We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop--good photo opp”
Review of Blow Holes

Blow Holes
Ranked #30 of 176 things to do in Grand Cayman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water pressure in underwater caverns causes a large geyser to spray high out of the water.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a stop--good photo opp”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Bring a few dollars with you for a tip--there's a local who calls himself a "tour guide" and he will share information and take your photo--he's good at knowing where to tell you to stand and waiting for the water to spray up when taking photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiBearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    188
    142
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
1,323 reviews
887 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,734 helpful votes
“Fun Stop While Touring the Island”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited the Blow Holes while touring the island by rental car on a Sunday which worked out very well as most things were closed, outside of the tourist oriented establishments, making driving on the left hand side, with the many roundabouts, more manageable. Located on Sea View Road 3.8 miles (6.1k) past its intersection with Frank Sound Road (the turn-off for the QE II Botanical Gardens), this was an enjoyable stop while touring the island. Parking is on the north side, opposite the steps down to the beach. Even though the ocean was calm in Seven Mile Beach when we left, here waves crashed into the rock tubes and up through the opening in the top making a geyser of water in dramatic fashion on a very regular basis. The area is quite picturesque and there is nothing stopping one from getting a close look but be careful not to get too close as the rock gets slippery and rouge waves sometimes reach far up the beach. We probably spent more time here, enjoying the Blow Holes and the view, than we did at the similar Spouting Horn on Kauai. This is a must see stop while touring the island.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very neat!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Interesting place to visit if you have 5 or so minutes to spare :-) We took a few pictures and still managed not to get soaked. Enjoy the amazing view!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tlteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great stop on the day's road trip”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stopped to see the blow holes on our drive from 7 Mile Beach to Rum Point. There was a man there, don't remember his name, who was very informative of the area. He showed us around and took pictures for us. It was interesting to learn how harsh the impact of the hurricane was there recently. There was no pressure for a tip, either, which was nice. We did give him after we went back to our car anyways as I felt it was well worth it. If he wasn't there, we probably would've spent about 5 minutes and thought, wow, big waves. But it made it much more informative than I expected. After about 15 minutes there, it was on with our road trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave_6857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice quick stop”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

It can't really be more than it is. Its a geyser from wave action and underwater caverns. I would be surprised if you spend more than 15 minutes there in total.

However its neat to go see and would suggest you stop by if you are heading out to the east end.

If you are lucky Alan will be there. He is an excellent ambassador for the site. Alan is a really nice guy who shows you the blowholes, gives you some history, shows you fossils, takes pictures for you, and helps you time your own photos. He's a genuinely nice guy who "volunteers" there. He'll ask for a tip when you leave but with very little pressure. In my mind his insight and help with pictures was easily worth a few bucks.

Helpful?
1 Thank pchildebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blow Holes also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Blow Holes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing