We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catamaran tour awesome”

Dexter's Fantasea Tours
Ranked #5 of 182 Tours in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sting ray sandbar and snorkeling on the reef with a sail boat. Small groups - 20 maximum
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catamaran tour awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Captain Dexter picked us up at the hotel, brought us to the marina and was very informative. We motored out to Stingray City and swam with the Rays. Awesome guide, great direction. We sailed back after getting a fresh water shower (awesome to get the salt water off our skin). Had soft drinks with the kids. Great experience. Worth the price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    50
    4
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling/Stingray City experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

There are many options for a snorkeling/Stingray City tour in Grand Cayman but I would definitely recommend going with Dexter. Dexter was great to deal with, and proved to be an entertaining host. The boat is not crowded as the tour is limited to 20 or so people. We were given plenty of time at both Stingray City and the reef. Dexter made sure that everyone had a chance to interact with the stingrays, and hold them if they wanted to. On the way back, we enjoyed a peaceful, wonderful sail back to the Cayman Islands Yacht Club. I almost liked the sail as much as the snorkeling and visit to Stingray City! Going with Dexter was so much better than going with one of the larger companies on the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveSun_and_Sand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent our anniversary in the cayman islands may 2013 and have to say this was one of the highlights of our trip..Dexter picked us up at our hotel and brought us to the dock...once on board the catamaran we staked out a nice spot and laid back for the trip...it wasn't crowded at all...first we stopped to snorkel for a bit....he did provide life vests for everyone who wanted one if not a a strong swimmer...then it was off to the sand bar and the sting rays...spent plenty of time there up close with the rays...an awesome excursion I would recommend to everyone..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abraham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescent, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Captain Dexter and his first mate Run a fantastic program. The boat is relaxing and well appointed. The adventure is exhilarating! The best part about the entire experience is the crew. They both are experienced, knowledgable, but most of all, caring of your experience and safety. By far and away my son and I's best experience thus far. Everyone who comes here needs to look up Captain Dexter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great family snorkeling experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our family spent an afternoon with Dexter on his trip to Stingray Sandbar and a nearby snorkeling site. Both were very enjoyable. We had the opportunity to touch, hold, feed and kiss stingrays. We were also pleased that Dexter and his mate took the opportunity to make sure that everyone had their photo taken with the stingrays.
The snorkeling was top notch. They provide snorkel equipment, if needed, and make sure that everyone has the time to see the fish and corals in the area.
I would highly recommend Dexter to others who are interested in these experiences. His boat was a delight to sail on.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelerPA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dexter's Fantasea Tours also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Dexter's Fantasea Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing