was okay--club food. Nothiing too memorable. Overall, if you have the money to blow and love to sail, etc. this is a great place (very unique!). However, I felt the resort pricey for what the accomodations are, etc. plus its remote and hard to get to. We aren't big sailing enthusists and while I'm glad for the experience we had, I don't think we will go back. I'd rather spend that kind of money elsewhere.

  • Liked — The unique experience
  • Disliked — The overall experience was not worth the cost
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TimeTravelerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
13.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
98 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Property: Bitter End Yacht Club
Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club British Virgin Islands/Virgin Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing