We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Good value”
Review of Britannia Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Britannia Grille
Restaurant details
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Good value”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Decided to try this for a change. Good location, it is the clubhouse of the Britannia Golf Club, off the roundabout by what used to be the Hilton before hurricance Ivan runied that in 2004. They have an all day breakfast for around $10 (Cayman dollar, 12.5 USD). Excellent choice of food within that range. Great view over golf club and canal, lots of wildlife to watch. We saw some exotic birds, a turtle swam up and some large fish splashed around. Food was excellent, service was too, cannot understand why it was not busy (apart possibly from not being on the beach). Well worth a visit, especially as for Cayman this is cheap!! Understand they have a fish night every last Friday of the month from 17.00-19.00, so will be trying that too. They siad there would be 5 choices of fish dishes. Will report back once we have done it. The tennerfest mentioend by other reviewers I am told is good too, will also be trying that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritLithcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price of their Tenner Fest!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our office team enjoyed a relaxing and economical lunch at Britannia Grille today. With their 'Tenner Fest' on offer every Monday--Friday, you can't beat the price! And the quality of the food is phenomenal! Basically, it is a 2-course offering (appetizer and main) for just CI $10 (US $12.50). There are about 7 choices for each course, so there is something for everyone! The portions were on the large size, so you certainly won't leave hungry!

Everyone I was with opted for the 'Tenner Fest' menu, but I chose to order a jerk chicken baguette from the a la carte menu (also CI $10), which included french fries. It was very good...not as spicy as some jerk I have had on island, but it was very enjoyable. I don't think a crumb was left on my plate!

In addition to the delicious food, the setting is very 'tranquilo' as you can sit on the open air deck over looking a main water feature at their golf course.

Britannia also offers breakfast during the week and all-day breakfast menus for the weekends. They also do a local fish fry on some Friday nights, which is a local tradition.

The value of a lunch (or breakfast) at Britannia certainly is hard to beat in Cayman! You will enjoy this casual dinining experience...while not breaking the bank in the process!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bermudababe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tennerfest - well worth a tenner and more!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I cannot believe in 10 years of living on this beautiful little island of mine, I had not gone to Britannia Grille!! Not only was the food quite good but the little oasis of a spot is gloriously relaxing. Overlooking the golf course and it's water feature on a beautifully shaded picture perfect patio.

They have a great promotion on (apparently quite regularly) called the tennerfest. For $10CI you get an appetizer and main course. I had spicy shrimp on bibb lettuce with a spicy mayo dip (5 pcs) and an "Alpine Beef Sandwich" with jus to dip smothered in provolone cheese, mushrooms and onions. DELISH! I highly recommend finding this little gem. If you live in Cayman take a group of office friends for lunch, it's the perfect break in a stressful work day ... but be warned, you're not going to want to go back to your desk ;-)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EBodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stellar value”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I now reside in Playa Del Carmen but I've dined at this cool,local spot many times. The foods are traditional items with a twist. The portions are ample, service warm and ambience (overlooking number 18) is cool country club. They are inexpensive and kid friendly...hard to beat as an inexpensive option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“peaceful setting for lunch”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The setting on the edge of the golf course is so scenic and peaceful for a long lazy lunch. the staff are really friendly, the menu is varied with options for all tastes, the food is very good and well presented. The prawn, melon and proscuitto starter is sooo delicious as was the shrimp burger, something quite different and well worth trying. Overall a good value, great dinning experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bev082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Grille also viewed

Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing