We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams are made of this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

On our last sailing trip to the BVI we decided to have a couple of nights at Peter Island Resort. If ever I am feeling stressed and down I go back in my mind to those wonderful 2 days. Relaxing on a hammock on the white sand beach, watching the pelicans dive for fish into the aquamarine blue sea etc etc. Everything from our room, restaurant food and wine, general ambience and excellent staff made our short stay memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sandra,

Thank you so much for spending two nights with us during your sailing trip, and for your incredibly touching words about your experience. We strive every day to provide our guests with exactly what you are describing - a tranquil escape and a memory that will bring you relaxation for years to come. We can't wait to have you back again and hope to make many more dreams come true for you in the future.

At your service,

Carrie S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was a year and 3 days ago (June 15, 2013) my wife and I got married on Peter Island. The staff went over the top on everything. To this day I dont know how Kevin, Edward and the rest of the staff pulled it off without a hitch. From the meals on the beach to the reception in Falcons Nest. The reason I am writing this now is we just spent our 1 year anniversery in a well known luxury brand elsewhere and all things considered it didn't hold a candle to Peter Island. Our wedding was our 3rd trip to Peter Island and we will be returning again soon. In just the first year since our wedding we have had 11 people (4 families/couples) from our wedding return to Peter Island on there own as a result of their experience. Given the expense of getting to and staying on the island, so many of our friends returning this quickly is the truest testimony I can imagine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wine tasting on Tuesday
, wine paring on Thursday, service is beyond good. Food is outstanding , service is better. Pool, beach, great restaurants and drinks. Rimple knows wine and food paring. Jean knows everyone who has been there for the last 20 years. If you miss this resort you have missed the BVI. A bit pricy but worth every penny. This is a don't miss. Would go back tomorrow. Can't say enough good things about this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cu-later67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On my recent sailing trip throughout the BVI's, we stopped off at the Peter Island Hotel cove. This place is very much off the beaten path, but is a 5 star location. The beach is beautiful and great for snorkeling. Highly recommend for vacation or honeymoon

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ces G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for an anniversary week. The beaches are beautiful and the Island is amazing. However, if peace and quiet are what you are looking for, go elsewhere. The website tells you there are only a certain number of rooms which would lead you to believe it's peaceful and not crowded. They don't tell you that it's a popular island for boats to dock and boaters take over everything. Half of the rooms are by the docking area and people are loud at the boats, in the restaurants, and their screaming obnoxious children are are allowed to take over. Forget enjoying a quiet drink watching the sunset by the pool, its a playground for children. One night we had to ask the staff to ask a table of boaters at the restaurant to have a child stop playing his game at the table as it was so loud we could not even talk to each other.

The food was excellent However it was quite the pain to still have to sign for each and every drink or meal even when you purchase the meal/drink plans. This resort is shut down early so if you want nightlife past 10 or 11 p.m. this is not the place for you.

We would love to go back someday IF: either this is made into an adults only or children are only allowed in certain areas. It would also be great if the "boaters" had their own area and there were rooms AND a separate pool for resort guests. We felt like children and boaters took over the entire place and invaded our peace and quiet on a daily basis. This island is large enough I don't see why there could not be another set of rooms added with an additional pool for "resort guests only." An adult only pool would be nice since the pool was so small and with a bunch of screaming children, it was hard to relax.

If you don't mind a loud vacation, go here. It really is a beautiful place and the staff is nice. However, if you want peace and quiet, pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Beaches03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your anniversary week with us! We were honored to have you for this special occasion, and are so glad that you enjoyed the natural beauty of our island and friendliness of our extraordinary staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disruptions during your stay. We strive to make Peter Island a tranquil, serene, and relaxing destination for all of our guests, and clearly we missed our mark during your stay. We take your feedback extremely seriously and will use it to improve our resort operations and future experiences. If you would be so kind as to contact our general manager, Wilbert Mason, directly at wmason@peterisland.net, he would love to get more information from you. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again for an amazing and peaceful experience in the future.

At your service,

Carrie S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I can't begin to say enough good things about Peter Island. Everything, from the beaches to the meals, was world class. The staff and service were second to none. Along with the beaches, Peter Island's variety of on island activities were great.

If you are planning a visit, the wine dinner with Rimple Nayyar is a must. It was one of the highlights of me and my wife's trip to the BVI's. The dinner consists of five courses with wine pairings for each course. All were impeccable, and Rimple's knowledge on the matter (from the history of the wine to the blend) was incredible. Perfect for a wine novice (like myself) or a seasoned expert.

Activities for those more inclined to adventure are great as well. From scuba diving with Mo to a day island hopping on a powerboat with Mark, Paradise Watersports is is able to offer guests a great tour of the area (both above and underwater). Peter Island is perfect for all, and you can tailor your trip to meet your needs. You can lay on the pristine beaches for days on end, or take part in the numerous activities and trips the resort has to offer.

World class resort and service.

- Stephen K

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Stephen,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this wonderful review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy so much of what our island has to offer, from relaxing to dining to adventure. I will pass along your kind words to Rimple, who we are so fortunate to have as our resident wine expert and food & beverage director. His wine dinners are always a favorite for our guests! We hope to host you for many more unforgettable experiences in the future.

At your service,

Carrie S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week at Peter Island. It was a magnificent trip! The beaches are amazing, the rooms are terrific, the food was great, and the service was wonderful. Yes, it is expensive, but it is definitely worth every penny. We have traveled the world, and this is one of the most amazing trips we have ever taken. If you want to relax and get away from it all while surrounded by beautiful beach-front scenery, this is the place for you. Rather than repeating the things that everyone else on here has said, I'll give a few pieces of advice that would have been really helpful for us to know in advance:

1. Stay in the beachfront junior suites if at all possible. I'm sure the Oceanview rooms are nice. But the suites are amazing. The walk-in double shower and jacuzzi tub with a view of the water just cannot be missed. Also, being located just steps from Deadman's Beach is well worth it when you are carrying beach gear. However, from these rooms, you do have a bit of a trek over the hill to the main desk, shop, and Tradewinds restaurant. If that is a problem, then I would recommend staying in the Oceanview rooms and taking the shuttle to the beach. If the walk is not a problem, then definitely get a beachfront room.

2. Ladies, do not take high-heeled shoes. Seriously. Read above about the walk over the hill to Tradewinds for dinner. I wore sandals that were not nearly dressy enough for the dress that I was wearing because there was no way I walking up that hill in heels.

3. We did not get the meal or beverage plan, and in the end we came out ahead. We ordered multiple bottles of wine, had drinks on the beach almost every day, and did not hesitate if we wanted to order the most expensive thing on the menu for dinner. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day, as well as some extra drinks, and often dessert with dinner. My husband had steak almost every night. Our total for food, drinks, and gratuity was still cheaper than the meal plan alone.

4. Explore the rest of the island beyond Deadman's beach, especially White Bay. Take the island tour, go on the sunset loop trip (take bug spray!), and again, spend time at White Bay. We cannot say enough wonderful things about White Bay. If you go, spend the whole day, take your snorkel gear, and try to get hut 5 or 6 if at all possible. It is a slightly longer swim to the coral from hut 5, but really they are equivalent. The snorkeling here is the best on the island. The picnic lunches are brought over at noon and are good, though we wished there was a bit more selection. We did this several times, and got a bit tired of having the same food each day. But in the end, it was worth it for the awesome snorkeling and great views of Treasure Island.

5. Go to the spa. Yes, it is expensive, but it is worth it. We debated for nearly the entire week, and finally gave in after several other couples recommended it. We got the couples massage in the beachfront bohio. It was worth every penny. Wow.

6. The day trip to Tortola is really fun. Joe is an awesome guide! Order your picnic lunch at the front desk, or it causes a hassle because he has to stop somewhere so that you can get food. This was not immediately clear to us, but we got lucky and found out in advance. Another couple in our group did not know, and they had to be dropped off at another island to pick up lunch along the way. If you aren't a strong swimmer or you have never snorkeled, this would be a tough trip. But if you are comfortable in the water, it is well worth it.

7. Almost everything has to be reserved, though not necessarily before you arrive (except the airport transfers). For the island tour, trips to White Bay, the spa, picnic lunches, etc., just figure out what you want to do, go to the front desk, and make your reservations. They'll ask you for your preferred dinner times each day when you are seated for breakfast. If you don't want to plan too far ahead, a day at Deadman's Beach is definitely wonderful.

8. Take care with your snorkel gear, because they'll charge you full price for the set, even if you only break part of the gear, and even if the breakage was not from misuse. We were annoyed. They compromised on the charge in the end, but only after we complained. It might have been different had we been able to discuss it in person while we were still on the island, but the dive shop closes earlier than the end of most of the daily activities. We never managed to find them open after our first day on the island.

9. The airport and ferry transfers from St. Thomas are all extremely smooth, and the folks involved are very mindful of flight times and schedules. Never fear, you'll make it with time to spare unless your flight is extremely delayed. We were the only people on the ferry (yacht!) on the way to Peter Island. It was wonderful. On the way back, we booked a later flight so that we could explore St. Thomas. I regret that we did this. It was a long, hot day full of creepy people trying to sell things to us. After a few hours, we ended up sitting at the bar in an air conditioned restaurant drinking cokes and waiting until the shuttle picked us up to go to the airport. I wish we had just booked the earlier flight.

10. The food is good. Not necessarily the best I've ever had in my life, but very good. I am perplexed by the complaints from other reviewers. Do not leave without trying Jean's french toast. For dinner, my favorite was the Anegada lobster or the buffet at Deadman's (it is really a toss-up). As I said above, my husband had steak almost every night. Yum.

Room Tip: Beachfront Junior Suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank slww78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
7.7 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
8.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
932 reviews
14.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
8.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range: £380 - £1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to Hurricanes Irma and Maria. The resort will remain closed for the duration of 2017 and into late 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing