We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and Events....Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I know that this review is a little late...however...that does not detract in any way from our experience.

From the first contact to the completion of the wedding and departure from the Island, we had a 5 star service.
Our Wedding Co-ordinator Edward will be forever burned into our hearts for the way him and all the staff on Peter Island dedicated themselves to ensuring that not only my bride and I but all our guests...from 7 yrs old to 71 yrs old...were made to feel special and the center of their attention.

From the laughter and warmth that we received arriving at the Island to the smiles and wonderful Carribbean lilt every time people spoke to you. There was nothing that was too much trouble, even to the point that when we did the Trash the Dress shoot the day after the wedding at the end of Deadman's Beach and the children were hot and thirsty, Edward with staff from the restaurant, brought a table, chairs, drinks and lunch...and set it up under a palm tree for us.
Idyllic...!!

This level of service was the norm for the course of the trip...all our guests left vowing to return.
We hoped for this level of service to make our wedding wonderful and the Staff of Peter Island did not let us down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevorCiganin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We should have known by the transportation Peter Island provided to get there what kind of amazing service and vacation experience we were in for. From the start, after boarding the boat, we were treated like gold. Once on the island, the staff was so attentive. The island is so calm and peaceful. We did yoga down by the spa in the morning. We relaxed and snorkeled at the beach. When I say we, I mean us and maybe 6 others on the beach. And the beach was just gorgeous! We realized half way through our trip that we had to stop asking "Can we..." and instead say "We'd like...", because they do everything here to make you feel like you are #1. We would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANCTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed Peter island resort for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. The staff treated us like family and you become very close with them! The good was outstanding, and I would HIGHLY recommend the wine tasting and food pairing with Rimple, as he is extremely knowledgeable and so much fun! We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcoll0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As they said when we got onto the island, "There is a lot to do, or nothing." They were absolutely correct.

This was our first trip to Peter Island and from the moment they picked us up at the airport the service was stellar. We flew into STT on an early afternoon flight and arranged through the resort to take a short taxi ride to the harbor and a leisurely 1.5 hour boat ride to Peter Island. And even though our flight was delayed (of course) they were kind enough to hold the boat until we arrived. The ride over involved a quick stop at BVI customs and then on to Peter Island. The ride is very scenic and a nice welcome to the islands.

At welcome, they take you through a quick welcome talk basically describing what you can do....or don't have to do on the island. There was never any sales pressure like you get at some other resorts to do any activities/excursions. They gave us a check in package and quickly took us to our room to get ready for dinner.

The food was excellent. There are 2 main restaurants at the resort, and for the most part they alternate dinner between the 2 each night. Breakfast is always at the main restaurant by the pool (Tradewinds) and lunch is always at the beach restaurant. My wife is vegetarian and they made note of her diet wishes and always made sure there were options for her. I do recommend getting the meal plan, at least the breakfast and dinner plan as it worked decisively in our favor. Plus who wants to choose between the steak or seafood based on price.

The beaches were magnificent. The main beach offers nice white sand, clear blue water and plentiful lounge chairs. And even though it was the "main beach" we never felt crowded. There are a couple other beaches we checked out, one being White Bay beach where you can sign out (at no cost) a beach hut to spend the day at. There are only 6 on the beach (no 5 or 6 are the best in our opinion) so you are pretty secluded. If you wish they will even deliver a picnic lunch while you are there.

My wife did enjoy a spa package and said the spa was well appointed and service was very good.

We stayed in an ocean view room. These rooms are the original resort rooms on the island are a bit older than the beachfront rooms. They are near the marina/restaurant/pool while the beach front rooms are right on Deadmans beach (right over the hill). While I personally found the ocean view rooms more than adequate, nice view, comfortable, convenient, quiet and lots of space. I could see how the beachside rooms would be a nice step up. With that, the cost is quite a step up. I did hear they will be doing renovations on all of the ocean view rooms within the next year, a face lift would be good. But I have no complaints. Also, none of the rooms have a TV, which I personally like but just a heads up. Wifi is free and pretty good.

Now for the item that set Peter Island apart from many of other resorts we have stayed at. Service. The employees at the resort were very kind, thoughtful and were there if you needed them. By the end of our stay many of the staff knew us and even what beverages we liked at meals. Jennifer was kind enough to spend a good amount of time trying to find the Olympics on the TV in the rec room after I gave up so we could check on how things were going. I would also like to thank Edward for making our last dinner on the island special.

One closing thought that I found kind of telling on what kind of resort Peter Island is. When we started talking with couples that were on the transfer boat to the resort, we were the only ones who had not been to the resort before. And after spending a week there, I know why many people choose to go back multiple times.

Room Tip: If you go Ocean View, try to get a room toward the point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fuzz005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us and for sharing this wonderful review! We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay so much, and particularly that you so appreciated our staff members, who we are proud and so fortunate to have. We hope that you two will be among the many repeat couples and families who regularly join us for their vacations, who we enjoy getting to know and pampering over the years. We hope to see you soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had the best time in Peter Island for our Honeymoon! It was a great place to relax, hang out on the beautiful beaches and enjoy the amazing weather!! We went in February, which is high-season. It was fabulous!! One of or FAVORITE parts was the Wine Dinner with Rimple on Thursday night! It's not a hoity toity dinner, at all! My husband and I are not wine snobs and know nothing about wine. It was such a fun, relaxed environment. We ate delicious food and drank even more delicious wines! Rimple is FANTASTIC! We are in our late 20s, but there were people there from our age to theirs 70s! It's a place for adults of all ages! We met another couple our age there on their honeymoon and had a great time with them! The food is delicious and great for the health-conscious (myself). The spa is fabulous too!! They are going to be doing some updates to the rooms in April, which I think will add a lot to the resort! Fabulous place, we will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our sixth visit to Peter Island in the last 12 years and as usual, it was wonderful! The staff (Jean, Juliana, Derrick, Jennifer, Sheila, Marsha and the rest of the staff) made us feel like family! They are the best in the Caribbean! Since our last visit Wilbur has done quite a lot of maintenance on the property and it shows! I know that new doors, windows, roofs, etc are not usually noticed by the guests but we did notice! Great job! The spa looked 100% better than two years ago!

A few quick points...the number of days the boat runs from St Thomas to the island has increased to four days a week. Used to be Saturday and Tuesday only. This is the way to get there from the US to PI. A few minutes from the airport Captain Jaimie is waiting to take you through Sopers Hole Tortola through immigrations on his million dollar boat! He truly does a great job! Two beers and some great scenery later and you are on the island!

The food was great as usual... although with all the boaters coming on to the island the kitchen did get a bit backed up a couple nights. Not really a big deal.

The spa and spa beach and pool was excellent and beautiful as always. The flags on the beach to get drinks is a great idea (keeps Susan running around!), water sports has new equipment as well. Perhaps cushions on the wicker recliners might be a nice addition. Something that does not absorb water and can take the sun. Chairs are great, the cushioned beds are very comfortable as well, the loungers would be more comfortable with cushions.

Overall, this is still one of our favorite places in the Caribbean. Whether you are a veteran beach goer or are looking for a place to honeymoon, look no further.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SHCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were very excited about visiting Peter Island. We have traveled the world and love to travel. This was our 4th trip to the Caribbean. However, the vacation turned out to be anything but paradise. First off, we were booked in a room near the pool. These rooms are terrible. The bed feels like a concrete block. It's terrible. The rooms are also very, very dark. Several things were broken, the bathroom in dire need of repair to tiles and the floor. We then asked to upgrade to one of the beachside rooms after two nights of no sleep. These rooms are much nicer with a cool layout between the bathroom and the bedroom. There's also a small sitting area that goes out to a porch with a great view. You're also closer to the restaurant on the beach. However, speaking of the restaurants - there's only 2 and they alternate each night forcing you to eat where they tell you. And the food isn't all that great. So we were dying to eat anywhere but Peter Island by the third night. They need way more variety and options. The menu never changes. If you do go - get a meal plan. Otherwise you are nickel and dimed for EVERYTHING. Our breakfast was included but an order of bacon was extra. Drinks are insanely expensive and everything has an 18% gratuity tax - when the service was subpar. The servers could not have looked more bored. We are also avid scuba divers but did not do one dive - as the dive shop workers were extremely rude. Thanks but no thanks. To get away from this awful island we rented a boat for the day - that was the highlight of the trip! We also took the water shuttle over to another island to eat at restaurants there - which were 10 times better. But just know you have to take the shuttle with all the staff who are leaving Peter Island after a days work. The boat was packed. We honestly didn't mind - but if this place wants to call itself a luxury resort then have a separate shuttle for guests. I'm sure the staff don't really enjoy riding with the guests they've been waiting on all day. I did use the spa and it was nice, the treatment enjoyable. But it didn't stand out from any other spa I've been to around the world. But here's the kicker of the entire trip - 8 MONTHS after our trip I get a $450 charge on my credit card. I disputed the charge as there was no explanation. I've tried several times to get in touch with the resort and the manager is never available. Summary: GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. This an expensive resort and it is NOT worth the money. There are many, many other places to go. Don't get stuck on this island.

Room Tip: If you have to go, do not stay near the pool. Get a beachside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We would really appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you directly and ensure that the charge to your credit card is resolved, and to address the rest of your feedback to help us improve. If you would be so kind as to contact our General Manager, Wilbert Mason, at wmason@peterisland.net, he will be eager to assist you. Thank you for sharing this important feedback with us, and for staying with us. We hope to make this situation right and have the opportunity to host you again for a more enjoyable stay.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Road Town
234 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range: £325 - £1,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing