We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive trip”

Off the Wall Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Off The Wall Divers (located at The Lobster Pot Dive Center) is a small, two (2) boat dive operation located on the island of Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands.The company, formed in the early 1990s, operates 28-foot Parkers, taking a maximum of eight (8) divers to dive sites around the island.Off The Wall offers 2-tank and 1-tank dives, as well as trips to the ex-USS Kittiwake, and Stingray City (SRC). Dive training is offers through PADI, SDI and SSI - from "resort" to divemaster.Being a small company, we are able to structure your diving trip to your needs, weather permitting. And, we are able to accommodate divers from cruise ships.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dive trip”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a great time diving with these guys - a very welcoming and a fun group. They didn't put any time limits on the dives, so with our Nitrox fills, we were able to stay down for more than an hour each dive. Priceless!

They were very accommodating of our dive site requests and made excellent dive site choices. They totally took care of our gear (both packing up our gear after the dives and setting up in the morning) and switched tanks between dives. Even though it was a small boat, they had a routine down that made getting into and out of the water very easy. Excellent service!

It's both a positive and negative that the boats are small. It meant that there was a small group of people, but there wasn't a fresh water shower on the boat, no marine head, and limited shade. The ladder for getting back into the boat was a little uncomfortable but not a problem. It was well worth putting up with the downsides of a small boat to get the long dives, great service, and relaxed atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Off the Wall Divers, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
The Off The Wall Divers staff thoroughly enjoyed having you onboard and welcome you back in the future. Thank you and your sister for joining us! We love "extended dives" and are happy to she the underwater world to all divers. Stay well - dive safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best. Dive. Operation. Ever.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I returned from another phenomenal visit to Cayman where we utilized Off the Wall Divers as our dive operators. We have logged close to 100 dives with Off the Wall. We can honestly say that this is the best dive operation we have ever seen.

Tom is phenomenal. He is the consummate businessman and guide to the island. He can tell you about the island, its history, and the history of the dive operators. Tom knows his diving, has great insight to improving one's diving skills, and is just lovely (and funny). Not only does Tom make sure that the dive experience is wonderful, he also is an encyclopedia of information regarding where to eat, what to do, and how best to enjoy the island.

Kelly, the boat captain and resident photographer at Off the Wall, is unbelievable at assessing dive sites and ensuring the day runs smoothly. He is selfless, dedicated, amazing at picking dive sites, can find the tiniest critters and the largest turtles, and takes the most amazing photos. Kelly is always in control of the situation, both on the boat and in the water, and makes each day both fun and amazing. Watching him dive also has helped me to learn how to be a better diver.

Meghan, another member of the Off the Wall family, is so amazing and calm that I always want to dive with her! She has so much knowledge of sea life and is so helpful while collecting gear and organizing the boat, to the dive briefing, to the actual dive - every dive I see something new that I would have totally missed if Meghan had not showed me. She is patient with newer divers and also has alot of information to give to divers who have been in the water for years.

If you go this summer (and you should), you will also meet Ingrid. Ingrid is helping with the summer rush and is also very knowledgable and very funny! Her boat briefs are excellent - chocked full of information, and she is a wonderful dive leader.

Ultimately, the core staff - Tom, Kelly, and Meghan - are amazing. We will never dive with anyone else in Cayman. And, we keep returning to Cayman to dive with them. There is no place else where you can dive without a clock (they don't pull you at 40 minutes and rush you through the dives), and where you can get 4 tanks a day. Yup - you read that right. You get two am and two pm dives. It is awesome. If you want to dive amazing sites in awesome conditions, the only logical choice is Off the Wall.

To clarify, we have been diving in Cozumel, Barbados, Grand Turk, St. Kitts, Puerta Vallarta, and the Cenotes, in addition to other dive operators in Cayman. We have seen a variety of other dive operations. Off the Wall is the best out there - by a long shot. You can arrange your entire vacation via email with Tom and when you get there, the customer service is phenomenal. If you watch closely, you will see that there are alot of repeat customers because they are so happy.

Their boat takes 8 people. That is it - no cattle boats. There is not a set plan - Kelly, Tom, Meghan, and Ingrid assess the conditions and find the great dive spots. The surface intervals are full of laughter and delicious snacks. Gear is always ready to go - Off the Wall works very hard to make sure dive vacations are stress free. (I am almost convinced they call ahead to make sure every dive is visually stunning with all sorts of animal sightings - haha)!

It is obvious that Tom, Kelly, Meghan, and Ingrid love what they do. The only bad thing I can say about our dive vacation with Off the Wall is that it has to come to an end!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hudsonallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Off the Wall Divers, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
J & J, thank you again for being here and diving with Off The Wall Divers. We look forward to having you back in August ('14) and more visits in the future. We thoroughly enjoy having you onboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Accomodating”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we had a new diver with us, and Tom was very patient in reviewing her check lists and showed all of us new things at 12 trees. Scooby ssnacks and fresh COLD water were a treat in between dives. Kelly was gracious at the Aquarium and gave pointers to increase the pleasure of our dives. excellent time was had by all!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Off the Wall Divers, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
You were part of a great week! Thank you and hope to see you back on the island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new dive "family"!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had been diving Grand Cayman for the past 11 years with another small dive operation… we loved them & felt like family. A few weeks before our trip this spring, we found out that it was no longer in business. Panicked, we started searching for a new operation to dive with. After chatting with a few, we tried Off the Wall Divers. Still disappointed that our former dive master was not with us, we boarded the boat hoping for some good dives. Were we in for a surprise! Tom, Kelly & Meagan made us feel so comfortable and made sure that we had a GREAT week of diving! Our dates are already booked for next year! We have definitely found our new dive family! Thank you Off the Wall!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cjeanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Off the Wall Divers, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Loved having you with us and looking forward to the APR15 return. It was a good week and thanks for looking us up, and taking time to post on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip ”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I took my pregnant wife to the caymans for some R&R before the baby arrived. I booked three days of diving with OTWD. Tom and the crew were super friendly and took care of everything!!! They even allowed my wife to come along for the ride when the boat wasn't full. OTWD was very professional and provided a personal dive experience. I highly recommend this crew and will be using them again next year.

-Paul and Annie (Atlanta GA)

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Off the Wall Divers, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Great having you onboard Paul, and thank you for posting your positive experience here on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you "back in the water" very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Off the Wall Divers also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Off the Wall Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing