We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who want privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For those who want privacy”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just spent a week at Peter Island and had a great time. There are pros and cons just like anywhere in the World. Pros - STAFF first and foremost makes this resort such a success. Food is fabulous, I recommend the full meal package, if you think you can go between breakfast and dinner, then do that package, but we found that we could've eaten lunch each day and for the difference in cost it would've been worth it. Rooms, we stayed in 203 which was a junior beach suite, next time we will request a downstairs room as you will have access to your own private hammock! Cons, this is NOT a resort for kids, other than some water activity there is nothing for them to do, and the food is really not geared for kids nor is their dining area. The resort switches off restaurants every night, so one night is casual dining with a more extensive lunch menu while the next night is more formal, where they ask that you not wear tee shirts, etc. it is not a resort for anyone having a mobility problem, you walk up hills to get anywhere - good for walking off all the calories! All in all a great place, very private, no tv in the room, however wireless is available. For those who do take the meal and drink plan, please tip generously. They offer a day at Whitemans Beach that you can order lunch to be delivered at a certain time, great privacy again, but resort really needs to tend to the cabanas and the furniture, very worn. Housekeepers were slow, and they tended to forget to replenish beach towels, coffee, glasses, but we were able to get replacements ourselves. The resort does not supply bath gel so if that's what you use, take your own as the least expensive at the spa was $25+ a bottle. While I didn't do any massages at the spa, I did have a mani/pedi and it was nothing special so get one before you go and save $$$. As this was our first visit here, we now know what to expect and what to being when we return in November, 2014

Room Tip: If you are staying in the Junior Beach Suite I recommend 201 if you want a bottom floor room with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LochFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    155
    64
    40
    15
See reviews for
106
578
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We sailed around the BVI in December and decided to make Peter Island our last days stop for a bit of luxury off the yacht before heading home. The marina is small and we booked in advance and upon arrival the docking guy was on hand to help us and give us a brief run down on the resort. The resort itself is beautiful and really idyllic. It's well spaced out and they have not been tempted to cram things in. We had lunch and dinner in the main restaurant and both the service and food were without fault. We also enjoyed a couple of painkillers (probably the best we had in the BVI) and some other excellent cocktails before dinner in the bar - the best cocktails we had. It's a lovely setting overlooking the beach and very peaceful with a lovely laid back Caribbean vibe. We stayed on the boat but next time, we'll book a room as we'll certainly be going back. I'd say it's good value and an excellent venue to celebrate something special too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I visited Peter Island during our sailboat charter. We moored our sailboat on one of the mooring balls in Great Harbour Bay and took our dingy to shore. We then walked a path to Peter Island Resort,where we had lunch in their beachfront restaurant and went swimming at their gorgeous Deadman's beach! The beach is stunning and is lined with Palms. We walked through the resort grounds and found all areas to be beautifully landscaped and the setting very peaceful and serene. The staff was friendly and the service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two weeks at Peter Island over Christmas and New Year's. There were Pros and Cons.
Pros: beautiful location, wonderful accommodations,terrific food and very friendly staff. They went out of their way to provide a festive Christmas complete with Santa and Mokka Jumbie dancers(stilt dancers) and a steel drum band. New Year's Eve was a Pirates of the Caribbean adventure with great music, fantastic food, plus Pirate hats, swords, eye patches, etc. for everyone to wear to add to the fun. We chartered the sailboat "Silmaril" for a day sail and had a marvelous time snorkeling at Norman Island.This was our best day at the resort. Our rooms were 201 and 202 at the very end of the beach and were the BEST rooms among the Junior Beach Suites. We had connecting rooms as there were 3 of us, and each room had a nice patio and a hammock on the grass in front of it. There was nothing between us and the gorgeous view of Deadman's Bay. Cons: Winter is NOT the time to go to Peter Island as the trade winds blow a real gale and effect all water activities. White caps and wind constantly blowing made for tiring days on the beach. . This is not a place for people with mobility problems as everything requires going up and down a hilly road but the resort does offer rides to wherever you want to go. Servicing of the rooms was not good. Our rooms were never made up until 2:00pm or 3:00pm and housekeepers often forgot little things such as resupplying the ice bucket or giving us clean glasses. The stair light at the entrance to our room was never replaced even though we requested it twice. We would expect more of such an expensive resort. We would suggest that anyone going to Peter Island limit their stay to a week or less, request a ground floor Beach Front Junior Suite, and do NOT go mid-winter when the winds are blowing so hard.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level Beach Front Junior suites. Ask for 202 (The farthest down the beach) or 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 492anned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was the most amazing holiday EVER! We flew in from San Juan to Tortola & then the Peter Island ferry brought us to the island (about 20-25 min ride).
Highly recommend doing a massage immediately after lunch on day of arrival. GREAT way to quickly unwind.
The staff & service on the island is INCREDIBLE! (Especially Claudette!!) Really.... the folks treated us so warmly & graciously all week. They anticipated our every need, but miraculously did so without hovering. We had a great deal of privacy when we wanted it, but engaging conversation & interaction when we sought it.
Do NOT miss the spa! We had three separate treatments (couples massage, facials, and Bohio Escape) ALL were amazing and some of the best treatments we'd ever received.
A day of sailing with Jason & Lindsey on the Simaril was also a highlight. They were accommodating and put together a super fun itinerary for us. (Although one of us was sea-sick it was still fun and worth the money! Don't forget to get a prescription seasick patch before you come if you're prone to motion sickness. It will make all the difference in the world.)
Definitely do the meal plan. It was very cost effective. The variety of offerings was more than sufficient & quite nice. We got the Partial Meal Plan -- it provided breakfast (a VERY nice hot & cold buffet or you could order from the menu) and full dinner. No lunch is included, but we just had lunch at the beach restaurant. Not bad on the wallet.
Be sure to get fresh baked cookies from Jean Kelly every afternoon (before she catches the 4pm ferry back to Tortola!!)
PLEASE, do yourself a favor... book this trip. It will be the best of your lifetime!

Room Tip: We DIDN'T book an Oceanside room. Just booked a poolside room & were very happy with that ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We returned to Peter Island for the second time. We wanted to just relax and enjoy the island. Loved that it is secluded and only has 52 rooms. You feel like your the only one staying there! Stayed in the ocean view rooms and really enjoyed the view. Rained a lot this time but the temps were still comfortable. Food was good but seemed to lack the presentation we enjoyed the first time.They were in the first week of a new menu so that might have been the reason. The staff is great and made the week enjoyable! My wife had a massage at the spa and totally enjoyed it! Loved going to White Bay beach for the day, they bring you a packed lunch and only have no more than 4 other couples there. Also enjoyed Dead Man's beach and the sunset lookout.

Room Tip: DO THE MEAL PLAN!! Loved the second floor ocean view rooms on the point, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steveslawnsvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is the first time we stayed at this property and it exceeded our expectations. My wife and I stayed in an second floor Ocean View room for 5 nights in November 2013. We had a partial ocean view since our view from our balcony was partially blocked by the Club house located next to the pool. The rooms further out on the point did not appear to have this issue. Our room was rather small but more than sufficient since we did not speed much time in it. We had a King sized bed that was relatively comfortable. Our package included the American meal plan consisting of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast and lunch were average. Dinners were above average when you were able to order off the menu; however, the two buffet nights left something to be desired. You could get away with just eating breakfast and dinner if you did not want to purchase the full meal plan. However, lunch provided the greatest value since the portion sizes were quite large. Our favorite beach was Dead Man’s beach. Going to White Bay beach was worthwhile; however, we thought Honeymoon beach was nothing special. We highly recommend watching the sunset at the loop at least once. There was a good mix of people staying at the resort. I would say about 25% were honeymooners, 25% babymooners, 25% retired vacationers, and 25% other. I would stay at this property again and strongly recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms further out on the point have better ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loco_Leprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, West Indies, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing