We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Mastic Trail

Mastic Trail
Ranked #35 of 173 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours are offered on this old nature trail that takes visitors through several of the island's various ecosystems.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As much as this was a highlight of our holiday, I think the majority of typical visitors to a carribean island would not enjoy it so much. We came across this on a glorious day but had the wrong footwear on so returned a few days later. About a third of the way in it began to rain, we were soaked quickly so continued anyway. Because the rain was torrential we weren't stopping for photos or points of interest and only stopped briefly at the north end before starting the return journey.
The puddles that had been forming on the way north were by now over 20 metres long and deeper than knee high, hiding the jagged rocks in the muddy water. The whole path became a swamp with only the boardwalk providing some relief.
The hopelesness of our plight gave way to hilarity and impressions of Katharine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart as we checked for leeches.
We will definitely do the walk again , rain or shine, although it would be nice to be able to appreciate to flora and fauna. NB. don't expect to come out unscathed if there is heavy rain,it does become quite treacherous

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank daddydave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    77
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Probably better with a guide”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We all love to hike, so we were excited to get out into the more natural areas of GC. The Mastic Trail Reserve does offer guided tours, but unfortunately we were not there on a day when they were offered. I think if we'd had the guide it would have been better (I emailed with him prior and he was very helpful). We started and ended at the southern entrance. The trail itself is approximately 4 miles RT, and is a heads down trail. It took us about 3-3.5 hours to complete. It is very flat, and the terrain has a mix of boardwalk over swamp, mud (wear good shoes), and iron shore/jagged rocks (definitely wear good shoes). Unfortunately, we all had to pay such close attention to where we were stepping, that we probably missed a lot of the insects and birds. We did see a couple lizards, a frog, a snake eating a lizard, and a couple butterflies. Overall, if there are other things on your list, you should probably choose those instead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just...no.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I understand that there aren't a lot of options for people who like to hike/walk outdoors in Cayman but this trail is not the answer. It's a mostly straight yet wholly uncomfortable trek along uneven volcanic rock and overgrown tree roots and brush. If you've ever wondered where to go to collect samples of every mosquito ever to terrorize the island then this might be the place for you. The best part is that it takes hours to get to the end but since it isn't a circle your car is still parked back at the beginning. The walk back gives you plenty of time to reflect on your poor choices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fun walk!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a fun trail, but some folks may not find it the easiest due to the uneven ground. We do a lot of hiking over terrains of all kinds, so we didn't have any concerns. However, someone who's balance isn't the best may mind it a little too challenging. We went on our own, but I agree with some of the other postings in that I think we would have gotten a lot more out of it with a guide - next time. Great work by the volunteers that keep this open for everyone to enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockville, md
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Guided hike on the Mastic Trail”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our family and friends booked a private tour with Stewart on the Mastic Trail. I highly recommend hiring Stewart. There were 7 of us including three children (ages 9-11). Everyone had an amazing experience. Stewart is so knowledgeable. He told us so much information about the plants, birds, and reptiles. One of our sons is a beginning birder and Stewart stopped and pointed out different birds and let the kids use his binoculars. We were able to walk the whole trail. The trail is rugged so sturdy shoes are a must and bring plenty of water but the kids were able to do it without any problems. Stewart kept the kids interested and was awesome about answering all of our questions. We went early in the morning so the heat was not bad and didn't have any problems with bugs. Once again, do not miss this!!!! Thanks, Stewart!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hampydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mastic Trail also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Mastic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing